We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse ride around the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Argentino

Lago Argentino
, El Calafate, Argentina
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$120*
and up
Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Glacier National Park, this 15,000-year-old lake is the largest in Argentina.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Horse ride around the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our inn at El Miyazato recommended at local place for a horse ride around the lake called Cabalgata en Patagonia. It was such a local and authentic gaucho ranch and riders. Highly recommend it for the experience, plus it even was a great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,285
    525
    81
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Luckily for us we had a great view of this lake from our hostel (Nakel Yen), and it was lovely to wake up each morning and open the curtains to the gorgeous views!

The first thing we did in Calafate was to take a nice stroll through town and end at the lake.

Calafate sadly has a lot of stray dogs, but it was nice to be lead down to the lake by three very entusatic dogs who knew the way perfectly :P

The lake is at the bottom of the town and the view back up to town is just as picturesque, with the small quaint buildings and grassy banks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
456 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I couldn't believe how beautiful this place was. When we visited my fiance and I were the only ones there for ages. We just sat there and took the gorgeous surroundings in. Truly beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Created from Glacier Water Melt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed a cruise around this this beautiful lake offered by Marpateg. Freely floating icebergs to your left and to your right. Naturally cascading waterfalls from glaciers flowing into Lago Argentino. The water is so pure and the air so clean.when you breathe deep, it is an amazing sensation especially after spending 6 days in Buenos Aires where the air is filled exhaustion from so many cars in such a small place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
400 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Large and beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the largest fresh water lake in Argentina and is fed predominantly by melting ice from the glaciers that surround it and is part of Los Glaciares National Park. The town of El Calafate is on one shore. To visit the main attractions of Patagonia, namely the glaciers you must take the 3 glaciers boat tour Todos Glaciares.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago Argentino also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Lago Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Argentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.