We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Puerto San Julian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hosteria Puerto San Julian to your Saves list
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto San Julian 310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Bs. As. Argentina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overrated property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hosteria does not have anything special to stay there. It is located in Aeropuerto Viejo Neighbourhood. It is not precisely very central. You need a taxi when returning at night.
There is no help in case of carrying heavy luggage. Many rooms are upstairs.
We had to walk 200 meters in a very windy night to foot the bill with a credit card.
Breakfast is the most limited I have encountered in any hotel in my life.
Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and the area very quiet to rest. But I thinks these factors do not justify staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
68
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spent 3 days and 2 nights at this pretty little inn. As others have noted it is off on a gravel road, but a short walk into town. The staff was very nice, however not as knowledgeable as I had hoped, and I ended up losing some time when I followed their recommendations for excursions that were not correct. Also the first day the staff did not tidy my room. When I mentioned this to the stafff, they just said "ok, we will be sure somebody comes by tomorrow". The breakfast was not very good, however the fresh fruit salad was a welcome change. The rooms were very clean, however the noise from the rest of the buliding was quite loud, and I ended up sleeping one night with the TV on static just so that I could sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A little outside the center of El Calafate, a little uphill on a groval road we found this nice hosteria. Helpfull staff, nice room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

After the shock of the distance from the airport, the hotel was a welcome sight. When the driver turned off on to gravel roads, we were a little worried, but the hotel was great. The gravel roads needn't have worried us it appears to be the norm in El Calafate. We were given a large room on the corner which was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful in arranging tours to the glaciers and recommendations for downtown.
Downtown is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel which is annoying when it is raining, but pleasant enough normally. The downtown area has lots of shops, restaurants, etc and it is very safe to walk around at night. (Take a flashlight if you intend to walk home from the town at night).
Breakfast is buffet and perfectly adequate. On day trips, a "boxed lunch" can be provided - at a price which are OK. On the glacier boats, it is advisable to take one of these, but not necessary for the trip to Perito Moreno glacier as there are facilities there.
The local parrilla (recommended by hotel) was excellent and only a short walk from the hotel although free shuttle bus is available).

Room Tip: The "Perito Moreno" room in the corner room and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was small but cute, warm and cozy. Breakfast was nothing special, but generally, in terms of food, unless you're eating lamb or steak, the pickin's are slim this far south.

The hotel in on quiet, out of the way street, and although there are no spectacular views, the price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hosteria is out of town on the hill overlooking the main town, but in a part of ever-expanding town where the paved roads haven't quite reached but no detriment to the hostel and don't let that deter you if you don't mind a walk - it however may be off-putting for some when you might have to walk the distance in the rain.  It's a little walk into town but it's under the kilometre.  I found reception friendly, helpful and accommodating - always giving us our messages such as pick-up times etc. for the next day.  Rooms are smallish but comfortable - some glasses or cups or even a chair in the room would be nice.  Bed was very comfortable and the bonus for us is having the quietness at night without traffic and/or people noises echoing up to your room from the streets.  Sheets a little on the thin side but as with all the linen always very clean and fresh smelling. 
A good Argentinian breakfast - bonus for me was the croissants were fresh - crispy and soft inside and not cold and hard as they were in some larger hotels.  A very nice fruit salad - others I've had from larger hotels were either made too far in advance and the fruit was browning or they supplemented the fresh with too much tinned.
We would definitely stay here again for the quietness and comfortable beds.  We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights, and for paying in cash, secured an upgrade to a huge corner rooms with wondeful views in two directions. Gaston and his staff were super helpful, and arranged our Big Ice trek for us, amongst answering various other queries.

The hotel is on a hill about ten minutes walk from the main street, and apparently there are taxis if you don't fancy the walk. Our room had a safe and good wifi. Breaksfast helpfully started at 6.30 to allow for the many tours which depart from 7am and included fruit salad as well as cereal and the standard bread products which was good.

Our room and bathroom were clean with fresh towels as requested.

The only downside I can think of which is a shame is that I was looking forward to soaking in the tub promised on the website, after 10 weeks travelling and a lot of hiking in the recent days. Unfortunately though, the bath surrounds were rotten with the black mould you can get in bathrooms so we couldn't face it for more than a shower. Dissapointing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Puerto San Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Puerto San Julian

Address: Puerto San Julian 310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Puerto San Julian 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Brand new hosteria is the place of choice for visitors to El Calafate. Come to Hosteria Puerto San Julian. All you need to bring is your dream of a wonderful vacation...We'll take care of everything else for you. ROOMS: spacious and sunny rooms with cable TV, private bath and hair drier. SERVICE: personalized attention. Bilingual personnel. Tour assistance. Internet Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hosteria Puerto San Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Puerto San Julian Hotel El Calafate
Hosteria Puerto San Julian El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Puerto San Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.