We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best options in Calafate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Sauces Casa Patagonica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Sauces Casa Patagonica to your Saves list
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los Gauchos 1352/70, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best options in Calafate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

One of the best options in Calafate. It has an excellent location as it combines the best of two worlds. The tranquility in the middle of nowhere, but in fact this hotel is very close to the town center (only 3 blocks). You can walk there.
The rooms are spacious and are in different houses, each with a particular style. Breakfast is served at the Club House, where you can also dine or lunch. (but prices are too high)
The SPA is nice, but could improve the quality of the place.
The staff is very helpful and golf carts available for shipment to any part of the property.

Room Tip: Nothing better to get a day of trekking on the glacier and take the swimming pool. And if you stay s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    30
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
65
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Los Sauces is three blocks from the main street of El Calafate. The service at the resort is very good and the breakfast buffet is abundant. Our room was spacious. The rooms are grouped in buildings of ten units each with a lovely common gathering area in each. The one downside was that the spa pool didn't open until 2 p.m.

Room Tip: We were in building #5 which was close to the "grill" and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. As another reviewer stated, the rooms are designed poorly. It was very hot when we were there and there was no cross ventilation in the room. The rooms would have been much nicer with a balcony or terrace. We asked for a fan, which helped. The furniture is not functional. There is no closet, only an armoire that had to be closed with a key. The wooden chest of drawers stuck so much that we never used it. The bathroom shower was great as were the toiletries. The breakfast at the clubhouse was excellent as was dinner at the gourmet restaurant. We did not eat dinner at the clubhouse. The bicycles provided for guests were terrible. Another guest warned us that there were no brakes on the bike he took out and, as a result, he almost collided with a truck. The brake pads were non-existent. When we asked for assistance with the bikes, the maintenance personnel were sent, but it was obvious they did not know how to fix bicycles. The next day, all but 2 of the bicycles had been removed for "repair." If the hotel is going to advertise free bicycles for guest use, they should hire a bike shop to maintain them. We rented fantastic bikes from HLS in town. The hotel is very convenient to town and the grounds are pretty. Some of the staff is helpful while others are not. The wait staff in the gourmet restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A nice option in El Calafate BUT the normal rooms are somewhat poorly designed as they are large but provide no decent sitting space. The lack of a/c is a problem during the summer for west facing rooms. The breakfast services is quite nice. The dinner, at least in the front restaurant (we never tried dinner at the clubhouse), was just ok and quite pricey. There are far better options in town. The clubhouse is a nice space (though doesn't take as good of an advantage - except a few chairs - of the view that it has) and the service is outstanding. But beware some of the most off the wall drink prices I have ever run into ($20 for a gin and tonic and $50 for a 12 year average scotch - and yes that dollars, not pesos). The scotch price was reduced at check out after we raised a stink. The hotel is aligned with a tour company that arranged good excursions with good guides. All in all, a well-located and decent option in El Calafate. If you aren't doing a high-end estancia, this is probably the best option though seasoned, discriminating travelers will certainly not be blown away by it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This beautiful hotel is really a series of buildings scattered around a beautifully landscaped property that backs up yo the family home of Chtistina Kirchner, the Pres. Of Argentina.

Grounds had willow trees everywhere (Los sauces), gravel walks, quaint bridge over a stream. You are taken from check in to your building via golf cart. Not sure but I think there Are maybe 4 buildings with I'd guess 3 -4 rooms per blog. We were in a bldg in back across from restaurant...an upstairs suite.

Hotel is right in the middle of town an ez walk to all.

Building with suite: entry level had large beautifully decorated. Sitting area- leather over stuffed sofas , hard wood coffee tables, photo books on Patagonia, horses, etc. Also a huge table where one could have room service

Wifi throughout.

Suite; decorating wad very tasteful Argentinian: / Spanish. Living room with sofa , coffee table with rizzoli type books, small deck overlooking gardens, small dining table, antique cabinet. Separate office nook with desk, phone, etc. bedroom was huge. Bath area had toilet room ( combo padded upholstered wall and tile/slate), shower room , large marble vanity with double sink. All gorgeous design.

Our regret is that we were only here one night.

There is a spa. Buffet breakfast in the club house was the best of the trip. Quite extensive with much more than the usual cheese sliced ham and breads. There is another fancier dinner restaurNt in the property which we didn't go to. We ate at La Tablita. Bikes are available.

