We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kosten Aike

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kosten Aike to your Saves list
Hotel Kosten Aike
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Midway, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff and nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Kosten!
They helped us book a new flight when we missed one, gave us an upgrade after we had to combat a demonstration at the border. There manager was very helpful as well as the cute young guys at the desk!
They had a great little gift shop there too!
Would definitely stay there if we returned to El Calafate! We walked all over town at night from the hotel and took lots of day trips! Great home base !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    238
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
159
385
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location. The rooms are very comfortable, big and very clean. The staff is very helpful. The best breakfast that I had in my 30 days traveling in Patagonia. If you are traveling by car, the hotel has a secure parking lot. I was going to stay for two nights and finish staying for four days. I full recommend it.
If you consider all this qualities the price is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel has an Alpine ski lodge sort of decor...lots of timber and very spacious public areas. The rooms are large and comfortable, in the same Julie Andrews Sound of Music decor, with comfortable bedding. There are a few spacious lounge and bar areas and a games room. The staff are generally pleasant enough, but not outstanding. I expected something a bit warmer and welcoming for a hotel in a remote town, but it is a large hotel catering to big numbers of people, so perhaps I was being unrealistic. The manager on duty for the three days I was there wasn't very pleasant. It is located a couple of blocks from the main street and there are plenty of cafes and shops nearby.

Housekeeping was excellent. The buffet breakfasts offer the usual Argentine variety in a pleasant, light filled room. You can also dine there at night, which can be comforting after a full day of outdoor, adventure type activities. In those circumstances, I don't always feel like going out at night looking for somewhere to eat and often like to come back, have a drink, then shower or have a massage , eat dinner in the hotel and then tuck up in my room. The restauarant catering was good and reasonably priced. Bar prices were OK, but for a reason which I couldn't understand, we were not able to book drinks or food to our room account. It all had to be paid for by cash or credit card straight away. In any case, though puzzling, it wasn't a big problem.

The adventure type tours I took had very early starts and went to places where food wasn't available. The hotel offered a packed lunch which you can order the night before and pick up at breakfast time. There are about 6 menus, including one for gluten intolerants. I thought the lunch packs were good value at around 60 pesos. Mine had a good helping of roast chicken, a carrot/cabbage salad, a small spinach tart, an apple and a bottle of water. I liked it enough to order the same thing for the next day.

On the top floor, there is a gym and hot spa. Cristian is very obliging and offers a range of massages, including one with hot rocks. He was very good at his job and I thought the massages were excellent value at around US$30-40, unlike a lot of other hotels which charge outrageously.

My stay was pleasant enough, though not starling. I would probably stay here again if I ever came back to El Calafate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of our Smartours Patagonia tour. Had a 2 twin room ensuite, 2nd floor facing garden, clean and comfortable, good beds, modern bathroom, personable staff, Try nearby Pura Vida restaurant , small, fresh local food, and a so-so dinner at La Cocina on the main street. Try ATM at Banco Patagonia which seemed to work best. for US bank cards.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a side street so rooms facing front are quiet; also rooms facing garden in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is right downtown, three blocks off the "main" strip. Most other hotels are located just outside of town, but after being there with friends and family I think we would have been disappointed with any other option. Make sure you understand exactly how far your hotel is away before you make the reservations - it was great to walk out the door and be right at the bars/shops/restos. Also, some reviews here mention noise, but other than barking dogs we didn't hear a single thing during the nights.

My room was so cozy I slept for nine hours one night and still wanted to stay in bed and stare at the log beam ceiling.

At first I was turned off by the log cabin kitschy decor, but it grew on me and others in my group loved it. I have to say that it fit the hotel perfectly. The breakfast was more than adequate and lasted for hours, so no rushing. The game room was a nice touch, as was the little bar in the lobby. The staff were helpful with getting milk for the baby, finding us adapters, and with a late check-out in one of our two rooms. For the price, it was the best deal going.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

let me start by telling you that i usually spend 7 months away from home in hotels so when i travel with my girls (now 5 & 8) i want simple the best i can afford! yesterday my 5 year old woke up & told me " daddy, i love this hotel!" what more can i say? simply to add that my daughters loved their last stay so much that they still remember most of the staff! the friendliest in the world! also the best croissants & brownies!!! the pool, ping pong tables & huge back garden are so important for the kids!!! we live in Buenos Aires and we love Patagonia so that we can have a real connection with NATURE! but since we are city people we are always concerned for their safety so that this garden is a great & safe place for them to play for hours protected from the wind if they still have some energies left after all the hikes!
TIP: we stayed at room 301 this time! great option if you have small kids since the room is REALLY spacious!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were a little concerned about staying at the Kosten Aike because of some of the negative comments we saw on Trip Advisor. We found the hotel to be one of our favorites. Our room, overlooking the small park, was quiet, well lit, and spotless. Breakfasts were good and the coffee was great. We ate in the restaurant and the bar. Both were good, but a bottle of Malbec and a small steak in the bar is hard to beat. The staff was very helpful with directions and gave us a much appreciated late check-out because of our flight time.

El Calafate was a very nice stop on our tour. Our visits to Perito Moreno and Estancia Cristina were not to be missed. Our only regret was that we did not pick up a sheepskin rug while there.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the little park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
#16 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#17 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#5 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#3 of 71 in El Calafate
5.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#24 of 71 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kosten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kosten Aike

Address: Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kosten Aike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kosten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosten Aike Hotel
Kosten Aike El Calafate
Hotel Kosten Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kosten Aike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.