We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eolo is the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit to your Saves list
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 11 Km. 23 | Patagonia, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eolo is the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is about as perfect a hotel as you will ever stay in. Clean, tasteful in the extreme, perfect service, great food and spectacular views in every direction. I highly recommend Eolo! Everything about Eolo has been thought though, refined, tested and made perfect. It is well staffed with helpful, friendly people and I can not think of a single negative thing to say about this delightful place. It is hard to imagine that there is a hotel in Patagonia that can compare.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
142
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Eolo was, in all ways, a great experience for us. We have been there for the second time at the end of 2012 and early days of 2013. Our reservations were fully honoured, as in the first time, and we got two rooms, being one for my daughter and her 2 children and the other for myself and my wife.. The hotel is definitively a boutique hotel and is located in a big "estancia" (farm) and has fantastic views. There's nothing near, so if you are a city person, perhaps you'll find it too lonely. But that's exactly the Eolo's idea: you are in Patagonia where everything is vast, with plenty of land around you. The rooms are quite nice, furnished with authentic "estancia" furniture. They have everything you may need except TV in the room which may be a problem to some travelers. Maid service is perfect and your room is cleaned when you return from breakfast, which is something you cannot expect in other hotels, even the 5 star ones. They offer many fantastic sightseeing tours, horseback and bike ridings, etc, so that you can spend well your time. A minimum of 4 nights would be required if you want to enjoy everything that El Calafate has to offer. The rates at the hotel include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, which are very good. The Chef is, inded, quite talented and offer an interesting blend of french and argentinian cuisine.The menu changes everyday. If you don't wish to have lunch, they offer instead a small bag with a picnic kind of meal, which you pick from a special menu. No added costs.However, all beverages - wine, liquors, etc.- are charged separately and prices for them are rather high. The staff, under manager Valentim, gives a real treat at all times.Nonetheles, I have found one problem with Eolo: the lack of variety and, perhaps, even quality, in their breakfast. It does not match at all with everything the hotel offers. The itens placed at the buffet are very poor, badly presented and almost never replaced in due time. As there's only one waitress to serve the tables and supply the buffet ,it lacks things, like fruit, cheese, etc. I have noted the same problem the first time I was there. I think that Eolo should pay attention to this matter.Other than that, I fully recomend Eolo if you can afford the prices, which are, I'm afraid to say, rather high, but quite worthy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This lodge was gorgeous. The rooms were great. The sheets, the towels, the bathroom, the beds were all top notch. The staff was friendly and accommodating with perfect English. It's a beautiful setting and everyone did their best in making this a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in Eolo for three nights, traveling with my wife and 14 month old daughter. It was simply a memorable experience, the views from the hotel and our room took our breath away. The hotel is a bit pricey, but the room costs includes all meals and some activities which makes it all worthwhile. The hotel staff went the extra mile to make sure we had a memorable stay - the hotel has just 12 rooms so it has this intimate feel. Considering we were traveling with our 14 month old daughter the hotel staff made sure that we were comfortable.

Dining in EOLO is an experience in itself, it is fine dining at its best with unforgettable views. The steak in the restaurant was one of the best I have ever had and the desserts were simply wonderful.

We arranged day trips via the hotel concierge and they made sure that everything was taken care of.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

superb location with the best panoramic views ever!!! traumhafte Lage mit Panorama Blick soweit das Auge reicht von jedem Zimmer!! Super Ausflüge! Superb excursion! good driver and for our daughter superb riding! Nice restaurant! Gutes Restaurant mit herausragenden Weinen!

A once in a life time experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff amazing hotel amazing food (far from the city so food is included in the price). We visited south america and it was the highlight of our trip. Everything was just perfect I wish I could have stayed longer in this paradise

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you think you know panoramic, Eolo will redefine it for you. It is an amazing experience, such beauty. Initially I was hesitate it looked a bit brown and barren to me on the website it, how wrong I was. This is monumental landscape of extraordinary beauty. The sky is vast and the changes of light from sunrise to nightfall are mesmerizing. They are lots of birds and critters to keep you interested.

Most people at Eolo seemed to be racing off to do excursions. Whatever for, just stay put in sublime comfort, eat great food, and drink in nature at her most beguiling. Just walk out from the lodge in any direction for great views. It is fabulous.

Only negative, the pool is too small - they know it, and are working on it.

We teamed this with the new 2 day glacier cruise from Marpatag Cruceros on their new boat the Santa Cruz. They are completely different and complimentary experiences, and Marpatag will collect you from Eolo, their dock is 30 minutes away . It was a perfect combination. To and tail the cruise at Eolo for an unforgettable adventure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit

Address: Ruta 11 Km. 23 | Patagonia, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EOLO – Patagonia´s Spirit is located within an “estancia” of 4,000 hectares (10,000 acres) between El Calafate, Argentina, and the Perito Moreno glacier. With only 17 suites, it offers the most exclusive accommodation of the area with a remarkably complete experience, affording a comfortable and luxurious window onto Patagonian life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eolo - Patagonia`s Spirit Hotel El Calafate
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit El Calafate, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.