We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm-harted owners, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cauquenes de Nimez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cauquenes de Nimez to your Saves list
Cauquenes de Nimez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 n.79 Zona de Chacras, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“warm-harted owners, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in hotel at the beginning of March for 1 night and the weather was so extraordinary beautifull, that staff even decided to put on "asado". It was the best one I had during my entire 6-weeks stay in South America! Also, form the beginning the staff was very welcoming, room nice, and breakfast very enjoyable - with view of Lagua Nimez!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    77
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
96
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and would have been happy to stay longer. We were given a warm welcome, and were able to order some beers to drink in the lounge. The lounge has sofas, a bookcase, and a laptop set up on a table for guests' use. The room was very comfortable, with a bay window which allowed us to see the lagoon from the left hand section. Although I went for a short walk along the footpath around the wildlife reserve, I didn't see much wildlife, and certainly no flamingos. We should have stayed longer, as we were booked in here for two outings to the glaciers. As it was a six day break over Easter and an additional bank holiday for the Argentines, the town was very lively, and one night was spent having a meal in one of the many excellent restaurants, and a walk around the town looking at the craft shops, boutiques etc. Many outdoor equipment and clothing stores, and the town is set up for the activities in the national parks. The other night we had a meal in the restaurant, and we were glad that we did, as the home cooking was excellent, and we had a nice chat with the friendly owner. The bathroom was spacious, but the shower curtain over the bath was held up by a rail which attached to the tiles with suction pads. I didn't realise that, and managed to pull the rail down, where it hit the tiled floor and the plastic end smashed. I was very sorry, and apologised to the lady who owned the hotel, but she just said so long as I wasn't hurt, it didn't matter. When we returned later in the day, it had been put back. But do be careful, as the rail is not screwed into the wall, so it needs careful use. The breakfast was excellent, especially the bread, which was lovely toasted, if you can wait for the toaster to do its slow work. Home made jams and marmalades, and a lot of cakes are on offer. The town is not that far away, we had a nice stroll there, although if it had been raining we might have thought it was a long way. The packed lunch was OK, we had little choice, as we arrived very late from a flight, and could not have gone out and bought anything else. There wasn't a lot more than snacks on the boat, so we appreciated being given a lunch to take with us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hosteeia for a few days on our trip through Argentina. We arrived late after a tiring journey and were greatest by wonderful staff who were extremely efficient and helpful with our numerous questions. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hosteria itself relaxing and homely, and the location was beautiful! its a short walk to town, although we hardly went in as we were exhausted at the end of very active days! I Loved every minute of my stay and would recommend this to my friends and family.
Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The good:
+friendly staff who were extremely helpful with everything we asked
+tea service between 5 and 6pm
+close to the beautiful lake
+comfortable rooms

The could be improved:
-Our boxed lunch from them was awful--don't order it
-This hotel is further outside of town than we initially thought. To the town center is a good 10-15 minute walk. It is nice being removed from the hustle and bustle of town, but be aware that eating dinner out will involve a walk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are looking for a home in Patagonia, book a room in Cauquenes de Nimez. Perfect location close to the Argentinian Lake, birds sanctuary just in proximity, walking distance from the city centre. The master and mistress of the house very hearty and helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Not everything was perfect. The rooms aren’t big, there is only one slow toaster for the whole breakfast room. But: staff and Juana in particular made our stay very personal and almost as ‘home’. We stayed in several hotels in Argentina but in none of them we felt as welcome as in Cauquenes de Nimez. Thanks Juana! And remember Juana: beautiful legs are ‘moeï biên’!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the perfect place for our needs in Patagonia during the summer season. Centrally located a couple of blocks north of the main street, the B&B is also close to the lakeside nature reserve, which invites for strolls in the morning or evening if you have a spare hour or two. The rooms are clean and functional and meet all basic requirements. The staff are incredibly knowledgable and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are delicious, most of all don't miss the nice afternoon tea with the home made treats! This is a home away from home and I would go back without a second thought!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cauquenes de Nimez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cauquenes de Nimez

Address: 303 n.79 Zona de Chacras, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#16 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cauquenes de Nimez 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Nimez Lake, in el Calafate ecological Reserve, surrounded by cauquenes, swans and flamingos, we find Cauquenes de Nimez, Hostería Patagónica. Personally run by its owners, with 12 rooms, a quiet living room and a warm dining room, it is the perfect environment for enjoying a typical southern meal and reviving the traditional Patagonian spirit that during the beginning of the past century captivated so many pioneers and travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cauquenes de Nimez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cauquenes De Nimez El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cauquenes de Nimez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.