We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view from the top of the mountains!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Cristina

Estancia Cristina
Av. Libertador 1037, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 22 attractions in El Calafate
Type: Ranchs
Activities: Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Upsala Glacier is one of the largest in Los Glaciares National Park. To sail through the Argentino Lake among icebergs and mountains and then visit Estancia Cristina is an interesting combination of nature, adventure, history, and pleasure.This full day program offers alternatives such as those who prefer a quite day of touring and history as well as those who look forward to activities with adventure like trekking and riding a four wheel drive.The excursions that are surrounded by the Andes mountains, glaciers and Argentino Lake leads us to get in touch with a natural, unique, remote environment, with culture and lifestyle of the pioneers and the interesting relationship of them with famous explorers of past century.
Berwyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous view from the top of the mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our 4x4 trip to the top of the mountain was fun...our driver/guide was excellent and very knowledgeable and passionate about the environment at the Estancia. The view after the walk to the top was one of the most spectacular sights I've ever seen...with mountain tops, glaciers, gorgeous blue lake and even an avalanche 'plume'!! Also enjoyed the lunch and the walk to see the salmon swimming upstream to spawn. Don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your comment! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the ride and the views.
Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    155
    47
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“k”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked three days at the Estancia Cristina through Alejandro Varrente at Breaking Trails. It is a magical place, with views that go on forever. The rooms were very lovely with views of the mountains, and the meals were delicious. An excursion to the glacier in a four-wheel drive vehicle, followed by a hike through the canyon of fossils was spectacular. Also memorable were the horseback rides, one of which included a barbecue lunch prepared by the charming gaucho by a lagoon. Because it is located in a national park, there is nothing but astonishing landscapes for miles in every direction.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quite a history! Be sure to visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sheep shearing once happened here and so did many mountaineers travel through here. For those of us even now, it is a wonderful place to stop and see the scenery at a remote location and have delicious hot meals served to us. Sort of a paradise in the middle of nowhere! I took the 4x4 ride an additional 45 minutes away to see another edge of the glacier and some interesting geology and fossils. Would have been even better if I could have stayed a few days here, but not this time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Mary for your comment!! We will be waiting you at our exclusive Lodge your next time at El Calafate!!! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A gem in the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arriving by a boat ride through amazing icebergs we approached Estancia Christina. We spent 2 nights here with Backroads. The rooms were lovely, very cozy. We were in the middle of a huge valley with spectacular views in all directions. A former ranch turned into a national park. A absolute must is a hike through the fossil canyon. Take a four wheel drive to the hut above the fossil canyon and hike back through the canyon to the lodge. Horseback riding was spectacular also. The hike to the waterfall was gorgeous. This is a very special place. We were blessed with mostly good weather which was a huge factor. Te food was reasonable especially considering how remote you are.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad to know that you stayed at our exclusive Lodge, and that you enjoyed all the activities included. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to EC on a day trip a couple of weeks ago at the end of February and with only two days in El Calafate, we took a lot of time choosing which trips to do. We decided to do this one and Big Ice and both were 5* days.

This trip is expensive - about GBP130 each but when you go, you see why. There is a bus transfer from your hotel to the small port where you get on a modern boat which has plenty of capacity, and travel for about 3 hours to the estancia - it takes this long because they take a big detour to see the icebergs from a reasonably close distance.

I should say at this point that we did the discovery tour because I think itineraries differ, and I note someone moaning they had to kill 4 hours by themselves - not something we had to worry about, although I'd have been deliriously happy killing 4h there - it is stunningly beautiful, and if you aren't awed by natural beauty then you really shouldn't go on this trip. If you can't do without a mobile phone signal or wi-fi then this isn't the trip for you.

Anyway, after arriving, we were given a tour of the museum and a bit of a talk - it is slightly interesting, especially if you are English because the people founding the estancia were from Lymington, and endured incredible struggles - not least the Argentine government taking the ranch from them about 30 year ago - presumably in relation to the Falklands war.

We were then taken down to the beautiful river which is so pure you can drink it and I believe you can fish for trout and salmon if you stay there. Lots of opportunities for stunning pictures.

After the talk, we had lunch - we'd pre-paid to have the lunch, and yes it was a bit pricey but it was fine - empanadas, lamb stew, bread, wine, dessert...all perfectly fine. Each couple/group gets a named table so plenty of space and overlooking great scenery. You're waited on and can buy extra wine - we bought a second glass which we drank outside sat on the pasture.

After lunch, we got into the 4x4 for the v bumpy uphill ride for 45 mins to the lookout point. Great scenery on the way, and at the top the rock is stunning where it has been carved and polished by ice thousands of years ago - great colours. Then a short walk and the view of the glacier is breathtaking, with condors flying around. Our trip was slightly marred by one couple who decided this was great trip to take a baby on and it cried and cried which was a shame given the silence and peace up there. It was sunny and t-shirt only weather when we went, and we'd have actually preferred shorts as it must have been over 20 degrees C.

The boat ride back is shorter because there is no detour but it is still a long day - about 12 hours from start to finish.

On reflection, this could have been the best day of our trip (which included Rio and carnival and lots of other great things) - the beauty, and the clean air, the horses grazing, the silence (apart from a screaming baby) were all fantastic, especially since we work in central London.

We understand you can stay there overnight, and I think it is pricey but I would do it knowing what I know now. Assuming nice weather, I'd happily spend days hiking or mountain biking or fishing or horse riding or even just sitting in the sunshine playing with their kitten and dog - it would be a great place to fill your lungs with pure air, and just enjoy the peace, quiet and beauty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Estancia. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your day there. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Cristina also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Estancia Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Estancia Cristina to your Saves list