We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Koi Aiken

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Koi Aiken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria Koi Aiken
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 102 N. 3534, El Calafate -, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Helsinki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Style and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here in February only one night. Hotel is right by the beach. In El Calafate you don`t have many choices. But the hotel interior was beatiful, the bar was nice, food was excellent anf the service ok. Rooms were clean and normal. The hotel lobby was really something. worth the stay if you drop there.

Room Tip: Try to tyake the lakeside room, views are beautiful of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of our tour of Patagonia. All arrangements were made through our guide service. The room we were given was large with a king bed, view of the lake, clean and plenty of hot water (really what more do you need). We arrived late in the evening from El Chaten and ate in the restaurant upstairs. It was okay, nothing special, maybe because it was towards the end of the evening, there are a ton of restaurants in town. You do get a nice welcome cocktail when you arrive. Breakfast is the standard for this end of the world; simple; cereal, toast & pastry, ham & cheese, some fruit and hot beverage to get you going.
The staff is very friendly, they wished me happy birthday, and helpful. They stored our luggage on our final day as we were out and about and let us hang out for a few hours waiting for our transfer. Once you know the drill being out of downtown is not too bad. They'll give you a voucher for a trip into town via the taxi and there is a taxi stand to get one back which runs about USD$4. A word of advice, changing money in Calafate is a pain. There are only a few ATMs which often have 50 people in line or the banks which close early. We ended up going to the "supermarket" and buying a few things in order to change some money. Come to Calafate with your pesos.
If you do not mind staying outside of town this should be a consideration. When looking at the reviews for this hotel we were a bit puzzled why nothing had been written in nearly a year. Probably because it is solidly middle of the road, not glamorous and not disgusting.

Room Tip: If you are going to the glacier for the day and order a bag lunch, go for the Vegetarian. It had tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed at the Koi Aiken at the beginning of April and we were the only guests! The hotel was due to close for the winter the following week as the "season" was coming to an end. However, a warm welcome in two ways! Firstly the friendly receptionist who offered us a glass of Calafate liqueur in white wine when we arrived and secondly the heating in the hotel was on full blast! Att times this was too hot, particularly in the corridors. Room on the first floor with a view over Lago Argentino, but also looking onto rather scrubby land and a building plot. The Koi Aiken is situated at the end of the town of Calafate with lots of building going on around. There is a path/road along the lake into town but at the time we were there it was still being constructed in parts and not particularly attractive. It is a good 20 minute brisk walk into town but the hotel offer a free (actually up to 20 pesos) taxi service either into or back from town. They will give you a voucher BUT make sure whoever phones for the taxi uses the number on the voucher otherwise like us you will end up in a taxi who is not part of this scheme and negotiations have to take place! Good breakfast and fast internet. Room and bathroom fine, good towels etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room and hopefully the whole view will be attractive once the building work is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Koi Aiken isn't much to look at and it's quite a long walk from downtown Calafate, but it's actually a really nice place to stay for a night or two. To welcome us, we were given a sort of kir royal but made with bubbly and Calafate liqueur (local berries that give the town its name). Great start, and from then it stayed good. The staff changed around a bit (on shifts?) but all were quite wonderful and really helpful. Our room only had a sideways view of Lago Argentino but facing east we had some great sunrises. It was clean and comfortable, in keeping with the rest of the hotel: no frills but really rather nice.
We walked into town beside the lake along a paved promenade that has almost been completed; great views of marsh birds and quite good exercise. Coming back we cabbed it, paying with a voucher we got from the hotel before going out. They only pay one way, but it's better than not paying at all.
They have a computer for free use, which was great for emailing, as we didn't have wifi stuff.
Ate in once, and the meal was OK but not memorable (maybe that's why I can't remember waht I had!). Strongly recommend La Cucina in Calafate, where they understand about sauces and marinating. At most other places (Argentina generally in fact) huge steaks are bunged on the barbecue and served straight onto your plate. Great if protein overload is what you want, but forget subtle flavours!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in December, 2011. Its ranking is really dubious. I would liken it to a B & B. The rooms are small and the furnishing jaded. The only redeeming points were the view and the friendly front office staff, There was an awkward incident when we dined at the hotel’s restaurant one night – we were duped by the waiter who charged us USD40 for a set meal which we later discovered from the front office staff, should have cost much less. A lesson learnt is never order anything that is not priced on the menu

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

This is a bit out of town, but is walkable along the paseo de la costanera and takes approx. 45 mins. We had a lovely lake view from our room, but the room itself was tiny and it was a bit tired. The lock on our room was a bit dodgy and we would often spend minutes in trying to unlock it was the key or the lock itself was a bit worn. If you want an out of town location which is peaceful and don't mind it being the tired look of the rooms, then stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

El Calafate is a busy place, even in the month of October. We did not get our first choice hotel and this one was offered to us instead for four nights. It is out of town in an area seemingly under continuing development.
Surprisingly, for its out-of-town sitting the rooms were on the small side, giving only just about adequate spacing for two suitcases. The room was very clean, beds comfortable and clean, but overall tired looking. The bathroom worked well but the radiator provided far too much, uncontrollable, heat.
The breakfast was modest but fine - with good cakes. The restaurant we were informed was not open - but a tour group seemingly managed to get meals served late in the evening. There was a plentiful supply of restauarnts in town.
Wifi, free, was available in the hotel but it was difficult for some unknown reason to get it functioning for the first two days (on a notebook that normally works everywhere!).
What made this hotel special for us was the reception staff, who were very friendly and helpful. Going out of their way to provide an excellent service. Including making arrangements for storage etc of baggage on our last full day. Check out the panoramic view from the tower (as at reception).
Getting into town was facilitated by the hotel providing a free taxi service - and the taxi back was relatively inexpensive and quick. Walking into town via the lakeside broadwalk is an interesting experience with views over the iceberg strewn lake against the contrast of feeding flamingos, and a variety of birds to the alert viewer. We also saw hares.
Clearly, a main reason for the visit here is for the Moreno glacier (excellent by Visit Patagonia) and the Upsala boat trip (excellent, in its modified form) where we also closely viewed Andian Condors. Highly recommended is a visit to the Laguna Nimez - a self guided tour through an excellent bird sanctuary - worth a two hour visit, which can be reached by taxi or about a 30 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Koi Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Koi Aiken

Address: Calle 102 N. 3534, El Calafate -, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Koi Aiken 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hosteria Koi Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Koi Aiken El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Koi Aiken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.