We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day out - with snow capped mountains and small icebergs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Cristina

Estancia Cristina
Av. Libertador 1037, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 23 attractions in El Calafate
Type: Ranchs
Activities: Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Upsala Glacier is one of the largest in Los Glaciares National Park. To sail through the Argentino Lake among icebergs and mountains and then visit Estancia Cristina is an interesting combination of nature, adventure, history, and pleasure.This full day program offers alternatives such as those who prefer a quite day of touring and history as well as those who look forward to activities with adventure like trekking and riding a four wheel drive.The excursions that are surrounded by the Andes mountains, glaciers and Argentino Lake leads us to get in touch with a natural, unique, remote environment, with culture and lifestyle of the pioneers and the interesting relationship of them with famous explorers of past century.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Excellent day out - with snow capped mountains and small icebergs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This for us was a long but well worth day out. After about a 3/4 hour bus trip we boarded our catamaran and chose to sit upstairs firstly across the lake and then towards the glacier Upsala where we cruised among some small icebergs. It was the beginning of March and so at the end of the season but we were lucky to see them and with the reflection of the sky there were some amazing shades of blue. It was a comfortable boat and we were given ample time for photos with the lake and snow capped mountains behind. We motored then to Estancia Christina where we were put into groups depending on what you wished to do for the day e.g four wheel drive to a glacier. We chose to do the waterfall walk which we really enjoyed as it was a glorious day and from the top of the waterfall we had a wonderful view back to the water. You can buy food as there is a restaurant but we had brought our lunch with us and so sat down by the river. Later we were taken for a walk to the tiny church, graveyard and the sheering shed which has been turned into a museum and given some very interesting background information. You can even stay at Estancia Cristina. Perhaps the only con might be that the boat left about 6 to accommodate those on different tours which meant quite a wait at the dock and boat. Apart from that we enjoyed it very much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for shearing your experience with us. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    157
    47
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the most intense, beautiful, and unique experience I ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When I was planning my trip to Argentina, heard about a tour through the icebergs in the Lake Argentina in the Calafate. But… I wanted more! Although I was planning on visiting the Perito Moreno Glacier, I was looking for a different tour and found it in Estancia Cristina. A one day trip for Calafate. The excitement began on the port before leaving and never ended. Just being in the lake around icebergs that looked like they were carved to form beautiful structures was enough, but the trip was just beginning.
After arriving in this isolated paradise in the middle of the glacier, we took a 4x4 to get to the top of the mountain. Amazing views! Then we walk and the geology of the place was incredible. Looking at the rocks you feel like you are in another planet, maybe in Mars. After getting to the top, the spectacular view of the Upsala glacier is a breathtaking experience. It is one of the most intense, beautiful, and unique experiences you will ever have. If you have in your bucket list to see a glacier, this is an excellent trip.
My recommendation, ask your travel agent to add this one day tour to the traditional “package” they will sell you that includes the Perito Moreno. It is worth every single dollar you pay for it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for shearing with us your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Full day tour!! Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous view from the top of the mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our 4x4 trip to the top of the mountain was fun...our driver/guide was excellent and very knowledgeable and passionate about the environment at the Estancia. The view after the walk to the top was one of the most spectacular sights I've ever seen...with mountain tops, glaciers, gorgeous blue lake and even an avalanche 'plume'!! Also enjoyed the lunch and the walk to see the salmon swimming upstream to spawn. Don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your comment! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the ride and the views.
Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“k”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked three days at the Estancia Cristina through Alejandro Varrente at Breaking Trails. It is a magical place, with views that go on forever. The rooms were very lovely with views of the mountains, and the meals were delicious. An excursion to the glacier in a four-wheel drive vehicle, followed by a hike through the canyon of fossils was spectacular. Also memorable were the horseback rides, one of which included a barbecue lunch prepared by the charming gaucho by a lagoon. Because it is located in a national park, there is nothing but astonishing landscapes for miles in every direction.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quite a history! Be sure to visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sheep shearing once happened here and so did many mountaineers travel through here. For those of us even now, it is a wonderful place to stop and see the scenery at a remote location and have delicious hot meals served to us. Sort of a paradise in the middle of nowhere! I took the 4x4 ride an additional 45 minutes away to see another edge of the glacier and some interesting geology and fossils. Would have been even better if I could have stayed a few days here, but not this time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Mary for your comment!! We will be waiting you at our exclusive Lodge your next time at El Calafate!!! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Cristina also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Estancia Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Estancia Cristina to your Saves list