We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair deal of a log cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solares Del Sur

Save Saved
You added Solares Del Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Solares Del Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fair deal of a log cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is cute little place, tucked away from hustle bustle of town. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. They booked all our trips and treks at market rates, no commission! I wonder if we get that kind of honest deal everywhere.
The cabins have a small kitchen, helpful to have that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    113
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
145
132
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peru, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have to start our review by saying that we absolutely loved Solares del Sur. The view of the lake is perfect. The cabanas are cozy and feel like a home away from home. The restaurant has great food and isn't expensive. And, last but certainly not least, the people make it truly special. Martin and Sergio really care about their guests, from the breakfast trays delivered in late afternoon to the excursion recommendations. This place is one of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Argentina. We couldn't recommend Solares del Sur more highly. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



We stayed here for two nights.  These are in the style of small log cabins where you can self cater if you wish., although they seem to have normal rooms as well. The cabins were fine, although if you hate pine cabins then these will not appeal. Everything worked well, but lack of shelves in the small bathroom basin area was annoying. The main room was a bit dark, but if we had opened some of the shutters that might have helped! Staff were very helpful with local advice and organizing an excursion to the glacier. The BIG problem with this place is that it is a long, long way out of town. With a solid power walk you can do it 30 mins. You cannot do it with luggage. A taxi costs 25 pesos each way. If this puts you off, then stay in the centre of town where there are many more restaurant options. Solares does have a restaurant onsite which is not bad (huge and tasty pizzas), but otherwise there are no shops, nada, around the cabins.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The standard of accomodation was really good and had an excellent view of lago Argentina. The staff were extremely helpfull and friendly and organised trips, offered advice and arranged transport no problem. The 25min walk to the centre of El Calafate is no big deal and helps to walk off any grub you may have in town! Our last night we ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious. if we ever come back we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

These charming little cabins and cabin style apartments were probably the biggest surprise from our recent trip to South America.

First the downside, and there is only one - it is not close to the really small town centre of El Calafate; it is a good 25-30 minute walk or ARS 20-25 taxi ride each way. That said any excursion you arrange will gladly pick you up from and drop you to the hotel (and the hotel manager very kindly sent us a price list well before we travelled).

The hotel arranged our airport transfers and excursions. Sure we could have probably saved a few pesos booking on our own, but it saved us a fair deal of hassle.

The DIY breakfast tray that was delivered to our rooms every night was definitely among the best we ate in South America and the cabins had every facility you could need.

And finally don't be fooled by their official website into thinking that they are tacky, the picture on there do not do these charming little cabins enough justice. Add to that the view of the lake from every bed and depending on the exact location of your room, you can get a very good view of either sunrise or sunset right from your bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had a great experience at Solares del Sur! The apartment amenities were a little dated, but it made the experience very rustic and cozy, which was exactly what we were looking for. The staff was very helpful - they coordinated our airport transfers, helped with booking excursions, and brought us delicious breakfast every morning. Highly recommend if you're looking for apartment/cabin style experience. The only downside was that it was a little further away from town than we expected. But the amazing view of the lake from our balcony was worth it. And the walls are thin, so we heard our neighbors quite a bit - but it wasn't unbearable. Overall, we had a great stay there! Thank you Solares del Sur!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Just returned from our vacation in El Calafate and Solares Del Sur. We were very pleased with everything about our stay: free airport pickup, free reliable Wi-fi, friendly front desk service, very clean, comfortable beds, beautiful grounds, great view of the lake, on-site restaurant, breakfast every morning, laundry service, box lunch service, excellent value and they stored our luggage for several days while we took a trip to El Chalten. It's a perfect place for a family to stay. Both Martin and Sergio were very helpful in every way. They were also one of the very few places that emailed me back when I was planning our trip. Staying at Solares del Sur is a nice break from your typical hotel. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in El Calafate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate
Solares Del Sur Hotel
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solares Del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.