We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solares Del Sur

Save Saved
You added Solares Del Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solares Del Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A clean friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile


We stayed here for three nights, and one night on our return from El Cheltan, there were 4 adults in our group, the cabins were clean, a bit tight as the previous reviewer had mentioned, but we were out most of the day. The previous reviews are actuate, breakfast is delivered at night. It is a good 20 minute walk into town, but the cabs cost around A$25.

The restaurant has a good selection of food, with vegetarian options.

All staff were very friendly.

.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    122
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
159
142
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We used Solares Del Sur as a base for our trips to and from Chile's Torres del Paine, El Chalten and to see the Perito Moreno glacier (twice) from El Calafate. We stayed in their beautiful, comfortable cabins surrounded by beautiful roses, jasmines and other flowers. We got to know Martin and the other staff and it felt like friendly family-- at a respectful distance though-- every time we returned. Martin spoke excellent English, was very welcoming and fun, and a very hard worker who would do everything to please. He made sure we were taken care of, helped make sure we had transportation when we needed it and made sure we felt comfortable.

It was nice having the breakfast stuff delivered the night before to our room, so we could eat at our own convenience. We loved walking down the hill to the lake and seeing the flamingos and walking into town along the walkway that follows the lake shore. We loved being out of town and ate every dinner at their excellent restuarant with a magnificent view with ever changing colors of water, mountains and hills. You will not go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here with four other guys for two nights in December. The place was tight, but comfortably fit each of us in our own bed. Got in late the first night and enjoyed a lamb stew cooked in the restaurant. Delicious! The room included breakfast (simple breads, cereal, coffee, juice) and the DirecTV let us watch the New England Patriots game. Lastly, Martin was an unbelievable concierge/host, helping us book taxis, bus tickets, and other accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Martin was great. He took care of all our bookings, handled our many requests for information and was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Solares del Sur is a tranquil setting with nice views of the lake. It is also well-located for the glacier tours because it is the last pickup / first dropoff spot for the buses. Location is a little bit out of town but cabs are $5 at most and easy to get. I think you get more for your money at Solares.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. It is our first log cabin experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It has a kitchen with cooking stuffs so you may prepare your own food if you want. There are heaters in every room and together with the lightening the cabin is very cozy in a cold night. It has wifi with reasonable speed. Breakfast is delivered to the cabin early evening including juice, milk, breads, cereals, and cakes. The best part, however, is its people. Everyone of them working there is extremely friendly and helpful. Martin, in particular, gave us so much help. He speaks perfect English.
The only problem with this place is that it is a bit far from the town. We went there for shopping and it took us half an hour one way. But we enjoyed the walking. Also, all the tours will pick you up at the hotel so the location does not really matter anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is cute little place, tucked away from hustle bustle of town. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. They booked all our trips and treks at market rates, no commission! I wonder if we get that kind of honest deal everywhere.
The cabins have a small kitchen, helpful to have that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have to start our review by saying that we absolutely loved Solares del Sur. The view of the lake is perfect. The cabanas are cozy and feel like a home away from home. The restaurant has great food and isn't expensive. And, last but certainly not least, the people make it truly special. Martin and Sergio really care about their guests, from the breakfast trays delivered in late afternoon to the excursion recommendations. This place is one of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Argentina. We couldn't recommend Solares del Sur more highly. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Solares Del Sur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solares Del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.