We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 4 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria los Hielos

Save Saved
You added Hosteria los Hielos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hosteria los Hielos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rene Favaloro 3698, camino al Glaciar Perito Moreno, a 2,5 km del centro, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should be 4 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This cute little place was such a Jen. After reading the reviews I did not think it was going to be that charming. It feels like a cozy little lodge with very clean bathrooms. The staff was extremely friendly and the food was excellent for breakfast or dinner. One of the best parts is all the tour buses pick you up last and drop you off first!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This small hotel is the best we have stayed in so far on our three month trip. The rooms are large and very clean & modern and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. The staff bent over backwards to help with a problem we had booking a car. The views from all the rooms are over the lake. Evening meal was really good too. Althought the hotel is two miles from the town please don't be put off; it is only a £4 taxi ride (or like us, you can enjoy the walk on the lakeside path).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We received a very warm welcome here and the staff were all extremely helpful, going out of their way to accommodate us on tours and airline bookings.The room was very confortable and spacious with a fabulous view across the lake. Town is three kms away but taxis are easily called and are not expensive. We will come back!

Room Tip: All rooms view across the lake, there are two special suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Our room was spacious & very clean. Good value for money. Breakfast was excellent & we had a lot of choice. The lake view from the hotel was beautiful, which was a good substitute for the fact that the hotel wasn't situated in the town center. Hotel staff was very friendly & spoke more than enough English to communicate with us, especially Ester at reception was super friendly and helpful.

Regarding previous reviews: One should maybe research the location of the hotel prior to booking. We also walked back to the hotel from town and yes it's not a short walk, but the street pavement was clean, no signs of any discarded sewer. There are stray dogs, but this has got nothing to do with this hotel!

Room Tip: Room No 10 was perfect, great lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Chiloe, Chile
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

“Poor service for a hotel with illusions of grandeur”...totally agree with this previous review.
A very cold place at night, with not heat at all...the heating system did not work and we requested two extra blankets because we were unable to sleep, bugs in the bath tub and mushrooms growing from the wall and ceiling of a room. Front desk attendant (Natalia) has very bad attitudes! plus horrible food at the restaurant.We will not be back or recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosterialoshielos, Gerente at Hosteria los Hielos, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Es verdad que su estadía no ha sido lo suficientemente agradable a sus exigencias y de hecho es verdad que tuvimos un problema con nuestra caldera, el cual ya fue solucionado. Por todo lo anterior y haciéndonos cargo de que las cosas no siempre salen como uno quisiera, no le hemos cobramos su estadía .
Entendemos que si cometemos algún error, con este pequeño gesto podremos subsanar en parte su experiencia en nuestra hostería




atentamente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked into this hotel based on the many reviews we read. Little that we knew the hotel is 3 miles from the center of the town and very little in between. If you want to walk you will find thrown okay garbage on the side of the road, empty lots, sewer being discarded onto the street pavement and stray dogs. The street outside the hotel is unpaved and unfinished. Dirt and potholes. The hotel at best has room for 3 small cars in an ill design parking lot on a slanted surface. Parking is difficult. Inside, the hotel is new and has a good wiFi system. Breakfast is included but it is rather poor. Staff is trying to appear helpful, but they have limited knowledge of English and even less knowledge of information. We were looking for hiking tracks or directions to reach a highway to Lago Roca that is accessible from the center of the town and they were incapable to give us directions. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in total 4 nights at this Hosteria. The rooms are spacious and offer suffiicient opportunity for relaxing. We especially enjoyed the quality of the restaurant. Out of the 4 nights, we chose 3 nights to eat at the own restaurant. The quality amazed us. The price is lower than the restaurants downtime, so another reason to eat here.

The hosteria is about 3 km from the town El Calafate, or some 5 USD one way by Taxi. But the town is not that interesting anyway, so we chose to relax in our room and the sitting area which has free internet.

How to spend your time in El Calafate: we opted for a half day 4x4 trip, followed by spending the afternoon in El Calafate. The 2nd day we took a full day tour Todos Los Hielos. You spend your dat on a boat, visiting in the end Petito Moreno.

El Calafate is also the gateway to Torres Del Paines in Chile.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria los Hielos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria los Hielos

Also Known As:
Hosteria Los Hielos El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Address: Rene Favaloro 3698, camino al Glaciar Perito Moreno, a 2,5 km del centro, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria los Hielos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Hielos has only twelve rooms all with nice view to Lago Argentino.The night rate for a standard double room is USD 162 and the rate for a superior double room is USD 200. The superior is bigger and has hidromassage. Both includes home made breakfast, tax, internet, WI-FI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hosteria los Hielos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria los Hielos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.