We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit to your Saves list
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 11 Km. 23 | Patagonia, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

An amazing setting, intimate lodge with warm and accommodating staff. Inventive and first rate cuisine on full board arrangement. Distant from town perched on a hill with magnificent views and transport made easy. Staff very proficient in English.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    22
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
176
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Eolo is situated a few hundred feet up a small mountain range outside of El Calafate in Patagonia. The setting is incredible, the view is breathtakingly expansive and the property grounds are tastefully incorporated into the land. Our room was spacious and had an amazing view of the surrounding mountains. The rooms and overall interior design promote comfort more than aesthetics; comfortable bed and sheets. For a hotel in this price point, I'd characterize the interior of the hotel as 'nice, not great.'

The food at Eolo is excellent. For a small hotel in a removed location in Patagonia, I came in with modest expectations. At every meal, I was amazed by the quality of the presentation, ingredients and taste. My wife and I had some great meals at Eolo.

The service at Eolo is quite good and is on par with most Relais properties. Everyone that works at Eolo is genuinely pleasant and friendly, creating an environment where you almost feel 'at home.' They make it easy to have a relaxing stay.

If you are physically fit, I'd strongly recommended the extended hike of Perito Moreno. Eolo will arrange for the transfer and packs a great lunch for the trip. We hiked to the middle of one of the world's largest glaciers and had our packed lunch and wine; pretty memorable!

I would definitely encourage you to go horseback riding on the Eolo property, especially if you can arrange for Robert as your guide. We actually rode horses twice because we had so much fun the first time.

Overall, I'd highly recommend Eolo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great (very great) location. Silent (You actually hear the silence). Perfect infrastructure: rooms; restaurant; spa area; reading area; etc. (Just a small advise: the background music could be more background). Food which is fitting Relais & Chateau standards: My wife, who is not a "meat eater", has eaten the best lamb ever. Excellent service: people are there when you need them and they are invisible when you don't need them. And yes, it is expensive. But this you know when you book.

Room Tip: Corner rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

EOLO is a great place to stay to get away from it all. It is set on a large estancia with wonderful views of the mountains and Lake Argentina. The rooms are very comfortable with good beds, pillows, sheets, etc. The restaurant where you get all your meals is very good- especially the Patagonian lamb. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is a real plus. They will arrange everything for you. The main excursion points are closer than if you stayed in town. No doubt you can take advantage of these if you stay in town at a significantly lower price point but if you are going all the way to Patagonia and can afford it, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated in an impressive, wide valley with glimpses of Torres del Paine between the surrounding mountains. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated with excellent views of the countryside. We found the staff attentive and friendly.
Alcoholic drinks were not included in the package so the staff kept a note of these behind the bar - but we were not asked to sign for them. We kept a note of our drinks bill so that there would be no confusion when the time came to settle our account. However, when we were presented with our bill we found two drinks had been included which we had not ordered – these were removed without dispute. On the other hand, the price of the drinks quoted on the bar list did not match what we were being charged. When we queried the difference in price between the US$7 quoted on the bar list for Beefeater gin and the US$12 we were being charged, we were told that the additional US$5 was for the tonic, ice, lemon and making it! We refused to pay this and, after a lot of discussion, the bill was reduced to the price quoted. Just be aware when ordering drinks!

Unfortunately, this unnecessary hassle has left us with unhappy memories of the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

we had a wonderful stay and the location was great. highly recommend

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at Eola for 4 nights during our tour of Patagonia and it was truly fantastic. There was nothing one could fault. We had a corner suite which gave us spectacular views day and night and would advise anyone to pay the extra for one of the 2 corner suites. The staff could not have been more helpful. We trekked and rode on horseback with the hotel's guide Roberto who was wonderful and very knowledgable about the area. The BBQ lamb cooking whole on spits inside a special room was fantastic. Thank you all at Eoloa.

Room Tip: Corner Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit

Address: Ruta 11 Km. 23 | Patagonia, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#1 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit is located within an "estancia" of 4,000 hectares (10,000 acres) between El Calafate, Argentina, and the Perito Moreno Glacier. With only 17 room, it offers the most exclusive accommodation of the area with a remarkably complete experience, affording a comfortable and luxurious window onto Patagonian life. Eolo... Luxury of the simple thing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eolo - Patagonia`s Spirit Hotel El Calafate
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit El Calafate, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.