We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, quiet location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Puerto San Julian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria Puerto San Julian to your Saves list
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto San Julian 310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, quiet location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Staff were always friendly and helpful, room was nice and well maintained. Unlike various hotels I have been to before, the water does not spill out of the shower onto the floor, so this was appreciated. The bed was comfortable. Multiple coat hangers in the dresser.

During the day you can hear sounds from the reception, but at night it was very quiet and I had no trouble falling asleep. Same in the morning, I was never awoken by noise.

Also, it is located just out of the busy part of the town, so it is a quiet location.

Some might not like walking to it, but I enjoyed not being close to the busy streets, and it is a short walk to a nice view of sunsets.

I would go back if I stayed in Calafate again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phils_TA_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Pasamos tres noches de Noviembre en esta hosteria mi marido y yo.
Esta cerca del pueblo , las habitaciones no son pequeñas y las camas confortables.
El desayuno elemental.
El personal que lo lleva te ayuda en todos los casos, tanto el de mañana como el de tarde y te aconseja en las excursiones. Ademas si necesitas llevar comida preparada para excursiones ellos se ocupan de proporcionartela.
Nos parece un lugar recomendable sin duda.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merche23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the glaciers. We were very pleased with the room and nice bathroom. It was an exceptional place for the price -- 4 nights for around $350 USD. Also, the concierge was wonderful at arranging our trips and printing out our vouchers for us.

The hotel is up a hill from town, and is an easy 7 minute walk from the main street. After dinner, we were usually lazy and got a cab to get back, which was extremely cheap and easy to get.

Due to the flight schedule, we ended up staying in El Calafate for 4 nights, though I only recommend 2-3 nights to see the glaciers. El Calafate has likely lost lots of its charm given its shops/restaurants are so focused on selling to tourists.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hecnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stay here for three night with our two young kids, the room was clean and cozy.
The stuff was very nice and helpful.
Going to the center is about 10 minutes walking.
The breakfast was regular, nothing big but fresh and nice.
We booked the room in advanced and a day before our arrivals to El-Calafate our flight canceled and we arrive a day after, in San julian they did not charge us for this night.
We loved this place

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atkfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Good location (10 min walking from main street). Room very clean and quiet neirborhood. Breakfast included is okay. Make arrangement for trip and shuttle to airport at last minute for us. Very kind owner. Recommend it for sure. Will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alon Kfar Adumim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was wide, clean and comfortable, with a refrigerator and a safe. Quite neighborough, 7 min walk to center of town. Gaston, the manager, was very nice, committed to give personalized service to every client; he even helped us with our luggage in his private car.
If you see him, please send him regards from Hagit ("huggies")

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2011. My room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful - they called some bus companies for me to help me arrange travel. The included breakfast was very good. The hotel is about a 15 walk outside the downtown area where all the restaurants are located.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garryoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Calafate
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Hainen
Hosteria Hainen
#34 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Loma Hotel
La Loma Hotel
#45 of 71 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
#57 of 71 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#46 of 71 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia
0.1 mi away
Cyan Cacique Calafate Hotel
Cyan Cacique Calafate Hotel
#39 of 71 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Puerto San Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Puerto San Julian

Address: Puerto San Julian 310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Puerto San Julian 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Brand new hosteria is the place of choice for visitors to El Calafate. Come to Hosteria Puerto San Julian. All you need to bring is your dream of a wonderful vacation...We'll take care of everything else for you. ROOMS: spacious and sunny rooms with cable TV, private bath and hair drier. SERVICE: personalized attention. Bilingual personnel. Tour assistance. Internet Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Puerto San Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Puerto San Julian Hotel El Calafate
Hosteria Puerto San Julian El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing