We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solares Del Sur

Save Saved
You added Solares Del Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solares Del Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved staying here. We felt like it was an incredible deal to have a cute cabin all to ourselves for such a good price. Breakfast was delivered the night before and the staff were very nice. The only down side is that it's a bit out of town. But if you're willing to walk or get a taxi it's over all a beautiful location overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    122
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
159
142
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a heck of a time finding this place because the address provided was a block off its actual location; darned difficult to find after dark, especially if they don't answer the phone to help (which they didn't)! (Hint: seek a phone book.) Laundry service was great. Loved the spacious cabin, kitchen table, double bed room, twins.Great for small family. Warm. Good garden, nice view. Good parking. Breakfast breads somewhat stale; appreciated ham and cheese the second day. Coffee press needed repairing, but coffee was great.

Room Tip: The one-storey cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here as a newlywed couple on our honey moon. The staff was attentive and gave us a nice champaign as a present.

This place does a few things better than others. They bring you the breakfast the day before which makes it fantastic if you want sleep in that day. The breakfast is also above average compared to other places where we stayed.

The 'cabin' we got was more like a town house. There's a dining area, bathroom, and kitchen downstairs. Upstairs is a master bedroom and a smaller bedroom with two single person beds (great place for luggage). The style is very rustic with wood almost everywhere. Wifi worked as well even though we had the room farthest in the building.

There's also a restaurant on site which we never tried. But the yard is well maintained with roses and grass.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile


We stayed here for three nights, and one night on our return from El Cheltan, there were 4 adults in our group, the cabins were clean, a bit tight as the previous reviewer had mentioned, but we were out most of the day. The previous reviews are actuate, breakfast is delivered at night. It is a good 20 minute walk into town, but the cabs cost around A$25.

The restaurant has a good selection of food, with vegetarian options.

All staff were very friendly.

.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We used Solares Del Sur as a base for our trips to and from Chile's Torres del Paine, El Chalten and to see the Perito Moreno glacier (twice) from El Calafate. We stayed in their beautiful, comfortable cabins surrounded by beautiful roses, jasmines and other flowers. We got to know Martin and the other staff and it felt like friendly family-- at a respectful distance though-- every time we returned. Martin spoke excellent English, was very welcoming and fun, and a very hard worker who would do everything to please. He made sure we were taken care of, helped make sure we had transportation when we needed it and made sure we felt comfortable.

It was nice having the breakfast stuff delivered the night before to our room, so we could eat at our own convenience. We loved walking down the hill to the lake and seeing the flamingos and walking into town along the walkway that follows the lake shore. We loved being out of town and ate every dinner at their excellent restuarant with a magnificent view with ever changing colors of water, mountains and hills. You will not go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here with four other guys for two nights in December. The place was tight, but comfortably fit each of us in our own bed. Got in late the first night and enjoyed a lamb stew cooked in the restaurant. Delicious! The room included breakfast (simple breads, cereal, coffee, juice) and the DirecTV let us watch the New England Patriots game. Lastly, Martin was an unbelievable concierge/host, helping us book taxis, bus tickets, and other accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Martin was great. He took care of all our bookings, handled our many requests for information and was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Solares del Sur is a tranquil setting with nice views of the lake. It is also well-located for the glacier tours because it is the last pickup / first dropoff spot for the buses. Location is a little bit out of town but cabs are $5 at most and easy to get. I think you get more for your money at Solares.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Solares Del Sur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solares Del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.