We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting. Top notch service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit to your Saves list
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 11 Km. 23 | Patagonia, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting. Top notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We saw EOLO for the first time 7 years ago and since then we have been thinking of visiting. Booked directly with them and got tips and directions and help to design our 4 day stay from the Buenos Aires office. The "estancia" is located 15km away from the town of Calafate in a small hill overlooking mountains, Lago Argentino. Views are breathtaking from every corner.
Service is impeccable.
All personnel is always ready to say "yes" to your requests, help you in deciding what is best in terms of tours, places to visit and ready to help you in every possible way.
Food is a completely outstanding chapter. Being Relais & Chateaux you can trust this is a key aspect of your stay. Restaurant waiters, personnel know every detail of the menu and were always ready to offer our kids a wide selection of healthy food.
I will agree with some guests that have indicated that breakfast choice could be larger, but to us, it did not make any difference.

I would suggest that you allow at least 1 full day to relax in EOLO. Enjoy just being there, doing nothing, or walking, riding a bike, horseback riding, enjoying the view from the living room, going for a stroll or hike alone or with the guide, etc.
Breath deeply and enjoy one of the most beautiful corners of the world.
I don´t share any photos since the ones already in the reviews are true and they are nothing in comparison to being in that place.

Some practical tips in EOLO.
1-No cell phone coverage except for Claro. If you have Personal or Movistar, you are out of luck. Check your coverage while you are in Buenos Aires where you can get a Claro SIM card if you do need your mobile phone. Don´t know if you can get a Claro SIM card in town.
2-Wi-Fi is widely available in the hotel and speed is good, allowing you to use Skype, Whatsapp, Facetime and other messaging/conference systems.
3-Phone coverage only in Calafate and the Glaciar.
4-Outgoing calls to Argentina are free from the room, reception, and you can use their wireless handsets.
5-Room: We were in room 13 with our kids. Large room, large bathroom, nice amenities, nice and simple decor, very Patagonia style. No TV in the room (who needs it??). Very comfortable beds. For our taste the pillows were a tad firm.
6-Kids: We travelled with our 3 year old and 10 month old and thought they would not "fit". We were wrong. They prepared a bed and a cot, had high chairs, and personnel was familiar with handling kids. They even stayed with our 10 month old for 2 hours while we went horseback riding! A nice gesture.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are said to have nicer views, we saw 2 and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    23
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
183
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We enjoyed an awesome stay at Relais & Châteaux' Eolo hotel in Patagonia. The views and the sophisticated atmosphere are very relaxing and out of this world. You can easily hang out for hours or try some of the numerous excursion options.

A must see: From Eolo take to the Perito Moreno glacier. The receptionist will gladly book you with the monopolist Hielo y Aventura. It's a once-in-a-lifetime experience if you're not a professional crampons aficionado. Bring good shoes and warm cloths. Even in summer...

And go for horse back riding, the landscape is phantasticly peaceful and the horses patient.

And grab a Berlina Gold beer afterwards. It's Patagonia's best. It doesn't get any better than that :-)

Room Tip: We had the 'smallest' room type and were happy with that. Higher categories include corner w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is about as perfect a hotel as you will ever stay in. Clean, tasteful in the extreme, perfect service, great food and spectacular views in every direction. I highly recommend Eolo! Everything about Eolo has been thought though, refined, tested and made perfect. It is well staffed with helpful, friendly people and I can not think of a single negative thing to say about this delightful place. It is hard to imagine that there is a hotel in Patagonia that can compare.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Eolo was, in all ways, a great experience for us. We have been there for the second time at the end of 2012 and early days of 2013. Our reservations were fully honoured, as in the first time, and we got two rooms, being one for my daughter and her 2 children and the other for myself and my wife.. The hotel is definitively a boutique hotel and is located in a big "estancia" (farm) and has fantastic views. There's nothing near, so if you are a city person, perhaps you'll find it too lonely. But that's exactly the Eolo's idea: you are in Patagonia where everything is vast, with plenty of land around you. The rooms are quite nice, furnished with authentic "estancia" furniture. They have everything you may need except TV in the room which may be a problem to some travelers. Maid service is perfect and your room is cleaned when you return from breakfast, which is something you cannot expect in other hotels, even the 5 star ones. They offer many fantastic sightseeing tours, horseback and bike ridings, etc, so that you can spend well your time. A minimum of 4 nights would be required if you want to enjoy everything that El Calafate has to offer. The rates at the hotel include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, which are very good. The Chef is, inded, quite talented and offer an interesting blend of french and argentinian cuisine.The menu changes everyday. If you don't wish to have lunch, they offer instead a small bag with a picnic kind of meal, which you pick from a special menu. No added costs.However, all beverages - wine, liquors, etc.- are charged separately and prices for them are rather high. The staff, under manager Valentim, gives a real treat at all times.Nonetheles, I have found one problem with Eolo: the lack of variety and, perhaps, even quality, in their breakfast. It does not match at all with everything the hotel offers. The itens placed at the buffet are very poor, badly presented and almost never replaced in due time. As there's only one waitress to serve the tables and supply the buffet ,it lacks things, like fruit, cheese, etc. I have noted the same problem the first time I was there. I think that Eolo should pay attention to this matter.Other than that, I fully recomend Eolo if you can afford the prices, which are, I'm afraid to say, rather high, but quite worthy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This lodge was gorgeous. The rooms were great. The sheets, the towels, the bathroom, the beds were all top notch. The staff was friendly and accommodating with perfect English. It's a beautiful setting and everyone did their best in making this a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in Eolo for three nights, traveling with my wife and 14 month old daughter. It was simply a memorable experience, the views from the hotel and our room took our breath away. The hotel is a bit pricey, but the room costs includes all meals and some activities which makes it all worthwhile. The hotel staff went the extra mile to make sure we had a memorable stay - the hotel has just 12 rooms so it has this intimate feel. Considering we were traveling with our 14 month old daughter the hotel staff made sure that we were comfortable.

Dining in EOLO is an experience in itself, it is fine dining at its best with unforgettable views. The steak in the restaurant was one of the best I have ever had and the desserts were simply wonderful.

We arranged day trips via the hotel concierge and they made sure that everything was taken care of.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

superb location with the best panoramic views ever!!! traumhafte Lage mit Panorama Blick soweit das Auge reicht von jedem Zimmer!! Super Ausflüge! Superb excursion! good driver and for our daughter superb riding! Nice restaurant! Gutes Restaurant mit herausragenden Weinen!

A once in a life time experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.4 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#3 of 71 in El Calafate
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
#17 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#2 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#16 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#4 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit

Address: Ruta 11 Km. 23 | Patagonia, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#1 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit is located within an "estancia" of 4,000 hectares (10,000 acres) between El Calafate, Argentina, and the Perito Moreno Glacier. With only 17 room, it offers the most exclusive accommodation of the area with a remarkably complete experience, affording a comfortable and luxurious window onto Patagonian life. Eolo... Luxury of the simple thing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eolo - Patagonia`s Spirit Hotel El Calafate
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit El Calafate, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.