We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kosten Aike

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kosten Aike to your Saves list
Hotel Kosten Aike
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Understanding that there are many tour groups in El Calafate, and in this hotel, we still found it to be a very good value and really had no complaints. It was convenient to the center of town but a few minutes walk away, giving one a little space between you and the hustle and bustle. The staff was extraordinarily patient and helpful and all that we encountered spoke excellent English. There were some nice touches like a pool table and foosball table, as well as TV in the lounge. Also, there was health clubfacilities included with the room (except for massage), and we booked massages there, which were about the most reasonable I have ever had anywhere, anytime; additionally, they were among the best massages I have had anywhere, anytime (ask for Christian). This was a very pleasant retreat and certainly worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    208
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
135
330
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wooden, beautiful and friendly hotel, clean and well situated in a secondary and quiet street.
Free Wi Fi and they provide you with many games for the afternoons.
A complete breakfast.
The only inconvenient was that they started cleaning the rooms next to mine and I was waken up

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location, just a couple very short blocks away from the main street and the very popular ice cream shop. The included breakfast was decent, and service overall was very friendly.

However, the room we stayed in was pretty run down, the bed was saggy and uncomfortable, and the building was not meant to withstand warm temps. We opened the window in our room to get some fresh air since it was quite warm (hit nearly 80 degrees that day), and within minutes our room was swarming with gnats. Ick? If I wanted to sleep with gnats, I would've stayed in a tent.

Our room was also left with 4 bottles of conditioner every day (I think they were confused because they had two different types, each in different colors and different size bottles, but both conditioner), despite requesting shampoo. One of the bath towels was so worn out that it was just a few threads from tearing in one spot, and the chair had a bunch of crumbs on it when we arrived. All in all, not terribly impressed with cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel. However, the location can't be beat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very clean, very spacious, very nice furniture, comfy beds, great bathtub for soaking in, with an excellent breakfast that includes homemade breads. We were also able to order eggs and bacon with breakfast. The only problem was that the temperature in my parents room was too warm (in November they couldn't turn off the heat) and there were a lot of dogs barking so opening the windows was rather noisy. Definitely bring ear plugs to El Calafate. There was some kind of loud speaker event going on for hours that could be heard throughout the town. There is a great, little restaurant across the street. I highly recommend taking the full-day boat trip to see multiple glaciers. It was one of the best days of the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are a family of 6 doing a 2 week trip in Patagonia. While there are great Estancias to stay at in the El Calafate area we wanted a central , in town location for this part of our Patagonia stay. So if you are not looking for the Estancia experience this is the place for you. It is very comfortable, centrally located and the staff are very helpful in excursion planning . Mauro was A SUPERB concierge and helped to book last minute trekking and tours. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the lobby game room between trekking. The hotel is reasonably priced . A few suggestions: 1. upgrade the internet so that reception in the rooms is better 2. The hallway carpets and some areas are getting a bit tired . Food ( other than breakfast ) also needs some work. We did find the staff friendly and outgoing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've heard that el Calafate can be a disaster, and perhaps the many and varied tour groups that stay here says something positive about the place. I found the room small but adequately clean, and the lobby inviting, the breakfast more than serviceable, the wifi spotty, but the location is convenient to the main strip. Don't be fooled by the website, it's on par with a Best Western. My big problem is that the doors and walls are paper thin such that I could hear *any* talking from the adjacent rooms, the sound of doors slamming all night long and footsteps in the hall ways. I slept with noise cancelling headphones on for 3 nights. Rooms ending in 15 or 16 also sit above the front entrance, which was very loud in the evening/morning as people came and went, all audible through the single paned windows. At around US$200 for a double, just be aware of what you are getting into.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Califate has many dumpy hostels. This is not one of them. It's a good hotel at a reasonable cost in a great location. Unless you are travelling on a budget don't stay elsewhere in el C. Only issue was lack of a pool.

It had a buffet breakfast good staff and the room was fine. Has wifi and a business centre.




Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kosten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kosten Aike

Address: Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kosten Aike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kosten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosten Aike Hotel
Kosten Aike El Calafate
Hotel Kosten Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kosten Aike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.