We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in El Calafate, You will not be Disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Alta Vista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Calafate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hosteria Alta Vista
Ruta Provincial 15, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Fairview, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A gem in El Calafate, You will not be Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights and wish we had stayed longer. Now this is not for everyone but if you like being outdoors, and in a great location with fantastic service then this is the place to be. The Hosteria is located on a sheep ranch and has only 7 rooms. The managers are beyond great, and you will enjoy their company. Service is suburb and food is excellent. We did not do horse back ridding but I believe it would be very good. It is a remote location but worth the trip and closer to Morino Glacier than El Calafate. You will not be disappointed ! The Hosteria has some great history and a visit to the shearing shed is unique.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at Alta Vista for 3 days in late November and we were the only 2 guests mid week. The hotel is indeed "out of the way" but that is part of the beauty of the place. The horses were wonderful, the rides spectacular. The hiking was thoroughly enjoyable. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The meals were well prepared and well portioned. Tamara and Federico were gracious hosts and very accomodating regarding any of our special requests. The service was exceptional. If hiking and horse back riding is not your ideal, then you might want to consider an alternative. Having said that, even if you don't care for those activities but would like a place to relax and chill out, this could be it. Overall, we would highly recommend Alta Vista.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Located about 30-40 minutes outside of El Calafate, Alta Vista is indeed remote... if that is what you are looking for you will enjoy every minute of it. We spent four nights there and fully enjoyed the hiking and horse riding activities offered by the Hosteria... we never ran out of things to do and our only regret was that we got to the end of each day without having found more time for vacation reading. The staff paid attention to detail and went out of their way to meet special requests. With just 7 rooms it has the ambiance of a home, we got to know other quests at cocktails before dinner and meals tasted home cooked... The sous chef shared a number of recipes with us. If you enjoy hiking and horse riding, I would urge you to by-pass el Calafate and go straight to Estancia Anita and Hosteria Alta Vista. That said, if your are not the outdoorsy type there are probably better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

My husband stayed here at the end of November. Unfortunately we were booked in at the full board rate, to include activities , which was expensive, and we actually had little time to do them as we arrived in the evening and left in the morning to look at the glacier.
It was not good value for money, the food was average, the evening meal main course being a piece of beef with potato, no vegetable or salad. The breakfast provisions were light on.
We did enjoy a short horse ride in the morning. It was really a farm stay, no luxuries. The water wasn't hot for a bath. In all overpriced for the standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights in November '11 and loved every minute! It is far away from everything but thats the whole point/experience of it. I can understand the other reviews saying its too far away etc, but you stay there knowing that. the land/estancia are just fab. we did horse riding on 2 days enjoying every minute of it. the view of the glacier from their land is unforgettable. There are no TVs, there is internet access...but its a perfect place to go, relax, eat/drink, read a book and explore and learn about the area.
The rooms are perfect, hot showers, clean, comfortable what else do you need?! The food on 2/3 days was good, we would have liked some BBQ'd food/meat at some stage but we were not hungry any day!

Frederico and Tamara who manage the guest house are a credit to it and will go out of their way for you.

all in all, if youre looking for somewhere peaceful, relaxing and special this is the spot!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Alta Vista is part of a working farm and feels more like someones home than a hotel and is in the midlle of nowhere. This is either a big plus or a big minus and for me the single most important factor to consider when choosing this hotel.

Good points
- Isloated
- 30km closer to the Moreno Glacier than El Calafate
- friendly staff

Bad points
- Isolated
- There is no opportunity to eat anywhere else unless you want to drive or get a taxi to El Calafate
- Food is expensive and there is no choice, you get what they are serving that night
- Food quality is at best average but considering what you are paying for it has to be rated as poor.
- Cheapest bottle of wine is $28 (US)

Summary, OK for one night due to its location. However, if you can handle the extra 30 mins travelling each way stop in El Calafate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We really enjoyed staying here. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect at a more expensive B&B. Also no Tv, no phone, no clock = perfect! The reception/living room has a cosy bar and space to read. the dining room serves a set meal which was always very tasty, and they accomodated the fact that we are vegetarian with ease (at least it seemed so to us.) We had packed lunches to take with us for a day at Perito Moreno and it was more than we could eat.
We enjoyed walking in the hills behind the house and there is a well marked trail. we also had an enjoyable horse ride up to see distant views of the Perito Moreno glacier, as well as condors and lots of sheep. The staff here are truely a family and it feels every bit like you are part of a working estancia right down to the sheep dogs and horses wandering on the front lawn. A really great experiance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Alta Vista

Address: Ruta Provincial 15, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostería Alta Vista is located in Estancia Anita, one of greatest extension in the region, with 28,000 sheeps and 75,000 hectares. 45 Km away from the Perito Moreno Glacier and 30 Km away from El Calafate. Incomparable landscape that surrounds its, summarizes the geography of the Patagonia: the mountain range of the Andes, the immense steppes, lakes, forests and majestic glaciers. The Hostería has horses and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteria Alta Vista Hotel El Calafate
Hosteria Alta Vista El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Alta Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hosteria Alta Vista to your Saves list