We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in a beautiful setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Save Saved
You added Esplendor El Calafate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplendor El Calafate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Domingo Peron 1143, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in a beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff couldn't have been more helpful at this hotel on a hill overlooking the lake, mountains and town. We had a lovely room with stone pulls on the drawers and hand made antler lamps/rugs/pillows. Comfortable beds and good breakfast daily. The staff gave us ideas for restaurants in town that were divine choices! Check out Mi Rancho and La Tablita. I wish I would have brought home more calafate berry jam since it's only available in this town and it's yummy!

Room Tip: We have a view of the lake which was marvelous! But, the rooms on the back might be more quiet sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    205
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
65
308
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall, this hotel represents very good value for money. The location could not be better. Probably the strongest point is the helpfulness of the staff, especially in helping us choose among the various day-tour options, and then in booking them for us. The hotel property is very well maintained--like new. The restaurant has excellent food--well-priced. And the pool and spa were most appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2nights for our honeymoon. Great large lobby with free use of computers. Rooms were a decent size and we were lucky enough to have a view of the lake. The lighting was very weak in the room and the showers were very temperamental, going very hot or very cold.
Breakfast good with plenty of variety. Spa was lovely, and the lady that does massages was very good. Would recommend that!
Good location for town - 5 minute walk to the centre.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Overall our stay at the Esplendor was pleasant. We stayed two nights with the Big Ice glacier hike between. The hotel is very well designed - a very ascetically pleasing stay. The theme is a mix of modern, western, and kitsch. It felt very cool, and as a late 20's-something man traveling with his partner we felt at home. The resataurant has incredible food - we ate there the first night because we got in late and enjoyed it so much that we skipped the touristy spots on the main drag and ate there again the second night. We also spent some time in the bar area with some delicious drinks and played some games they make available in the bar (chess, checkers, and others).

After a 12-hour day of hiking we went to the indoor heated pool to loosen up the muscles. The pool was nice but not as clean as I would have liked. The rooms are well appointed but slightly less upscale than the common areas. We also had some water heat issues in our shower - it would get scalding hot for one second, then suddenly cold for one second, then be fine for 10 seconds, and would repeat. Once you got in the routine of escaping the water every 10 seconds it was fine, but certainly not ideal. Finally, this being El Calafate, the winds were howling one night, and this howling created a whistle in our window. Made it a bit difficult to get to sleep.

Finally this place is near the center of town but not on the main drag - that's about a 10 minute walk away. Overall we enjoyed our experience very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The decor is indeed as pompous and confused as it looks in the pictures. It gets even more interesting in the rooms, with the poured concrete tub and stuffed sheep-like settes. We got upgraded to a suite, which was a pleasant surprise given that we booked the hotel at rather deep discount via booking.com. The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable. And overall, for the $120 we paid it was excellent.
However, if we paid $600 for this room, then I'd be upset. The hotel appears to have put all of it's money towards the antlers, fogetting the landscaping. Our room had a rather sad view of a couple of emaciated horses permanently tied up outside and the barren burnt out dusty hill that the hotel is perched on. Given the walk into town is 10 mins, which isnot bad, but requires crossing 4 lanes of traffic uphill the benefit of this location without a view is questionnable at best. Breakfast was mediocre.
Perhaps this hotel needs to grow into it's decor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Esplendor on two different occasions in a comfort room. First, I'd like to compliment the excellent staff who were very accomodating especially, Antoinetta and others at the front desk. They kept our luggage for 4 days while we traveled further south and were very welcoming when we returned.
The "comfort" room was spacious with a comfortable King bed, an ample bathroom with a very nice view of Lake Argentine. Bathrooms offer nice bath amenities including a tub, shampoo and moisturizing lotion. In addition, there is a bidet, and sink cabinets for storage. Storage in the room was ample as well. Wooden floors and interesting local decorations give it a unique look.
The breakfast buffet was very extensive offering an array of breads, fruit and eggs. The coffee was excellent ! The hotel is located up on a hill about a 10 minute walk to town and very close to the bus station.
The property however, needs some serious updating. The elevators were shaky and sometimes did not work at all. The internet is sporadic at best and one of the screens on the computors in the lobby was almost impossible to view. The rooms are very hot as the windows open only from the top. They did send a fan up to me upon my request, so that helped.

We had a very favorable rate on booking.com, so I would probably go there again. Perhaps , they will have fixed some of the problems .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and appreciated the position, the confortable room and the interior design, but we didn't find the staff committed. We had a booking problem, that we had to solve by ourselves with an international call. After breakfast we could not enter our room and staff didn't seem to bother considering that shortly after we had a pick-up for our escursion. We also booked a spa appointment, but had to wait over 20 minutes as the beautician seemed disappeared.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor El Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor El Calafate

Address: Juan Domingo Peron 1143, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#24 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#27 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor El Calafate 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Esplendor El Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor El Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Del Calafate El
Esplendor El Calafate Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor El Calafate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.