We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrific but a pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia

Save Saved
You added Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estancia 25 de Mayo, El Calafate 9405 , Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Berwyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not terrific but a pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has a nice setting on the outskirts of El Calafate and is a longish (but doable) walk into town. The reception was nice with most of our party getting a small glass of juice and a bouquet of flowers. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable but was a little dated looking. I loved the towel heater in the bathroom! We liked being able to open the window but a screen would have been nice. We had 3 dinners there which were ok...some nights were better than others. The breakast buffet was also ok tho I don't eat eggs so there weren't alot of other choices available. We didn't see the estancia operation except from a distance watched the sheep herding demonstration which others were participating in. Overall, it was fine....but not outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having traveled throughout Argentina and South America over a 6-month period, we can say that Kau Yatun was, by far, our worst experience. Simply pathetic. First, they took our credit card information by email and then never responded. After several unanswered email messages over a few days we finally called to inquire whether we had a reservation or not. We finally stayed there (and paid for boxed lunches for our day trip that were entirely inedible!) And when we returned (with small children) for one remaining reserved night, they had no rooms available. Throughout the whole experience, there was never a sense that they understood things had gone very wrong. With lots of lovely places to stay in El Calafate, this place is not worth it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very simple but cosy Hotel. If you chose a regular suite, it will be small, but with a very confortable bed, good shower and great bath amenities. No TV but with internet in the rooms. Don't miss the visit to Estancia 25 de Mayo, the farm where the hotel is located. Enjoy the guided visit with Mr. Charlie and dinner. Best experience ever!!!!

Room Tip: If you like big rooms, ask for the suites. This is a Estancia, and all rooms make you feel like you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for leaving your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel Kau Yatun is a strange mix of things.Is it a great hotel or just average? El Calafate is a remote town and looks like it. The Hotel was once an Estancia and looks like it. The surrounds are lovely and the hotel is on the surface quite nice. It is comfortable enough but it is dated. The excitement of arriving in Patagonia and beginning our tour around the region added some gloss to this hotel. I can't rate other hotels in El Calafate so can't compare hotels. This one seems great but has its moments. Dinner at the hotel on our first night seemed a great idea and it was excellent. The dessert was sublime so we went back the next night all excited about another great meal and it was very ordinary. Different chef!! Yes we were offered a poor substitute of a dessert. Shattered we were!The wine list was only average with only 1 white and 1 red available by the glass and at a hefty price per glass. The trainee waitress was delightful and tried ever so hard but who would have thought our delightful dinner on the first night would go from chocolates to boiled lollies the next evening and then breakfast in the morning was abysmal. What had they done to the scrambled eggs to make them smell of something far removed from eggs.They were simply not edible.The rest of breakfast was barely average This place could be great but it fails. It has good things like juice and flowers at reception but then with no vase the flowers die. Go figure! The receptionist was ok at times but couldn't care less about us on checking out. Our credit cards would not work on her machine and we had to scramble to find cash which being US dollars we had to exchange at the hotels poor exchange rate. It was obvious she couldn't be bothered to check her systems and work out why our cards were rejecting. Next stop in far more remote areas the same cards worked very well. Again go figure? The surrounds are very nice on the farm with sheep and animals grazing and the mountains in the background are nice but use Trip Advisor wisely here and compare hotels. If others rate better look closely at them particularly if you see a good comment re breakfast as it was lousy here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment and hope to see in the near future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Positives:
- Grounds are lovely, located on a working sheep farm. So we spent time petting the dogs and watching them herd
- Walkable, bikable (bikes provided free of charge) into town
- Restaurant and bar located inside
- Nice sized rooms and bathrooms

Cons:
- Our room was really hot (stayed in Feb) and there wasn't any A/C or fan. We debated bugs vs. heat and ended up sharing our room with some big moths in order to let some of the cool air in through the non-screened in windows
- It would have been nice to be closer to town since the area isn't the best walk or biking spot

Overall, from what I've seen in my month in Buenos Aires, it is about par for the course.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Kau Yatun during a two-week trip through swatches of Argentina, and while mostly the hotels we stayed at provided fine accommodation, this was actually an attraction. We arrived to a warm reception including a glass of juice and a tiny bouquet of flowers grown on the grounds. We later visited the sumptuous gardens the flowers came from and watched dogs putting a herd of sheep through its paces. Kau Yatun is a working ranch. It's a nice walking distance to the main attractions of El Calafate and the walk includes a path of poplars and fields where geese and horses feed. Our first-floor room was airy and we loved flinging open the windows to smell and hear nature. OK, I personally would have loved a TV, but without that, I read in the lovely lobby and went for walks. Also the restaurant in the hotel is great. We ate more there than in any of the places in town and can praise the service, the wine, the lamb!! and the Patagonian salad. We wished our stay were longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Charming features of tis hotel that was a ranch -- sheep mowing the lawn and a rooster crowing in the early AM and a pleasant lobby -- cannot make up for the worn condition of the rooms. Mine had no light or view. It was not clean and everything was shabby. The safe didn't work. The plumbing knobs were loose and friends had a flood in their bathroom. Staff don't help with changing rooms although I asked two. The restaurant was OK. Breakfast average. Cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Ask to see room or select ahead. They are not uniform in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for leaving your comments hope to see you soon for our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia

Also Known As:
Kau Yatun Hotel El Calafate
Kau Yatun El Calafate
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Address: Estancia 25 de Mayo, El Calafate 9405 , Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#31 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 6 blocks from downtown El Calafate, Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia brings you closer to the history of the pioneers of the Patagonia Argentina. From the hand of the protagonists, stories and customs will make you understand even better the magic of this wonderful place enjoying the comforts of a 4-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.