We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to do it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upsala Glacier

Upsala Glacier
El Calafate, Argentina
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$107*
and up
Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in El Calafate
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 37 miles long, this glacier is considered one of the longest in South America.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Have to do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

How can a describe my trip to Upsala Glacier:
- Amazing
- Beautiful
- An experience out of this world

If you have the opportunity, do it! We took the one day tour with Estancia Cristina, but if you have the opportunity, stay there. Only open in summer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    214
    56
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“My Favourite Glacier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I may be biased as my room in the hotel we stayed at was called 'Upsala'. But in my honest opinion, this was the most spectacular site. It was massive and truly amazing, i was gobsmacked just by the sheer size of the whole site. Beautiful!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
273 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Larger but less well known than Perito Merino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The history of Upsala Glacier is interesting as the glacier is not named after the person who "discovered" it but the University that funded the person (except the University is Uppsala). The Upsala glacier is larger than its more famous cousin, Perito Merino and until recently it was receding. From the boat on Lake Argentino you get a good feel of the massive wall of the glacier as well as the ice bergs that break off it. It is worth doing the Todo Glaciares Boat tour that takes you to 3 glaciers but it is a long day on the bus and the boat. It is best if you take some lunch with you as there is limited choice of food on the boat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Boat ride on the lake...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We did the glacier boat ride visiting the Upsala, Perito Moreno and Spegazzini Glaciers.
Amazing views. Must do this tour when visiting patagonia!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredible Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

the journey across the lake is scenically breathtaking with every corner more incredible than the next... onto the landing place in a quiet protected valley with the historically significant sheep farm and then onto amazing rock formations, beautiful alpine wilderness, the soaring condors and then the glacier... WOW!!! overlooking the glacial lake with the glacier in the back grounds is mind blowing... yes its "touristy" but you just have to look past it as this is an absolute must visit destination...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upsala Glacier also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Upsala Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upsala Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.