We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blanca Patagonia

Save Saved
You added Blanca Patagonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blanca Patagonia
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Capitan Soto 3555, Parque Nacional los Glaciares No 149 | B° los Guias, El Calafate 09405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous building, amazing lake view, friendly and helpful staff, lovely room. It is based out of town, but it's a pleasant walk or a cheap taxi... And as a result of the location, it is quiet and peaceful. And the scenery is stunning. Overall a wonderful stay. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we ever return to El Calafate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    52
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
97
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

On the surface there's nothing wrong with Blanca, it has a cabin like feel with lots of wood and stone, the people are nice, and it has some amazing views of the lake. It was a little outside of town, but nothing more than a 30 peso cab ride and we walked in a few times, which only took about 35 minutes.

One thing to definitely note is that this is a CASH ONLY HOTEL. Not a huge deal, but you'll want to either bring a lot of cash or make sure you have time for a trip to the ATM before you pay. What's nice is they can arrange a lot of activities for you and then you can just pay the hotel for everything, however, once again, you'll need a lot of cash.

It was our honeymoon so we rented the suite thinking we should splurge for the special occasion. The suite was large and came with the jacuzzi tub and a nice stone wall. However, outside of those few things there was nothing particularly special about the room. The carpet was old and cheap, the bed average, and there were very few windows. Once again, nothing devastatingly wrong with the room, but nothing to make it worth the added expense of a suite.

We did have a few specific problems with our stay though. One of the window frames in the room had suffered some wear and was drooping away from the glass allowing bugs to get in.

Also, there is a weird system of 5 heaters in the room that all work independently from each other. Even after turning them all off it was still unbearably hot in the room, like a sauna, and we couldn't bear to stay in the room during the day. This might have been wonderful in the cold winter, but it was still the end of summer and still very hot. In fact, the whole hotel was overheated and looking around it seems like they could benefit from some ceiling fans, air conditioning units, or air vents to get the air circulating.

Because it was so hot, I slept with the covers off and got absolutely eaten alive by mosquitoes. We told the hotel about this, but they didn't seem overly concerned about it and had it not been for my following up on the issue I'm not sure if we would have been kept in the loop or even had the issue fixed. They did fix it in time for our last and final night, but once the furnace or whatever they changed was turned off, the heaters in our room started dripping water throughout the night. Once again, not something that ruined our entire stay, but it almost did and it certainly wasn't worth the price of the luxury suite.

I didn't see the other rooms, nor did I hear about them, so I can't say whether or not they had similar problems. I did sit out on the deck a little, which has an amazing view of the lake, however, they could use a few more chairs out there and maybe some cushions for them.

Room Tip: Don't rent the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This a small hotel located about 4 km west of the town centre, which is both an advantage and a drawback. It has beautiful views over the lake and they've made the most of this by installing huge glass windows everywhere. The lounge area is really nice to just sit and relax in. There is a possibility to dine there at night, but I didn't make use of that option as one has to reserve in advance and I never knew where I would be. Breakfast was ok, and on the last morning of three the boiled eggs were actually warm :-) Other than that, a few slices of ham and cheese, loads of sweet pastries and yoghurt. I had the room right at the end of the passage, which was great. The bed was comfortable, and there was adequate heating in the room and bathroom. It had a big TV, mini bar (hideously expensive though) and a kettle with complimentary tea only (no coffee). The bathroom had a hair drier and the usual soap and shampoo.

They insist on payment in cash though, which is a nuisance.
Lucia at reception is very helpful and will arrange anything you need.

The distance from town isn't a big deal if you're going on excursions, as all the companies pick up and drop off here, but getting back to town for a meal or whatever is really expensive. A taxi ride costs about 40 pesos one way.

Don't miss the glacerium while you're in Calafate, it's really worth the 95 pesos.

All in all I'd recommend this place if you just want a few days to chill and relax and not go into town much. Otherwise, there are many very nice hotels in the centre of Calafate too.

