We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of the way but beautiful views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Suites Calafate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Design Suites Calafate to your Saves list
Design Suites Calafate
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 598 Numero 190 | Playa Lago Argentino, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“out of the way but beautiful views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Though the hotel was a bit far out of town, the view afforded by that fact was amazing!
Read through some reviews to get a sense so you are prepared before you go.
Yes, the staff seem young but they were never not helpful, just a bit inexperienced. They always helped with contacting our tour operators and anything else we needed.
Yes, you are the first on and last off for the tours but it's not that bad.
Yes, the free shuttle is only at night but again, just know that before and be prepared to taxi during the day.
Room was clean, bed was comfortable and even though we didn't have a suite with a view, the grounds offer plenty of opportunity for enjoying the scenery.
Breakfast buffet was good, packed lunches were generous and dinner was also good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    180
    82
    29
    17
See reviews for
60
313
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Mixed reviews on Trip Advisor had us arrive at the hotel with no expectations as reviews suggest somewhat inconsistent and very hit & miss!

Location: Perfect. Located outside of El Calafate centre (approx 10 mins by taxi for a fee of ARS 40). The hotel has the best views of Lago Argentino without a doubt and don't be fooled by the others - this is the only hotel that sits atop a hill, close to the lake with uninterrupted views.

Room: We booked a very good deal via Orbitz and for the price paid (US$89) per night, the hotel was exceptionally priced and offered good value for money given its modern design. Good sized room. Lake view. Comfortable bed. Good shower with jacuzzi. Heated bathroom floor. TV needs an upgrade - but wasn't overly used, so we didn't really care.

Restaurant: An open plan layout amidst the lobby with spectacular views of Lago Argentino. Typical continental breakfast found at most Argentinian hotels that don't offer an extravagant buffet. Restaurant offers scrambled eggs and bacon (very tasty!) for those who prefer this. Lunch / Dinner menu, although somewhat limited, serves some of the finest quality of meals and was a rather surprising perfect dining experience - no surprise that the restaurant has won numerous gastronomy awards!

Staff were generally good; relaxed but effective. This hotel provided us with a perfect 3-night stay in a truly remarkably breathtaking place on earth.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate in paying extra for the Lake View - you wont regret it. Try the Patagonia boutiq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is fantastic! Great view of the Lago Argentino, it is worth it to pay for a roomn with a view. The pool is warm and also with a view. Great massages, food is very good though very sophisticated. They organize the tours to the glaziers and have a shuttle downtown. Great staff, totally worth it!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The view is breathtaking, the big and modern room, with jacuzzi, was right in front of Lago Argentino. We took our bubble baths looking at the lake and mountains! Staff is very friendly and professional, and the spa is great. It has an indoor pool with glass ceiling and walls, so you can swim right into the landscape.

Room Tip: Lake view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elewijt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautyfull view on the Argentino lake and mountains. Rooms are big and modern. Great s wimming pool, shuttle to town was very usefull. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. We had a wonderfull time in this hotel and stayed 4 nights. The architectural design of the hotel is fantastic !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed there on my honeymoon for 3 nights total. Our first stay we were in a suite with a mountain view. This room was on the main floor and was not pleasant at all. It was in full view of the grounds so we could not leave our curtains or windows open. The room had a dusty carpet and musty smell to it. We requested to be changed but they were unable to accommadate. We asked that when we came back 4 days later to be put in a room with a lake view. They made it seem that this would be free but it was not. The manager did not honour this and we had to pay for it. The second room was on the upper floor with a beautiful view and air conditioning, much more acceptable. The location is 3km out of town but they have a shuttle which runs in the evenings. Breakfast was 15 dollars and not impressive at all. Overall I would say you are paying for the view and do not expect much else. Perhaps my impression was colored negatively by the way in which I was handled but the first room we stayed at was quite unpleasant to stay in. I do not know if I would recommend this hotel to a friend

Room Tip: Lake view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Architecture of the hotel is very impressive, the suites have an extraordinary view of lake Argentino and the mauntains.We have enjoyed our 5 nights, and wish we could stay longer.
It needs to be taking care of ( carpet and sheep shin rugs )

Room Tip: Junior suites have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Suites Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Calafate

Address: Calle 598 Numero 190 | Playa Lago Argentino, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#16 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#34 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Calafate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated about one mile from El Calafate downtown, the Design Suites Calafate is an excellent choice for guests who seek tranquility during their holidays.This boutique hotel is located in the upper area of the Nimes Peninsula, where you can admire the low vegetation, hills and lake invite during a pleasant walk. If you want to visit the city, the hotel offers a shuttle to downtown on a regular basis.As a guest of the Design Suites Calafate, you will have free access to the heated pool, sauna and gym. In addition, the hotel provides a health club and spa treatments in order to optimize your relaxation during your stay.A restaurant and a bar provide meals and drinks from the morning until late at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Design Suites Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Design Hotel El Calafate
Design Hotel Calafate
Design Suites Calafate El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Suites Calafate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.