We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed, but mixed experience overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Los Alamos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Los Alamos to your Saves list
Posada Los Alamos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ing. Hector Mario Guatti 1350 | Ing. Hector Mario Guatti 1350, El Calafate Z9405CBC, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfy bed, but mixed experience overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I always think the most important "must haves" for a hotel is a comfortable bed - and we definitely found that here. Our room was small and dated, but still cute; we had one of several rooms with a small balcony, which was a great place from which to watch the really cool Patagonian sunset.

Next most important is decent food available - no complaints here as well. We had several quick sandwiches at the cafe in the lobby, which they prepared especialy for us. And the dinner we had at the cocktail bar above the spa (the main restaurant was closed for the offseason) was pretty good -- though I would encourage you to get the lamb, rather than the steak.

Biggest area lacking here was service. There was a general lack of desire to be helpful at the front desk -- especially with regards to dinner reservations and questions about activities. We didn't need much, as we largely get things done on our own. But when you say you're going to make a dinner reservation, and then you don't do it -- that's tough to excuse.

Two other small knocks with respect to the rooms: there is definitely a sewer smell that creeps into the bathroom sometimes overnight, likely due to old blackwater/graywater pipes that need a cleanout. As everywhere else in Argentina, this place has vents from the pipes in the floor of the bathroom, and when very little water flows through them at night, the smell can come up into the room. I really don't understand why they can't figure out how to do closed-loop plumbing in Argentina. Oh well. Second issue was noise - it carries far in the hotel, and if you're not leaving on a 7am tour, be prepared to be woken up by the housekeepers next door shortly after that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    176
    53
    12
    8
See reviews for
100
206
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

5 star hotel in El Calafate. For the cost the room was pokey, in desperate need of renovation and no better than a 2 star. Social areas are good as is the service.
The spa is makeshift at best although with a price tag to match.
Breakfast was the highlight of the place.
MUCH better options in and around el Calafate at half the cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was recommended by the friends with whom we were travelling, who had stayed there before, and it proved to be a very good selection. The reception was extremely efficient and the room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable - as we were going on full-day trips on both the full days we were in El Calafate, these were the main criteria, together with the ability to have a look around the town on the day we arrived and the morning before we departed. From this last point of view the location of the hotel was excellent, two blocks off the main street (which could have been quite noisy) yet within walking distance of all amenities, and also with nicely shaded grounds. In addition the location meant that the coaches for the trips picked us up at the door.

The breakfast room/restaurant is across the street, which was fine in the good weather with which we were blessed, but would have been less pleasant in a cloudburst!! The breakfast was fairly good, but certainly not exceptional, and although we did not use the restaurant for dinner, we did consider it one evening, but found it so empty and lacking in atmosphere that we went elsewhere. The only other point I wish to make is that we took packed lunches on our two trips, the first one provided by the hotel and the second by a little cafe (La Lechuza) on the nearest junction of the main street - the latter was significantly more palatable and only just over half the price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent a lot of time researching a place to stay for 3 nights at the end of Feb as a place to sleep during a very hectic trip, and think it would be hard to find better in El Calafate for what we wanted. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but you need to understand it within the context of the town - anything contemporary would not work at all. The hotel is very large and we had a room on the 4th floor under the eaves right above the entrance. There was no a/c because I guess it is cold for most of the year, but when we went it was warm and the room was too hot so we had to sleep with the window open all night - not ideal when all the dogs and other wildlife outside don't understand the need for quiet at night! We slept with ear plugs which helped.

The best bit about the hotel is the spa - really big indoor heated pool, jacuzzis, sauna, steam room etc. - just what we wanted after tiring hikes. In fact the spa was basically a god send to rest and revive tired muscles and limbs.

The breakfast had plenty of selection but we didn't think it was very good really on the whole - although they do have sparkling wine! They made us a packed lunch to take on one of our trips which was basic but did the job - they have a number of options to choose from.

It's only a 5 min walk into town too which meant we could get out to dinner even though we'd returned from trips quite late.

Overall though, I liked it. 4 stars is perhaps a tiny bit generous - it's maybe a 3.5 but a cursory glance at the other accommodation in the town suggests this is probably one of the better options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location is very convenient if you want to walk around in town. Our room was by the side road and on the main floor - VERY noisy with street sounds. It was also quite dated and smelled as though at one time it was a smoking room, however it looked fairly clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the mornings as there were eggs, which is not a given in Argentina and the dinner we had at the restaurant was absolutely delicious. We ate there with 4 of us and we were all very pleased with our meals. There are many common areas with comfortable couches and it had a nice lodge feel to it. Also across the street and part of the hotel is a golf course and a spa. My husband and friends had fun on the golf course, the indoor swimming pool was excellent - clean and the perfect temperature, i don't know what the deal was with the hot tubs however as they were filled with cold water! It didn't affect my stay but was a bit of a bummer. I had a facial at the spa and it was very decent as well.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms by the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here yesterday and loved the architecture of the hotel. It looks cosy and like a mountain lodge. However there is no glass in the room if you wish to drink something. There is no extractor in the bathroom. If you upset your stomach you are doomed. Floor is covered with someone elses long black hair which gets tangled with our stuff. Breakfast was very disappointing as there was only 1 type of cheese. Because we were going on a trip today and had to bring our own lunch but could not find anything but cracker at the "super" market, we needed good breakfast. However bread was so stale that it almost got mouldy. If you look at the setting you will think that the buffee is great. This is supposed to be the best restaurant in town according to our guide book

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to town. The rooms are a bit outdated, but they were comfortable enough. We were on the third floor and the ceilings were wonderful! There were some differences to the rooms, as our friends had hard-back chairs while ours were upholstered. The rooms were not well sound insulated. We once or twice had a sewer odor in the bathroom, but it never lasted long. The breakfast was fairly nice for a buffet. We ate at the restaurant and we had a really great lamb dinner. Our friends ordered steaks, and they were also very pleased with their meals. The grounds are very nice and well kept. The weather was nice while we were there, but in bad weather going acrosss the street for breakfast might be unpleasant, although probably no really big deal. It was mostly quiet, but on our first night there was a rodeo with loud speakers, but it ended about 11 PM, so it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: I think the rooms vary a lot. We particularly enjoyed a room on the top floor as the wooden ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Los Alamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Alamos

Address: Ing. Hector Mario Guatti 1350 | Ing. Hector Mario Guatti 1350, El Calafate Z9405CBC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#13 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#20 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Los Alamos 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of El Calafate, very close to Argentino Lake and Down Town. It has spa facilities, an indoor Swimming pool and free Wi-Fi in all areas.The guest rooms at Posada Los Alamos feature heating, as well as a minibar and cable TV. Rooms have views of the organic garden and the mountains beyond.An extensive breakfast buffet offers a choice of American, Argentinean or Patagonian food. La Posta Restaurant serves a menu of international and regional specialties, including Patagonian lamb. The hotel also features two bars.Los Alamos provides a full range of modern spa facilities and an indoor pool with ceiling-to-floor windows. The hotel has its own small 18-hole par 3 golf course. Also can arrange trips including horseback riding and exploring the Moreno Glacier.El Calafate Airport is 12 miles away and transportation are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Posada Los Alamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Alamos Hotel El Calafate
Posada Los Alamos El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Los Alamos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.