We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sierra Nevada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sierra Nevada to your Saves list
Hotel Sierra Nevada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Del Libertador 1888, El Calafate CP 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very pretty hotel and in a good situation from which to visit the city of El Calafate. Unfortunately we were let down by the uncomfortable mattress and pillows on the bed. It was also rather noisy as the main street is outside and the two nights we stayed there were a lot of "boy racers" in town. Breakfast was also unmemorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We apreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience that you suffer, we'll take care of that

Regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    159
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
69
145
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights in peak season, and Sierra Nevada Hotel was a very pleasant welcome in the nice little touristic city of El Calafate. The personnel was kind and professional, the room was very large and pretty quite, wifi perfectly working, breakfast ok and the location just excellent: right on the main street but just enough away from the noisy summer time night life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We apreciate your feddback.

Regards


Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights 2 weeks ago and enjoyed every moment. Everything was fantastic from the room, staff and food and the area. It was one of the few places on our visit that it was sad to leave. I would definitely consider coming back to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback.

best regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three days there in the beggining of January. The hotel is situated 10-15 minutes walking from the city center. But there is a great restaurant next to it which I highly recommend. There is also a small bakery just across the street. Prices for laundry are good too. Breakfast is average, the fruit salad didn't taste fresh. You can use their bikes to ride around Costanera, a calm avenue by the lake. The down sides would be the carpet floors. As I am alergic that didn't work for me. My room in particular smelled like smoke and as it is located in a very green area be aware of insects and spiders in and out of the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We aprecciate your feed back we are working to improve our service every day. Smoking is not allowed in the hotel, but we have guests who still do, we apologize for that.

Best Regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very good hotel, spacious rooms with classic furniture.Well maintained garden. Friendly staff, good location. The restaurant is ok but not contemporary. We had a pleasant stay. The hotel deserves 1 extra star in its rating !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We apreciate your feedback.

Happy New Year

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is lovely, only a 3 star but really good service.A nice self-service breakfast and pleasant staff. It's a 5 minute walk to the shops, along the main road with a good local restaurant next door. Beautiful views of the garden, adequate sized rooms and a nice bathroom. Perfect for this cute little place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We appreciate your feedback.

Merry Christmas

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel. It was a very quiet location with a pleasant garden. The room was spacious and light but sadly lacking storage. There were no shelves or drawers to store anything so we had to live out of our suitcases. Breakfast was limited and poorly serviced. Dinner in the restaurant was good on the night we ate there. The service was good. Although on the main street it is a good 20 minutes walk from the centre of town, and the footways where they exist, are in a dreadful condition. Best not to walk in the dark. It is definitely not a hotel for people with mobility problems as it is on a sloping site and as you move through the hotel to the bedrooms there are a lot of unavoidable steps.
If visiting again we would probably try a find a hotel nearer the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Gerente at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. Sorry for the inconvenience during your stay, we are working to not happen again.
Best regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Nevada

Address: Av. Del Libertador 1888, El Calafate CP 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Nevada 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Sierra Nevada Hotel El Calafate
Hotel Sierra Nevada El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sierra Nevada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.