This hotel was selected by our tour company - geographic expeditions - so we don't know the price, but clearly not cheap. Calafate is growing and spreading. Many of the newer hotels are not walking distance to town.

FYI center of town is probably 1 hr from Moreno glacier.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely bedroom, nice bathroom, nice gym and spa. However, it all felt a little soulless. The hotel is set up in a series of ranch houses, and we hardly saw any other guests. The two restaurants rarely had more than 2-3 tables occupied. There were about 3 staff to each guest, and they were all very willing to help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First impressions are said to be all important and we didn't start off well. We were allocated a corner room when we had ordered and paid for a corner suite - we specifically requested the suite having seen the rooms on the hotel's own web site. When this was raised with the officious (as opposed to professional) management they started by claiming they were the same thing until I showed them the photos on their own site, at which time they reluctantly agreed that we would move. As the only suite available needed to be cleaned, we were asked to wait and they would call us when it was ready - we rang them after about 90 minutes and eventually we moved after waiting around for two hours. No apology was ever offered for what was really a try on!

Once we settled things began to improve. Aside from management, the staff were all very attentive and ever willing to assist. Staff at the Clubhouse were especially good, with Mateus (?) worthy of special mention. Breakfast was OK, without being as good as some mention on this site. We dined in the gourmet restaurant and were surprised at how expensive it was - food was good and the service was great as we were one of only two couples there. We dined at the Clubhouse on our last of three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food, the wine and the usual excellent service. The NYE dinner on our first night (again in the Clubhouse) was expensive but particularly good - it's a shame they only do this style of thing for special events!

So, the suite we had was large as we wanted and rather old fashioned, which is fine. The furnishings are of good quality, although the excessively heavy drapes are a bit over the top. The property itself is quite large and without a map can be a bit of a challenge for a day or so. Not too far from the town centre, the hotel is nice and quiet, which is a real plus.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra - we (eventually) had a corner suite in Roca and it was quite good an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Sauces Casa Patagonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Sauces Casa Patagonica

Address: Los Gauchos 1352/70, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#14 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#25 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Sauces Casa Patagonica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOS SAUCES Casa Patagónica opened in September 2007 to become the luxury hotel in El Calafate, gateway to Parque Nacional Los Glaciares. Its privileged location, its breathtaking views to Mount Calafate and Lake Argentino and its original concept of Casa Patagónica with 38 exclusive Suites distributed in 5 independent and separate Casas make it unique. A natural garden of willows and rose hips, crossed by Calafate small river, where nature is live and breathed, just 300mts from El Calafate main street.Casa Patagónica & SuitesIts 38 Suites are distributed in 5 Casas Patagónicas conceived with a private Living-room with fireplace offering complimentary tea, coffee & petit fours to guests and 6 to 10 Suites. Each Casa recreates the hospitable and refined spirit of the Patagonian farms of the beginning of the last century, making guests feel like at Home in Patagonia Each Suite has its own name, color and a distinct feature which distinguishes it from the rest. They have incense floors, barracan knitted upholstery, porphyry walls and authentic leather details. Paintings by well-known argentine artists, carefully selected furniture and chattels complete the decoration of each Suite. The latest hotel technology is present in each and every bedroom, furnished with telephones including NDD & IDD access, Wi-fi internet, TV LCD 42´ and Hydro in bathrooms. SPA LAS PIEDRAS, LA COMARCA Restaurant & LAS NUBES Club HouseThe Casa SPA LAS PIEDRAS completely made of stone has an octagonal format. Each side of the octagon hosts 2 rooms for body and facial treatments with Stendhal Paris products, as well as a Relaxing Room, Saunas, Scottish Shower, Jacuzzi Room -2 indoor/1outdoor- and a full equipped Gym.The Casa LA COMARCA Restaurant offers a delicious gourmet experience discovering the flavors of the End of the World, its elaborated Menu invites to enjoy suckling patagonian lamb or the tasty products from freezing and deep southern seas, fueguine spider crab and southern hake. The Casa LAS NUBES Club House, with fantastic views of Lake Argentino and Solitaria Island, is the place to enjoy daily Breakfast as well as the Library and Playroom lounge in its first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Sauces Casa Patagonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica Hotel El Calafate
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.