We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel to your Saves list
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manzana 642 | Punta Soberana, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Choose the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews... and helped me make a perfect selection, as usual.
It has became my favorite trip-planning tool!
I reserved (and payed through Despegar.com) 2 double rooms, and my brother decided to come with us, so I had to change one double for a triple. Marcia and Mateo answered my mails very quickly and offered me an extra room (1 double and 1 king connected) for the price of a triple... And gave me complete info for the trip. (They even gave me the e-mail of 3 rent-a car- companies, I booked with one of them, Nunatak. great rates!) GREAT price and better service!
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Lorena, who kindly and efficiently arranged 3 (one of them corner!) lake view rooms. Pamela greeted us with a welcome drink, and since we were hungry, they quickly made some sandwiches (home made fresh bread...) and salads for us. Tasty!
The hotel is a bit out of town, but that was exactly what we were looking for, quiet and peacefulness, and since we rented a car, it worked perfectly for us. there´s a free shuttle that goes downtown every hour, but we didn´t use it.
We stayed 4 nights, everybody were so nice and helpful, the free Wifi was a plus, buffet breakfast from 6.30 to 10.00 in the morning, good pastries, fantastic lakeview...
2 thumbs up for the Edenia!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    102
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
183
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Like just about everyone, we came to Calafate to see the glaciers and enjoy what Patagonia had to offer. We chose the Edenia based on reviews we'd read and found it to be almost exactly as described.

Calafate is a charming and bustling mountain town, set on the other-worldly-blue Lago Argentina. Because of its topography, the town wraps neatly around a sunken corner of the lake, removed from the harsh winds which can define the area. The Edenia sits on a peninsula to the northwest of the city and boasts unbeatable views of the Patagonian landscape, and especially of the glowing lights of the town across the lake at night.

The building feels, looks, and smells like freshly finished hotel. Because its on the outskirts of town, it may not have the foot traffic other hotels do, which has helped preserve its newish ambiance. The rooms are tidy, well-managed, but a little plain. Because of its location, the hotel is very quiet and, as dusk sets, don't be surprised to see rabbits and other local animals conducting their way through the jutting sagebrush and low-lying fauna. The rooms mostly open on to the lake, which is breathtakingly painted beneath high desert and sweeping Patagonian mountains.

The staff is awesome. We were welcomed with a drink upon our arrival, shortly after one of the managers met us in the driveway and had our luggage immediately carried to the room. We were upgraded to a suite (without asking!) and enjoyed more space than we needed plus an extra bathroom. The managers happily gave us insight on how-best to plan our trips to Perito Moreno (amazing!) and to El Chalten (stunning!).

Diners will enjoy a typical Argentine breakfast of cereal, fruit, various breads, jams, ham, and coffee while getting panoramic views of the lake. The dining room service is equally hospitable. Free internet is provided and you will never lack for smiles, input, questions about your stay, and a tone of wanting to please your every whim.

The downside is well-documented and very real. For all its splendor, the Edenia is far-removed from the city. Almost too far to walk, and certainly too far if the weather isn't cooperating. A shuttle leaves on the hour and picks up anyone wishing to return on the hour. The shuttle ride is a very pleasant 5 - 10 minutes and run by a chauffeur who takes pride in the cleanliness and comfort of the van. Because of its location, some tour buses will not pick up from the hotel, which creates a minor but not insurmountable inconvenience.

