We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming. great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patagonia Rebelde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Patagonia Rebelde to your Saves list
Patagonia Rebelde
Jose R. Haro 442, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“charming. great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The hotel is wonderfully decorated, rustic with an authentic feel with little details that point to a rich history and sense of place here in patagonia. The staff is wonderfully attentive, providing very helpful advice, recommendations, coordinating day-time activities, making reservations, etc... The location is about a 5minute walk from the main avenue/"downtown" el calafate which is nice because it's close, but not right at your door step keeping you from the crowds/traffic/noise of the busy streets. (FYI..it is a tthe top of a hill, but nothing too strenuous.)Breakfast is simple and delicious. The rooms are a bit small but well appointed and comfortable, and the spaces around the hotel (both inside and out) are great for relaxing. Overall we had a great time staying here, and it's quite a value as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
70
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have been most welcome, and were able to use Patagonia Rebelde as a base for several trips, including Torres del Paine in Chile. The staff around Baldomero have been extraordinarily helpful, assisting us in all kinds of requests (reservations, tips and suggestions for further trips, organising a rental car, etc), and making our stay really very easy going and most enjoyable.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We had a great experience at Patagonia Rebelde. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful (and speak very good English). They gave great recommendations for things to do and places to eat and certainly added to our overall experience in El Calafate. We would stay here again without hesitation.

The hotel is rustic, but in an authentic way and not a polite way of saying "old" or "dirty." We thought it was exceptionally clean and our room was en suite. Our room was on the smaller side, but that was not a problem because we didn't spend a lot of time in it. And breakfast was great - nothing fancy, but certainly more than adequate.

We would recommend the Patagonia Rebelde highly! A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We were a party of six staying at Patagonia Rebelde as part of our trip to Perito Moreno glacier. The second we entered we knew we were somewhere special - cozy, comfortable room with lots of sofas for reading, a lovely bar and free internet in the lounge. The rooms are on the small side but very cosy, with plenty of hot water in the bathrooms. Around the corner is the wonderful La Tablita restaurant - booking is essential! The best bit of our stay was that the manager of the hotel let us keep some luggage in the store room for a week while we spent a few days in Chile. This was above the call of duty and most appreciated. Also, if you need a lunch for the tour of Perito Moreno, the ones supplied by Patagonia Rebelde were plentiful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed 4 days at the patagonia rebelde hotel and the experience couldnt be better. The hotel is decorated as an old train station, full of magical treasures everywhere. The living room is really cozy and its just the perfect place to enjoy a good glass of wine looking at the mountain. The best thing about the hotel is that is attended by his owner, named Baldomero, he was always there for us and recommend and us what to do and also booked us the tours. I fully recommend this place and cant wait to be back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We arrived in El Calafate on Christmas day, knackered from our flight from Germany to BA and another one down to El Cal. Stepping into the warm, wooded interior of the Rebelde was like coming home.

The staff are fantastic, helpful and on hand, yet not intrusive at all. The rooms are small, but beautifully simple, with wide windows looking out across the windswept land. This place has been decorated with great care to reflect Patagonia's past. Located just 5 mins walk from the main drag in El Calafate, it is convenient but quiet. Fantastic value for money too, I'd come back here every time, and definitely encourage my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Thank you for making our stay in el Calafate wonderful. The rooms and hospitality were lovely and a special thanks for helping us make al our last minute plans come together!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patagonia Rebelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Rebelde

Address: Jose R. Haro 442, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#28 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patagonia Rebelde, Posada + Historia, is the ideal option for tourists who want to discover the true essence of the old Patagonia. Constructed and decorated with recycled materials and traditional Patagonian design, this magical building will enchant guests by taking them back 100 years in time to experience the spirit of the pioneers of Patagonia. Twelve rooms with modern comforts create a cozy backdrop which is true to the authentic design and the original experience of these lands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Patagonia Rebelde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Rebelde Hotel El Calafate
Patagonia Rebelde El Calafate, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patagonia Rebelde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.