We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some disorganization at an overall decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sierra Nevada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sierra Nevada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Nevada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Del Libertador 1888, El Calafate CP 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Some disorganization at an overall decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We overall enjoyed our stay Hotel Sierra Nevada. It’s in a good location at the end of town and pretty much next door to the amazing Pura Vida Restobar. Our room had a nice view towards Lago Argentina and some horses, even though our room faced a busy street. Although a little older-looking, the room was bright and airy with a vaulted ceiling. Plenty of space for our luggage, a small TV in one corner, and sliding glass door towards the views. Bathroom was decent too.

The lobby is quite nice with several sitting areas and squashy sofas. There are only two very slow computers for guests in this area. A very friendly calico cat greeted me on morning outside the hotel, and it brushed around my legs as I waited for our bus. Breakfast was average: lots of canned fruits, pastries, and I believe oatmeal or something.

The front desk spoke decent English, but apparently there was enough of a misunderstanding that on the first day of touring, they gave away our paid Tour Lunches to some other couple! We had been provided very clear instructions on what our box lunches should look like, and when the staff realized the mistake, they were quick to apologize and make us one from in-house.

Our stay lasted 3 nights. As we had done a 7-day trekking tour before arriving in El Calafate, we had them do our laundry; However, they forgot to charge us extra for it because we didn’t see it on the receipt after checking out. Oh well, their loss.

I’d stay here again if I ever come back to El Calafate. Since it seemed they had some disorganization regarding our lunches and laundry, be sure to do some follow-up if necessary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We welcome your comments. We regret any inconvenience suffered by you, we are working to improve.
We hope you choose us on your next trip.

Regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    118
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
106
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sierra Nevada hotel for 3 nights and found it a very relaxing, friendly place with spacious comfortable rooms and a wonderful buffet breakfast. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and spoke very good English to offset my embarrassingly poor Spanish ! I also enjoyed a fantastic evening meal in their restaurant and a great packed lunch for a day's excursion. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel if I was ever lucky enough to return to such a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback .

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clean, comfy if a bit worn in places. Good location, right next door to Pura Vida restaurant and only 5-10 mins from downtown. Easy walk to lake.

Two things let this hotel down in my opinion, first the breakfast buffet is very limited and of poor quality. Secondly, I really dislike sheets and blankets for bedding and would prefer a duvet.

There is some noise from a nearby road at night, so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we will work to improve our service.

Best regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh haiin Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were 3 nights at the hotel
Celebrating our anniversary day ,the hotel is wonderful
People from reception r kind & were very very helpfully with all our requests
Rooms were clean
Lobby beautiful with various kinds of sofas to enjoy with
View amazing from the garden , lobby and restaurant

TX !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedback

best regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sierra Nevada has a great location on the main street and within walking distance from the primary shopping/restaurant areas. The room was spacious and the small balcony was an added plus. The breakfast was very good and the view of the lake from the restaurant area is great. The common areas (reception/lounge) free computers/WIFI were nice and the staff was very helpful. The hotel even stored some of our luggage while we traveled outside of El Calafate for two days. Overall a very nice hotel in El Calafate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and hope see you again in our hotel

regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very pretty hotel and in a good situation from which to visit the city of El Calafate. Unfortunately we were let down by the uncomfortable mattress and pillows on the bed. It was also rather noisy as the main street is outside and the two nights we stayed there were a lot of "boy racers" in town. Breakfast was also unmemorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We apreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience that you suffer, we'll take care of that

Regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights in peak season, and Sierra Nevada Hotel was a very pleasant welcome in the nice little touristic city of El Calafate. The personnel was kind and professional, the room was very large and pretty quite, wifi perfectly working, breakfast ok and the location just excellent: right on the main street but just enough away from the noisy summer time night life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We apreciate your feddback.

Regards


Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Nevada

Address: Av. Del Libertador 1888, El Calafate CP 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Nevada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Sierra Nevada Hotel El Calafate
Hotel Sierra Nevada El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sierra Nevada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.