We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia

Save Saved
You added Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estancia 25 de Mayo, El Calafate 9405 , Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Choose instead from several around with better management.

My first room, 223, smelled of mildew with a carpet too dirty to walk on barefoot which I remedied by placing bath towels end to end. Unable to feel safe on ground floor with the windows open, I fretted an hour before being so irritated by the foul odor, I gave up and moved to 228. This room smelled better but again, dirty carpet. Another of my pet peeves - the lack of a washable mattress pad- I solved by remaking the bed with the spare blanket under the sheet.

Breakfast was the very worst during two weeks in Chile and Argentina, for instance, only two one liter carafes of coffee for many tables.

A long walk from excellent downtown restaurants, the hotel will refund your taxi fare with a receipt.

WiFi available in the lobby.

But do visit El Calafate. Moreno Glacier is spectacular!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
51
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Kau Yatun is a very nice hotel well located in El Calafate.

Localization :
Entrance of El Calafate, 5min to town center by car. Surrounded by small park with grass and animals.

Hotel/Lobby :
Nice architecture. Friendly and helpful people. Don't know about their level of english as I speak spanish.

Rooms :
Very big rooms with nice bathroom. Huge beds, very confortable.

Restaurant :
Very nice breakfast. Did not have dinner. Lunch at the bar is a nice option but the food is so so.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — food at the bar
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

A nice place. The rooms and bathrooms are a little basic (mostly just a big dated), but the lobby area is really nice.

You can borrow their bikes and cycle into town.

Their dinner and show is quite entertainging, although a little expensive, but worth it for the folk singing and dancing!

It's a great place to stay if you want to be fairly close to the centre, but if you're going to get taxis anyway, then there are more luxurious places to stay at reasonable prices e.g. The Design Suites.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

This place is one of our best memories from Argentina: the location is great: walking distance from downtown and yet calm and in the middle of trees. Mountain bikes are at free disposal.
The staff was very nice and helpful.
And the best is that this hotel is part of the estancia 25 de Mayo: thus you may go on a guided tour in the huge and amazing countryside, starting behind the hotel, to "La Seccion". And there, it's just paradise. Savage horses, birds, "vigunas": and only the sky and the mountains. We enjoyed a wonderful journey (half day) in this peaceful and gorgeous surroundings.
Of course, most of the tourists go to El Calafate for a trekking in the Glaciares. But they miss the best part of it if they don't discover this estancia.
Although prices are not those of a B&B, rooms, food and service are well above the rates.
My 11 years old son really enjoyed the place, its lawn and birds and dogs.
I would definitely recommend the place to friends.

  • Liked — Location; comfort; discovery of the wild life
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Pros: beautiful, large, well-appointed rooms, attractive grounds and public rooms, good location for walking to town, excellent breakfast, friendly dogs.

Cons: expensive, room was very hot even though heat wasn't on and sleeping with the window open wasn't an option since we were at ground level, the staff was distant and my impression was they were not that interested in assisting guests. Also, although I have no proof, I have a strong suspicion that the price we were charged for the taxi and driver we arranged was inflated so the hotel could take a cut.

  • Liked — location and setting
  • Disliked — staff and price
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. Really enjoyed our stay - the grounds are very pretty, the staff pleasant, and the rooms are nice. This place is on the edge of the town, takes about 15 mins to walk - and about 5 mins to walk to the La Tablita restaurant (of note - the map of El Calafate in the lonley planet has this hotel in the wrong part of town) . When we went on our glacier tours (we arranged these throught he hotel) and the bus picked up people from the other hotels -we thought we were lucky to be staying at our place - as many are on the top of the hill, surrounded by dust, and i would think it would be a long walk into town for dinner. We ate at the restaurant one night - it was expensive and food average. Watch out for the bar tab - as drinks are very expenisve. On the whole really liked this place and would definately stay here again if ever in town!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

Kau Yatun has much to recommend it. The service is impeccable and the restaurant cuisine is excellent. But the unmodernised rooms scarcely merit four stars and the hotel is no longer el campo. El Cafalate's sprawling urbanisation has enveloped the grounds of the old estancia, and Kau Yatun now sits within a straggly townscape, overlooked by the aesthetic horrors of the new Kempinski hotel.

If you need a base for a couple of nights, with attentive service and excellent food, choose Kau Yatan. But if its Patagonian landscape and good value for money you're after, opt for one of the estancias away from the tourist monoglut of El Calafate.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia

Address: Estancia 25 de Mayo, El Calafate 9405 , Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#31 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 6 blocks from downtown El Calafate, Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia brings you closer to the history of the pioneers of the Patagonia Argentina. From the hand of the protagonists, stories and customs will make you understand even better the magic of this wonderful place enjoying the comforts of a 4-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kau Yatun Hotel El Calafate
Kau Yatun El Calafate
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.