We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting pretty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirador del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mirador del Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Mirador del Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Libertador 2047, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
ARS1,422 (ARS)
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Setting pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This Hotel is just beginning to appear on the radar for El Calafate and Argentina. It's just outside the main town drag and back off and up from the main road, with superb views across the bay to the mountain ranges. Good open reception are, friendly and welcoming, makes arriving relaxed, especially as transport can pull up right by the doors. The Hotel is set on a number of inter-linked floors (with lifts). The rooms are spacious with excellent views to bay. A real plus-plus is the restaurant which serves a top-quality, wide-choice menu. They offer lunchboxes for the long trips to the glaciers, but we suggest you dont take up the offer - rather too much bready, and it is possible to take your own, or buy at the viewpoints for choice.
Good luck to The Mirador - if and when we return, that's our choice!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for leaving your comments hope to see you soon for our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    209
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
115
256
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel location very good and easy walk on level road to town centre. Very helpful reception staff. Good food for breakfast and good WiFi. The breakfast dining room was very crowded. Difficult to find a seat at peak time (just before tour buses pick up passengers). Bedroom was overheated and there did not appear to be thermostat control. Apart from the heat the room was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed al the hotel in march 2012, B&B accomodation.
The room was very spacious and nicely arranged, with a view over Lago Argentino. Clean and comfortable.
We liked the location, at the end of Av. Libertador, 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and attractions of El Calafate. We read some reviews complaining of the distance to walk, we say Patagonia is not for lazy folks!
Breakfast was fine, with all kinds of goodies.
Staff is professional and efficient.
We appreciated the possibility to have, at a cost, the lunch box (can choose from 4-5 different combinations/menus) to take on escursions.
We ate at their restaurant one night and liked the food, good quality ingredients and nicely cooked.
There are 5 PCs connected to internet free of charge, and also wi-fi connection for free.
We plan on coming back to El Calafate, even if it's qute a long way from Italy, and we will surely come back to the Mirador del Lago.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has 3 floors but the floor labeled 4 is really the second floor. There is one floor above it.

I had room 401 which had a king size bed, two easy chairs, one with ottoman, a round table, mini-fridge and balcony with a straight on view of the lake which was about 1km away. Though the room number implied the 4th floor, it was really the second floor. The public areas of the hotel are lovely with several seating areas with comfortable sofas. The hotel has a friendly staff and a good breakfast. Wifi is fast and complimentary and there was also a bank of 5 computers for public use. The only minor complaint (and it is nit-picky) was the bathroom was not well designed.

It is a 3 block walk to the center of the town with shops lining the main street.
If you like handicrafts and hand-made jewelry, look for the sign that says “Artisanos” which is a few doors down from the casino. There are about 20 vendors lining a small walkway.

Room Tip: Even though the lake is about a mile away, it is still worth getting a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dourados, MS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Confortable suites, good breakfast, staff very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived from Buenos Aires to a very warm, hospitable welcome. We ate in the hotel restaurant, and the choice was excellent and reasonably priced. We found the wine list very good too. Our room was clean, tidy and quiet - but too hot. Despite being told that it was a communal system somehow the receptionist managed to turn our heat off, for which we were grateful. Although a good 20 minutes outside the main area of El Calafate we were not hindered by this. We'd definitely stay there again should be in that region again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi thanks for choosing us and recommend us, we feel comfortable in what we do and we do our best every day to please our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is far out of the central part of the city, on the highway, and without real sidewalks to use to get to the downtown. They advertise it as 5 minute walk. Try 20 minutes! The rooms are very dated, the food in the restaurant is overpriced, and not great. Beware - their third floor is actually below ground. If you have to stay there ask to be placed at least on fourth floor which is street level. The rooms advertised as lake view, are indeed facing the lake but you have to look over the highway to see the lake. It's not really what you think of when you book lake view. Also to keep in mind this is a hotel for tours. Overall I found it overpriced, and inconvenient. Definitely wouldn't stay here again. There are many other choices in town that i would explore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirador del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador del Lago

Address: Av. Libertador 2047, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#22 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#35 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirador del Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mirador del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador Del Lago Hotel
Hotel Mirador Del Lago El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirador del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.