Room Tip: Top floor would be best. They all face the lake, as do the ground floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have spent two nights at Bungalow. The cabin was very nice, spacious and beautiful.
The views was very good. I like it very much. The staff was helpful and nice.
It is highly recommended for those who wanted to stay in a comfortable and relaxing way with affordable price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and exactly what we hoped for when visiting El Calafate. When you arrive you immediately see the amazing views of Lago Argentina and Patagonian hills through the lobby windows. The staff is extremely kind, accommodating and helpful with excursions, restaurants and transportation. The rooms are quaint and charming with all of the amenities you might need. A breakfast is included with the stay and was great in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to couples and those who want a quiet stay with amazing views. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the center of town (30 peso cab ride) and every time we headed into town we had a cab at the door within 5 minutes. If you want the views and serenity you have to stay outside of the town center. They also have the friendliest dogs/cats that scamper about the grounds as well. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and exactly what we hoped for when visiting El Calafate. When you arrive you immediately see the amazing views of Lago Argentina and Patagonian hills through the lobby windows. The staff is extremely kind, accommodating and helpful with excursions, restaurants and transportation. The rooms are quaint and charming with all of the amenities you might need. A breakfast is included with the stay and was great in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to couples and those who want a quiet stay with amazing views. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the center of town (30 peso cab ride) and every time we headed into town we had a cab at the door within 5 minutes. If you want the views and serenity you have to stay outside of the town center. They also have the friendliest dogs/cats that scamper about the grounds as well. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely a 'couples' place to stay as stated in previous reviews and in our view well worth it's status as one of the most romantic hotels in El Calafate according to Tripadvisor!

LIke most of the better hotels in El Calafate, 'Blanca Patagonia' is located slightly out of town at the western edge of the town, up a reasonably steep gravel track off the main Avenida Libertador road that leads right into the town centre; we walked it once and it took around 35 mins which may be a bit much for some - ok if you're reasonably fit and dressed for it, otherwise it's a taxi ride (around ARS$15-20 each way from memory). If you plan to go out for dinner to one of the many good restaurants (i.e. non-pizza joints) in El Calafate, you'll almost certainly need a taxi there and back.

Back to the hotel, the public areas including breakfast and seperate dining areas are all wooden and open plan, and provide simply awesome views of Lago Argentino and surrounds (see pics) - the views from the bedrooms are similarly breathtaking. I would agree with another reviewer that the hotel isn't particularly child-friendly - most of the stairways and mezzanine floors have 'open' bannisters - worth bearing in mind if you're travelling with yound children.

We thought the breakfast were ok - the usual fare by Argentine standards, ie meats, queso, bread, pastries, jams, a couple of cereals, fruit juices and cold hard-boiled eggs. Breakfast is served from around 7:00am, which gives you just enough time to eat before the trip mini-buses start picking you up from 7:15am onwards. We didn't dine in the hotel - not many guests seemed to while we were staying there.

Our bedroom (one of the larger ones) was very quiet, clean and comfortable, if perhaps a little dated in design now; ours had a safe, mini-bar, good-size double-bed and a decent wardrobe with hanging space. The bathroom had a large 'whirlpool' bath and shower, bidet and toilet. Due to the under-floor heating in the bathroom, our room got very warm indeed during the night - so much so that we had to sleep with the bedroom window propped open!

We found the staff on reception to be friendly and helpful throughout our stay - we had two problems (one on arrival) of our own making which were resolved promptly and courteously; a relatively minor criticism in the great scheme of things was that we thought the service at the hotel lacked a little interaction, warmth and charm - not enough to spoil our stay or not recommend it to anyone - it would have been the icing on the cake.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blanca Patagonia and would whole-heartedly recommend it.

We thought the food we eat in El Calafate was amongst the best we had in our entire trip around Argentina, but it's worth seeking out the good eateries and not just settling for many of the convenience restaurants along the main strip in town - there are several of these! We are by nature 'foodies' and did our homework beforehand (again mostly via Tripadvisor, so read the seperate reviews). The ones we visited were:
Mi Rancho (small, intimate, great food - 8 out of 10)
Quido (located in another hotel, around five minutes' walk from Blanca Patagonia - 8 out of 10)
La Tablita (over-priced and over-rated in our opinion, but everyone goes there - 7 out of 10)

Room Tip: To the best of our knowledge, all bedrooms are north-facing and offer stupendous views of Lago Argen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blanca Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanca Patagonia

Address: Capitan Soto 3555, Parque Nacional los Glaciares No 149 | B° los Guias, El Calafate 09405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#23 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blanca Patagonia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Blanca Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanca Patagonia El Calafate, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanca Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.