We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Sauces Casa Patagonica

Save Saved
You added Los Sauces Casa Patagonica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los Gauchos 1352/70, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a nice change from most hotels I have stayed at, more like a resort. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, even going so far as to tell me I had forgotten my cologne when we were fixing to leave. We had left our cabin and I guess housekeeping alerted them at the front office. The grounds were immaculate, and the breakfast was awesome. Alot of privacy and the walk into downtown was only a couple minutes. Kind of pricey, but the experience was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
60
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is beautiful with its different "house" and rooms within each. The rooms were beautiful and room service always set the room's music to a nice relaxing tune so we would arrive and see our bed turned down with a piece of chocolate. Absolute quiet at night and with the window darkening shades, the room is dark. The grounds are well kept and with lots of lavender which happened to be in bloom. The clubhouse is where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. Gluten-free bread for my toast was provided and a fruit salad with no strawberries...thank you! Plenty of meat, cheese, eggs, bacon, yogurt, juices, tea, coffee...they had it all and what looked like delicious pastries too. Their spa has jacuzzi, steam, sauna...all small but sufficient for the number of people there. I had a massage and Daniel really loosened up my muscles....I mentioned though they need to get rid of the squeaky massage table to make it a "10". We walked to El Calafate for shopping and dinner, but we did enjoy lunch and dinner at the clubhouse also. Wi-if available in the rooms. Computers available on the second floor of the clubhouse. Guys can drive you from your room to the clubhouse via golfcart, if you wish.

Room Tip: Ask for a "house" not near the main entrance and any room within a house would be fine bey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel for two nights, starting our backroads trip and ending our trip. The rooms are very comfortable, the service was great and the food was very good. It was a short stay but very enjoyable. I highly recommend the dining right off the guest registration area. We had a delicious meal there, hake fish, butternut squash soup and vegetable roll. Service was perfect.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms preferable in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arriving at Los Sauces after nearly 24 hours of travel was a very welcome relief. We were taken through the beautifully landscaped property to our well appointed rooms which were situated opposite the Club house.
We enjoyed our stay in the lovely hotel, well situated within a short walk of the town of El Calafate. It would have been nice to have some tea/coffee making facilities in our room or at least a small communal area in the building where our rooms were situated where you could make a cup of tea or coffee.
Breakfast was very good with a nice range of fresh juices, fruit, cereals and hot and cold breakfast options.Packed lunches were adaquete but nothing special, we packed our own lunches for the second days trip which was a better option.
All the staff were very pleasant, and English was at least understood if not always spoken. I would certainly recommend this hotel in El Calafate as a good base for visiting the area and seeing the Perito Merino glacier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here after three nights in El Chalten as a treat to ourselves after all that hiking. Our room was wonderful and both restaurants are excellent. Our meals here were by far the best in Argentina. Perfect location as it is only a 10 minute walk from the bus station and only a 5 minutes to the main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's the best hotel in El Calafate, the rooms are superbly decorated and the natural beauty of this place is mindblowing. Sandpipers, ducks and other birds are always strolling in the gardens. The cottages are spread over vast expanses of gardens. The view of the hills is amazing from this place and its a 5 minute walk to the central street of El Calafate. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two of our nine nights in Argentina (we also visited Bariloche and BA). This was our least favorite hotel of the trip and we left El Calafate really regretting our stay at Los Sauces. There were some positive points, but in the end we just felt like we paid way too much. The positives: service in the club house (one of the two restaurants) was excellent, I liked my massage in the spa, the grounds were well maintained, walking distance to downtown. What we didn't like: our room and the other areas of the building reeked of perfume and when we asked to move, we were told the other rooms would likely be the same. The place was deserted, the beds, linens and decor were fine, but not five star, and the front desk seemed generally indifferent, certainly not invested in our experience. It all added up to an impersonal, mediocre and very overpriced experience. Two things we highly recommend in El Calafate are the "Big Ice" tour of Perito Moreno and Patagonia lamb (we had ours at Casimoro Bigua).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Sauces Casa Patagonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Sauces Casa Patagonica

Address: Los Gauchos 1352/70, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#30 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Sauces Casa Patagonica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOS SAUCES Casa Patagónica opened in September 2007 to become the luxury hotel in El Calafate, gateway to Parque Nacional Los Glaciares. Its privileged location, its breathtaking views to Mount Calafate and Lake Argentino and its original concept of Casa Patagónica with 38 exclusive Suites distributed in 5 independent and separate Casas make it unique. A natural garden of willows and rose hips, crossed by Calafate small river, where nature is live and breathed, just 300mts from El Calafate main street.Casa Patagónica & SuitesIts 38 Suites are distributed in 5 Casas Patagónicas conceived with a private Living-room with fireplace offering complimentary tea, coffee & petit fours to guests and 6 to 10 Suites. Each Casa recreates the hospitable and refined spirit of the Patagonian farms of the beginning of the last century, making guests feel like at Home in Patagonia Each Suite has its own name, color and a distinct feature which distinguishes it from the rest. They have incense floors, barracan knitted upholstery, porphyry walls and authentic leather details. Paintings by well-known argentine artists, carefully selected furniture and chattels complete the decoration of each Suite. The latest hotel technology is present in each and every bedroom, furnished with telephones including NDD & IDD access, Wi-fi internet, TV LCD 42´ and Hydro in bathrooms. SPA LAS PIEDRAS, LA COMARCA Restaurant & LAS NUBES Club HouseThe Casa SPA LAS PIEDRAS completely made of stone has an octagonal format. Each side of the octagon hosts 2 rooms for body and facial treatments with Stendhal Paris products, as well as a Relaxing Room, Saunas, Scottish Shower, Jacuzzi Room -2 indoor/1outdoor- and a full equipped Gym.The Casa LA COMARCA Restaurant offers a delicious gourmet experience discovering the flavors of the End of the World, its elaborated Menu invites to enjoy suckling patagonian lamb or the tasty products from freezing and deep southern seas, fueguine spider crab and southern hake. The Casa LAS NUBES Club House, with fantastic views of Lake Argentino and Solitaria Island, is the place to enjoy daily Breakfast as well as the Library and Playroom lounge in its first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Los Sauces Casa Patagonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica Hotel El Calafate
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.