We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and lots of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patagonia Rebelde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Patagonia Rebelde to your Saves list
Patagonia Rebelde
Jose R. Haro 442, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and lots of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on two different occasions on our trip (three nights in total) and agree with previous reviews:

1) The staff are very accommodating & willing to help with minimal English, thank you Google Translate! They welcomed us to the hotel with a nice strawberry malbec cocktail.

2) The "double room" is two twin size beds and is a small room, just enough to fit two pieces of luggage. The "nuptial room" is one queen bed and the room size is much larger. All rooms are on the second level and luggage needed to be taken up the stairs (no elevator).

3) Breakfast was very good, we were able to order fresh scrambled eggs! They had a nice fruit salad bowl/mix one morning (some canned fruits, with kiwis, strawberries, etc). They also had the usual toast, cheese, ham, yogurt, cereals, pastries, coffee, etc

4) Location was about a 10-15 min walk downhill to the main street (ie uphill on the way home). By taxi, it was about 20 argentina pesos to the bus station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    41
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
71
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Have only positive things to say about this picturesque hotel. The staff were fantastic and helpful even though they could not english, apart from one person who was not there all the time.
The room was small and the beds were maybe a little short but we did not care so much about that, all the rest weighed up.
When you eat breakfast do not forget, you can order scrambled eggs, and say two eggs! Can recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to El Calafate to go on an excursion to the Perito Moreno glaciar and booked the Patagonia Rebelde for our stay. The lobby decoration is unbelievable and we took tons of photos of the antiques that are everywhere and every time you walk through you notice something new. We got a very nice room with a great view of the Lago Argentino.
The staff is always ready to help however they can with any inquiries on activities, restaurant recommendations, transportation.
You may need transportation from the bus station because it's a little far to walk if you have suitcases, otherwise it's a great place to stay and one of our favorite hotels from our trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights here as part of our honeymoon around Argentina. It is a clean, interesting guesthouse, which is around 400m up a gravel road away from the town centre. The rooms, whilst clean and comfortable, are a little in the small side, which to some could be off putting. It was perfectly fine for our needs though. The staff are both friendly and helpful, with a good breakfast spread. No safe in room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Herts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here after 9 weeks of touring around Indochina and S America. We have stayed in Raffles, Sofitel and Orient Express hotels, but in none have we been made to feel more welcome than in this little shack up a dirt track road in the middle of what looks like an industrial estate. The 2 ladies who seem to rotate duties in managing the hostal were delightful and as helpful as they could be. One of them, on finding out that we we diabetic, brought in some sugar free jam from her home for our breakfast.

Access to the town takes 5-10 minutes by foot with a slight incline on return. Prepare to get dusty.

We stayed in the quaintly named Matrimonial Suite, which wasn't a suite at all but was about 20% bigger than the other rooms. The bathroom was a cupboard and there was no room safe but we wouldn't have been better looked after in any other hotel and are so pleased that our tour operator booked us in there despite its lack of stars.

Room Tip: Choose the Matrimonial Suite. It's not much more expensive and provides much more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights on our arrival in Patagonia and one leaving and were absolutely delighted! From the kind and helpful welcome to the cosy warmth of the interior design we can recommend this guest house to the discerning traveller.
The location is perfect away from the noisy main street and yet within easy reach of excellent restaurants.
The rooms are compact but very comfortable - designed with great imagination. The huge lounge, dining and reception area is extraordinary full of bits and pieces from the past - tastefully arranged to give a flavour of the region's fascinating history.
We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 3 nights in January in this delightful hotel, which is close to the center of town - a real oasis !

Very comfortable rooms designed to match the environment. Nicely decorated reception area with good WI FI access and main bar area with lounge facilities. Good breakfast.

Excellent staff, all very helpful and wishing to please. We would have no hesitation in returning here - a real gem in the Patagonian desert.

The day tour to the Perito Moreno glacier was one of the highlights of our Argentina trip - highly recommended !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patagonia Rebelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Rebelde

Address: Jose R. Haro 442, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#27 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patagonia Rebelde, Posada + Historia, is the ideal option for tourists who want to discover the true essence of the old Patagonia. Constructed and decorated with recycled materials and traditional Patagonian design, this magical building will enchant guests by taking them back 100 years in time to experience the spirit of the pioneers of Patagonia. Twelve rooms with modern comforts create a cozy backdrop which is true to the authentic design and the original experience of these lands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Patagonia Rebelde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Rebelde Hotel El Calafate
Patagonia Rebelde El Calafate, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patagonia Rebelde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.