We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Hainen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria Hainen to your Saves list
Hosteria Hainen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto Deseado 118, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Porto Recanati, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very kind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is one of those places where the staff makes the difference. I found them extremely helpful since the first email contacts. Always ready to help and didn't do any problem for a late check out. The only problem with this place is the location which is not far from the centre but it is uphill in a very quiet area, I came back at night walking and never felt any danger anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    73
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
95
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a find and great value for our dollar! From our arrival amongst the wonderful lavender bushes we continued to have 4 great days/3 nights with Juan and his staff. The room was spacious, had a great view out the back with a wonderful sunrise from our bathroom and bedroom windows, courteous and helpful staff with good local knowledge. Juan and his staff coordinated a couple of excursions, including tickets/vouchers which was helpful. The location is a 10 minute walk from the bus station and an easy 3 minute taxi ride. The road is gravel off the main highway, so good shoes recommended when walking about. We liked the location though as we were away from the touristy area and had several great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Refrigerator in the room was a nice extra and available laundry service a great help for all of our dirty hiking socks! We've never had such fluffy socks!!!! The courtyard in the middle of the property was inviting and relaxing after a day out exploring. The grocery store was within a 5 minute walk, too, which was convenient. Add this place to your itinerary and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything good here. Very clean, walkable to downtown, moderately priced, excellent service, very helpful, computer/internet available for use, light breakfast too. Will store luggage.
I recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was very impressed by the owner and the staff. I was reassured by email that could arrange tours after I arrived, and when i checked in the woman on the front desk signed me up for two tours and booked my bus tickets to and from El Chalten. When I left for the bus station in the rain and needed a ride, the owner drove me himself instead of calling a taxi. Thanks!

My room was much bigger than I needed and I have no complaints. However, it was a definite trek - uphill on gravel - from the main street. Not something you'd want to do with luggage unless you were young and fit, and not much fun after a good dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went to El Calafate in early December. Hosteria Hainen was a great hotel. Although it is about 6 blocks from the main street of the city, it has a wonderful view of Lago Argentino and it is extremely quiet. The gardens are nice, and the breakfast is ok. Rooms are roomy and cozy. The staff were very helpful and suggested several options for sightseeing in the area. They even let me have a late checkout!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is NOT fancy. But, if you're just in Calafate for a stop-off and don't want to spend a ton of money for a room, it's perfect. Clean and the staff is friendly and speaks English. Breakfast is also not fancy - breads, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice....nothing hot, but again, great for the price. While it is outside the main area of Calafate, it is walking distance to a few great restaurants like Don Pichon.

Room Tip: I would imagine that rooms in the main hallway might be a bit noisy, so I'd request a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bs. As. Argentina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In our second trip to El Calafate in a couple of days this stay at Hainen resulted much better than a previous one at Hostería Puerto San Julián.
Despite the cheap wooden decor, i liked the building and specially the garden. The owner is very friendly.
Breakfast may be limited and Tvs a bit old but the overall experience was positive.
It is not centrally located however it is a very well priced option

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Hainen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Hainen

Address: Puerto Deseado 118, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#22 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#31 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosteria Hainen 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a natural balcony 350 m away from the centre, featuring wonderful views on the Argentinean Lake and the Andes Mountains the Hainen Hotel offers facilities, comfort and special treatment towards clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hosteria Hainen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Hainen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Hainen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.