We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value, but not more than adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Puerto San Julian

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Puerto San Julian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto San Julian 310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good value, but not more than adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spent 3 days and 2 nights at this pretty little inn. As others have noted it is off on a gravel road, but a short walk into town. The staff was very nice, however not as knowledgeable as I had hoped, and I ended up losing some time when I followed their recommendations for excursions that were not correct. Also the first day the staff did not tidy my room. When I mentioned this to the stafff, they just said "ok, we will be sure somebody comes by tomorrow". The breakfast was not very good, however the fresh fruit salad was a welcome change. The rooms were very clean, however the noise from the rest of the buliding was quite loud, and I ended up sleeping one night with the TV on static just so that I could sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
65
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A little outside the center of El Calafate, a little uphill on a groval road we found this nice hosteria. Helpfull staff, nice room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

After the shock of the distance from the airport, the hotel was a welcome sight. When the driver turned off on to gravel roads, we were a little worried, but the hotel was great. The gravel roads needn't have worried us it appears to be the norm in El Calafate. We were given a large room on the corner which was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful in arranging tours to the glaciers and recommendations for downtown.
Downtown is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel which is annoying when it is raining, but pleasant enough normally. The downtown area has lots of shops, restaurants, etc and it is very safe to walk around at night. (Take a flashlight if you intend to walk home from the town at night).
Breakfast is buffet and perfectly adequate. On day trips, a "boxed lunch" can be provided - at a price which are OK. On the glacier boats, it is advisable to take one of these, but not necessary for the trip to Perito Moreno glacier as there are facilities there.
The local parrilla (recommended by hotel) was excellent and only a short walk from the hotel although free shuttle bus is available).

Room Tip: The "Perito Moreno" room in the corner room and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was small but cute, warm and cozy. Breakfast was nothing special, but generally, in terms of food, unless you're eating lamb or steak, the pickin's are slim this far south.

The hotel in on quiet, out of the way street, and although there are no spectacular views, the price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hosteria is out of town on the hill overlooking the main town, but in a part of ever-expanding town where the paved roads haven't quite reached but no detriment to the hostel and don't let that deter you if you don't mind a walk - it however may be off-putting for some when you might have to walk the distance in the rain.  It's a little walk into town but it's under the kilometre.  I found reception friendly, helpful and accommodating - always giving us our messages such as pick-up times etc. for the next day.  Rooms are smallish but comfortable - some glasses or cups or even a chair in the room would be nice.  Bed was very comfortable and the bonus for us is having the quietness at night without traffic and/or people noises echoing up to your room from the streets.  Sheets a little on the thin side but as with all the linen always very clean and fresh smelling. 
A good Argentinian breakfast - bonus for me was the croissants were fresh - crispy and soft inside and not cold and hard as they were in some larger hotels.  A very nice fruit salad - others I've had from larger hotels were either made too far in advance and the fruit was browning or they supplemented the fresh with too much tinned.
We would definitely stay here again for the quietness and comfortable beds.  We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights, and for paying in cash, secured an upgrade to a huge corner rooms with wondeful views in two directions. Gaston and his staff were super helpful, and arranged our Big Ice trek for us, amongst answering various other queries.

The hotel is on a hill about ten minutes walk from the main street, and apparently there are taxis if you don't fancy the walk. Our room had a safe and good wifi. Breaksfast helpfully started at 6.30 to allow for the many tours which depart from 7am and included fruit salad as well as cereal and the standard bread products which was good.

Our room and bathroom were clean with fresh towels as requested.

The only downside I can think of which is a shame is that I was looking forward to soaking in the tub promised on the website, after 10 weeks travelling and a lot of hiking in the recent days. Unfortunately though, the bath surrounds were rotten with the black mould you can get in bathrooms so we couldn't face it for more than a shower. Dissapointing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Staff were always friendly and helpful, room was nice and well maintained. Unlike various hotels I have been to before, the water does not spill out of the shower onto the floor, so this was appreciated. The bed was comfortable. Multiple coat hangers in the dresser.

During the day you can hear sounds from the reception, but at night it was very quiet and I had no trouble falling asleep. Same in the morning, I was never awoken by noise.

Also, it is located just out of the busy part of the town, so it is a quiet location.

Some might not like walking to it, but I enjoyed not being close to the busy streets, and it is a short walk to a nice view of sunsets.

I would go back if I stayed in Calafate again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Puerto San Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Puerto San Julian

Address: Puerto San Julian 310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Puerto San Julian 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Brand new hosteria is the place of choice for visitors to El Calafate. Come to Hosteria Puerto San Julian. All you need to bring is your dream of a wonderful vacation...We'll take care of everything else for you. ROOMS: spacious and sunny rooms with cable TV, private bath and hair drier. SERVICE: personalized attention. Bilingual personnel. Tour assistance. Internet Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hosteria Puerto San Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Puerto San Julian Hotel El Calafate
Hosteria Puerto San Julian El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Puerto San Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.