We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse ride around the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Argentino

Lago Argentino
El Calafate, Argentina
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 attractions in El Calafate
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in Glacier National Park, this 15,000-year-old lake is the largest in Argentina.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Horse ride around the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our inn at El Miyazato recommended at local place for a horse ride around the lake called Cabalgata en Patagonia. It was such a local and authentic gaucho ranch and riders. Highly recommend it for the experience, plus it even was a great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    245
    31
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Luckily for us we had a great view of this lake from our hostel (Nakel Yen), and it was lovely to wake up each morning and open the curtains to the gorgeous views!

The first thing we did in Calafate was to take a nice stroll through town and end at the lake.

Calafate sadly has a lot of stray dogs, but it was nice to be lead down to the lake by three very entusatic dogs who knew the way perfectly :P

The lake is at the bottom of the town and the view back up to town is just as picturesque, with the small quaint buildings and grassy banks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I couldn't believe how beautiful this place was. When we visited my fiance and I were the only ones there for ages. We just sat there and took the gorgeous surroundings in. Truly beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Created from Glacier Water Melt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed a cruise around this this beautiful lake offered by Marpateg. Freely floating icebergs to your left and to your right. Naturally cascading waterfalls from glaciers flowing into Lago Argentino. The water is so pure and the air so clean.when you breathe deep, it is an amazing sensation especially after spending 6 days in Buenos Aires where the air is filled exhaustion from so many cars in such a small place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
273 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Large and beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the largest fresh water lake in Argentina and is fed predominantly by melting ice from the glaciers that surround it and is part of Los Glaciares National Park. The town of El Calafate is on one shore. To visit the main attractions of Patagonia, namely the glaciers you must take the 3 glaciers boat tour Todos Glaciares.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago Argentino also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Lago Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Argentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lago Argentino to your Saves list