Net-net: the hotel is nice, extremely well-run, and boasts a staff that will leave you wanting for nothing. It is away from the city, so, if you're looking for late-night strolls by the lake, or if you want to be in the "thick of it," you may be better-served going elsewhere (though, you'll pay for it). I would absolutely recommend the Edenia to any visitors.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel is a very good choice. Its position just outside El Calafate is not a problem at all, because there is a shuttlebus every hour. It feels more natural to stay here, since you are here for nature and not for citylife. The Patagonian landscape that surrounds the hotel, including the Lago Argentino, takes your breath away and calms your nerves. We walked half an hour to the lagoon to watch those beautiful flamingo's that are inhabitants of this environment. The staf is very friendly and very efficient and the breakfast is much better than the average Argentinean breakfast. Do not worry about having enough time to plan your trips to the glaciers: within half an hour after your arrival the staff has it organised. All you have to do is take your busseat and after that your boatseat and enjoy. Thumbs up for this great hotel and this efficient and friendly people!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

STRENGHTS: Reasonable pricing vs. 4-star standard, Location out of the town however with beatiful view for Lago Argentino, nice bar & restaurant, free parking
WEAKNESSES: Quite far away from restaurants & bars.
IMPORTANT: Hotel is very convenient if you have rented car altough free shuttle mini bus is available (Hotel- centre-hoytel)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel during our time in El Calafate. We were personally welcomed with a drink and the friendly receptionist talked us through our options with regards to excursions to the glaciers and other outdoor pursuits which was very helpful. They organised a driver for us on one day, a boat tour for the other day, booked restaurants, organised taxis, we never had go to town to organise our trips. They even arranged the payments to the tour companies for us and organised lunch packets (which we felt was really a good thing) In short, they organised anything for us very personally and efficienlty which was wonderful. They spoke fluently English and German with us but we also overheard them speaking in French, Italian and of course Spanish.
The hotel itself is outside El Calafate, however the hotel offers an hourly shuttle bus service to and from town which takes about 5 - 10 min. We thought this worked perfectly for us. One day we walked into town which took us about 1h 45 min, but it was a wonderful leisurly walk through the countryside, along the shores of Lake Argentina where we saw the Flamingos up close and many horses and birds. We never felt that the distance to town caused any problems, all tour / airport buses do pick-ups from the hotel, so really, the distance to town shouldn't put you off booking there. For us it felt like a huge plus as the views were absolutely stunning (over mountains, lake and El Calafate) and it was so quite there which was perfect after busy days walking and exploring.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely fab. Although during our time in the hotel, we never saw many people eating there, which might be a bit off putting. But we read in other reviews that people recommended to eat there so we did. And we weren't disapointed! The service was absolutely lovely and the food a real treat! And the views from the restaurant can't be beaten. You must try it!
The hotel was clean and modern. The rooms were big with nice bathrooms. We really did enjoy our stay there and would without a doubt book the Edenia again. Also I find the value for money can't be beaten! It's not among the greatest boutique or design hotels in terms of interiors, but after all, you find yourself in Patagonia! However it's a very comfortable, clean and friendly hotel and more than appropriate!
The only small downside: Wifi is very slow in the hotel... but then again, you might not want to get in touch with the 'real' world, as it's too wonderful in this secluded gem... ;-)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Excellent rooms, attention to detail is great, and the most amazing views from the room and the restaurant.
The service and customer care is absolutely fantastic, and I am confident to say that in this respect it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
General decor and feel of the hotel is very pleasing and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel is very new, modern decor, simple elegance. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Extremely spacious. We stayed at a room adjoining to a double room for my kids. We each have our own bath. Just the most perfect arrangement for a family.
The hotel is 5 minutes outside the central business area of Calafate. But the hotel has hourly shuttle, so there was no problem at all.
The most impressive feature of this hotel is the staff. Pascal and her staff, Mateo, Marcia and Leo were very accommodating and super helpful to every details, from tour arrangement and how to do a self guided excursion to nearby El Chalten,to trail recommendations.They were very good to start helping us by email even before we arrived. After experiencing how slow internet is in that area, their punctual and responsiveness is even more impressive.
It really felt like home away from home.
I have travel around the world. This is the only hotel that I was sorry to leave at the end of my trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel

Address: Manzana 642 | Punta Soberana, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#21 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#26 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenia Punta Soberana
Edenia Punta Soberana El Calafate
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.