We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Loma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Loma Hotel to your Saves list
La Loma Hotel
Julio A. Roca 849, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

very ugly, not clean, ok location, but quite depressing and awful

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
16
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

Hi, back from Argentina after having a great time in the Calafate.
Amazing landscapes to see and enjoy (don`t forget your sweater !!!).
I spent a week or so in a nice place: La Loma hotel. Service and food were good. Clean rooms and friendly people. You can even enjoy a swimming pool.
Price is good according to what you get for it.
A place and a hotel to be recomended.

  • Liked — swimming pool
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

You can trust the description in "Lonely Planet" again.
El Calafate is a remote town and that is why things are more expensive there.
My room was lovely. I felt that La Loma was very good value and the staff were very helpful and enabled me to make the most of the two days I had in El Calafate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

this hotel claims to be much more than it is. if you agree to pay 100 usd for a better youth-hostel this is your place (i guess about 20 usd would be a fair price for this service). some rooms are empty (only a bed...nothing (!) else), others are smelly and the third ones are furnished in colors you would not wish your enemy.

however, all of them are noisy and if you want to be part of the most intimate conversations of the people in the neighbouring room- here you have it.

i consider this the worst money-value deal of the entire trip to chile and argentina. and i am afraid i am not alone with this observation.

my recommendation: go somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

I stayed with my girlfriend for two nights in january 2006 paying around 300 pesos per night for a double room. The rooms were quite horrible. The rooms in the wing that looks opposite to the lago argentino are particularly horrible, small and smelly.

We therefore decided to upgrade to a room in the lago argentino wing. Here the rooms were much bigger although you could still feel the smell of humidity. The rooms were not well kept. The bed cloth was stained and dirty and we could not have a hot shower on our first night. The following day we then moved to another room which was nicer (yet it did smell) and had hot water.

The breakfast was quite cheap. It included instant orange juice, that for a hotel that charges almost 100 dollars per night in argentina seems quite poor.

It is a pitty that the hotel is so poorly run because the environment is lovely and the common rooms have a lot of charm. Unfortuntely the rest is not up to standard.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2005

I'd STRONGLY recommend steering clear of this sketchy hotel. Fellow travelers have told me that there are many other good hotel options in El Calafate, and I'm sure that anyone could find some wonderful suggestions here at tripadvisor.com. The service that we encountered at La Loma was rediculously bad for any price range, much less a hotel that claims to cater to higher-end clientele. And do think twice before giving La Loma your credit card number to hold a reservation. Their stringent cancellation policy would be difficult for Harry Houdini to escape from. This hotel was operated in very poor taste...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Loma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loma Hotel

Address: Julio A. Roca 849, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#32 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Loma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Loma Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Loma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.