We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home base for glacier excursions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solares Del Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solares Del Sur to your Saves list
Solares Del Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
new york city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice home base for glacier excursions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Solares Del Sur in September 2010 and it was a very pleasant surprise. Sergio and the staff helped us plan everything before we got there and took care of all our excursions. Through Solares, we booked the All Glaciers Boat Tour and Glacier Mini Trek (in that order, one excursion per day) and we had a fabulous time.

The hotel is more cabin-like and the rooms are very clean and well kept. They are spacious and you have a great view of the water. They provide with breakfast the night before(you have a kitchen in your room for toast, cereal, and juice) and the hot water and heating is just fine. Price of the rooms are very affordable. There is a restaurant if you don't want to leave the premises and there is internet(one computer) on site.

The town is approximately a 25 minute walk. We're from NYC, so that's not a big deal, however, I can see how others may view this as a setback. Instead, call a cab! It's roughly 15 pesos, equivalent to $3.25 USD, so, this shouldn't be a deterrent from staying at this hotel.

Hasta pronto, Sergio!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    135
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
185
160
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed there in May and really liked the cabin. The heater was working well, there's hot water, everything was clean. There's a small kitchen where you can prepare breakfast. The rate was reasonable. There's a free wifi inside the cabin, but you have to bring your own laptop/phone. There's a small fee for using a common computer in the front desk area (I don't know how much because we brought the laptop).

The only disadvantage is it's a little far from downtown (5 min by taxi). If you're going in summer, you might be able to take a stroll back from downtown, but we were there in winter, so we decided to take taxi (about 12 pesos). The staffs were nice and they helped us book the excursions and explain everything. Email communication prior to the trip was also great. The cabin faces Lake Argentino, so you get the view of the lake when you wake up - we watched sunrise on the lake and it was amazing... I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

These spacious cabins provide a great deal for a family, especially if you like to do your
own cooking and save on restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

We rented a car so getting around was no problem. If you're not renting one, this
location isn't ideal, since it's outside the city center.

They have a nice restaurant on site, but their lamb-centric menu was a bit heavy for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed in a very nice cabin. The service is excellent and the view from just outside the cabin is even greater. We could see flamingos in the beautiful Lago Argentino. Solares Del Sur is a great base for going to see the glaciers, and in the evening the restaurant offers really great food and wine.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We came all the way from Denmark to Calefate. Our frind in Bournos Aires found Solares Del Sur for us. It was a very nice place. We had some nice days there. And the town is also nice.

The people at the hotel were sweet and nice. They did all they could, so we could have some nice dayes there.

We can for sure recoment Solares Del Sur. And if it is possible, we will come back some day.

Best regards

Family Sandbeck from Denmark.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Solares del Sur is definately a good option for those who have a car in Calafate. The cabins are cozy, quiet and have a nice view. The rooms are comfortable and have a balcony, where the Lake Argentina can be seen. Besides that, there is a kitchen in the cabin, so you can prepare your own meal if you want to. Sergio and Martin - the guys that run the business - are nice and very helpful, they helped me to organize the excursions and make reservations whenever was necessary. It worth mencioning also that there is a good restaurant in the hotel, what is very convenient.
Nevertheless, the hotel is a bit far from downtown - around 2,5 km. If you go downtown by feet, you should consider the cold wind that blows ininterruptedly in the city. The distance is not a huge problem although, once the taxi ride to/from downtown is quite cheap (10 pesos). The only thing that seems to need some improvement is the breakfast, which is not very diversified.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Very comfortable log cabins, great staff (esp Marteen Fernandez, spoke excellent english, organised a couple of tours, and even assisted with last minute booking for a Boca match in Buenos Aires on the day we were flying out) and a very nice restaurant on the premises made for a excellent 4 night stay in El Calafete.

It is a decent half hour walk into the main street, or a few pesos and 2 minutes by cab, but the walk is pleasant enough if the weather is right.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#11 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Solares Del Sur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solares Del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.