We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Hainen

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Hainen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Hainen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto Deseado 118, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Very kind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to Hosteria Hainen in March 2013 and were impressed with the staff.
We got a very nice double room. It is a walkable distance to the town, up the hill so great to burn off some calories after dinner.
The breakfast was a bit basic but it turned to be the case in other places in Argentina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    64
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
83
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very basic hotel that is a bit jaded. We would equate it to a 2-star hotel. Our room was adequate in size, with tired furnishings and the bathroom matched it. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful with recommendations to shop and eat. Its location is about 1km away from the CBD but it is very close to a couple of very good restaurants. Breakfast was poor, with little choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Recanati, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is one of those places where the staff makes the difference. I found them extremely helpful since the first email contacts. Always ready to help and didn't do any problem for a late check out. The only problem with this place is the location which is not far from the centre but it is uphill in a very quiet area, I came back at night walking and never felt any danger anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a find and great value for our dollar! From our arrival amongst the wonderful lavender bushes we continued to have 4 great days/3 nights with Juan and his staff. The room was spacious, had a great view out the back with a wonderful sunrise from our bathroom and bedroom windows, courteous and helpful staff with good local knowledge. Juan and his staff coordinated a couple of excursions, including tickets/vouchers which was helpful. The location is a 10 minute walk from the bus station and an easy 3 minute taxi ride. The road is gravel off the main highway, so good shoes recommended when walking about. We liked the location though as we were away from the touristy area and had several great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Refrigerator in the room was a nice extra and available laundry service a great help for all of our dirty hiking socks! We've never had such fluffy socks!!!! The courtyard in the middle of the property was inviting and relaxing after a day out exploring. The grocery store was within a 5 minute walk, too, which was convenient. Add this place to your itinerary and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything good here. Very clean, walkable to downtown, moderately priced, excellent service, very helpful, computer/internet available for use, light breakfast too. Will store luggage.
I recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was very impressed by the owner and the staff. I was reassured by email that could arrange tours after I arrived, and when i checked in the woman on the front desk signed me up for two tours and booked my bus tickets to and from El Chalten. When I left for the bus station in the rain and needed a ride, the owner drove me himself instead of calling a taxi. Thanks!

My room was much bigger than I needed and I have no complaints. However, it was a definite trek - uphill on gravel - from the main street. Not something you'd want to do with luggage unless you were young and fit, and not much fun after a good dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went to El Calafate in early December. Hosteria Hainen was a great hotel. Although it is about 6 blocks from the main street of the city, it has a wonderful view of Lago Argentino and it is extremely quiet. The gardens are nice, and the breakfast is ok. Rooms are roomy and cozy. The staff were very helpful and suggested several options for sightseeing in the area. They even let me have a late checkout!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Hainen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Hainen

Address: Puerto Deseado 118, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#20 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosteria Hainen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a natural balcony 350 m away from the centre, featuring wonderful views on the Argentinean Lake and the Andes Mountains the Hainen Hotel offers facilities, comfort and special treatment towards clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hosteria Hainen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Hainen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Hainen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.