We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirador del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mirador del Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Mirador del Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Libertador 2047, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed al the hotel in march 2012, B&B accomodation.
The room was very spacious and nicely arranged, with a view over Lago Argentino. Clean and comfortable.
We liked the location, at the end of Av. Libertador, 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and attractions of El Calafate. We read some reviews complaining of the distance to walk, we say Patagonia is not for lazy folks!
Breakfast was fine, with all kinds of goodies.
Staff is professional and efficient.
We appreciated the possibility to have, at a cost, the lunch box (can choose from 4-5 different combinations/menus) to take on escursions.
We ate at their restaurant one night and liked the food, good quality ingredients and nicely cooked.
There are 5 PCs connected to internet free of charge, and also wi-fi connection for free.
We plan on coming back to El Calafate, even if it's qute a long way from Italy, and we will surely come back to the Mirador del Lago.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    163
    56
    12
    8
See reviews for
88
210
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
481 reviews 481 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has 3 floors but the floor labeled 4 is really the second floor. There is one floor above it.

I had room 401 which had a king size bed, two easy chairs, one with ottoman, a round table, mini-fridge and balcony with a straight on view of the lake which was about 1km away. Though the room number implied the 4th floor, it was really the second floor. The public areas of the hotel are lovely with several seating areas with comfortable sofas. The hotel has a friendly staff and a good breakfast. Wifi is fast and complimentary and there was also a bank of 5 computers for public use. The only minor complaint (and it is nit-picky) was the bathroom was not well designed.

It is a 3 block walk to the center of the town with shops lining the main street.
If you like handicrafts and hand-made jewelry, look for the sign that says “Artisanos” which is a few doors down from the casino. There are about 20 vendors lining a small walkway.

Room Tip: Even though the lake is about a mile away, it is still worth getting a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dourados, MS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Confortable suites, good breakfast, staff very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived from Buenos Aires to a very warm, hospitable welcome. We ate in the hotel restaurant, and the choice was excellent and reasonably priced. We found the wine list very good too. Our room was clean, tidy and quiet - but too hot. Despite being told that it was a communal system somehow the receptionist managed to turn our heat off, for which we were grateful. Although a good 20 minutes outside the main area of El Calafate we were not hindered by this. We'd definitely stay there again should be in that region again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi thanks for choosing us and recommend us, we feel comfortable in what we do and we do our best every day to please our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is far out of the central part of the city, on the highway, and without real sidewalks to use to get to the downtown. They advertise it as 5 minute walk. Try 20 minutes! The rooms are very dated, the food in the restaurant is overpriced, and not great. Beware - their third floor is actually below ground. If you have to stay there ask to be placed at least on fourth floor which is street level. The rooms advertised as lake view, are indeed facing the lake but you have to look over the highway to see the lake. It's not really what you think of when you book lake view. Also to keep in mind this is a hotel for tours. Overall I found it overpriced, and inconvenient. Definitely wouldn't stay here again. There are many other choices in town that i would explore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel. The location was good, a little bit out of town, but not too far about a 10 minute walk from most restaurants and shops. Room was a good size, we had a superior room with a view of Lago Argentino and that was nice. The only problem was that it was very warm in the room and had to leave door open because the heat system is not individual in each room. I asked the front desk about it and they turned down the temperature. The elevator door was not working properly but other than that everything else was good, breakfast was excellent and it was very clean, sometimes we needed to request towels since they would only leave 2 small ones. The last day the offered us a room for the day after check out at no charge since our flight was leaving in the eve, so we had a room until 8p, which we though it was very nice from them to offer it. Overall it was a good experience. Front desk could be a little more helpful when asked questions about restaurants etc.I will give this hotel a 3 star in progress, it needs a little more to become a 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hey thanks for leaving your opinion, I hope when you want in your next visit argentian and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

the lady at the reception was very hospitable, gave us a warm welcome and a lot of useful tourist information. the room was big, clean and according to expections based on the web site. however we didn't have a lake view as we had expected although we paid for a more expensive room. at the night of arrival we had dinner in the restaurant and the quality of the service and food was surprisingly good. contrary to other opinions i read, was breakfast not great, very basic. be aware that the hotel is located at some 20 minutes walk from "downtown", which has some pretty good restaurants. our great deception however was the following. we had forgotten to book in advance a trip to the glaciers. a mail sent two days before arrival to request the hotel to organize one for us wasn't replied. at arrival it turned out that we could book a trip very early in the morning but only with a cash payment. in the evening we weren't able due to our own mistake (as turned out later) to withdraw money from an atm. we asked the hotel to advance us usd 100 to be paid directly by credit card. the hotel was only willing to do that at a fee of 10%!!! because we felt that this was the only way to get the money needed for the trip, we agreed, but felt enormously cheated and very disappointed. the full day trip on the boat we finally booked by the way was absolutely great and recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirador del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador del Lago

Address: Av. Libertador 2047, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#20 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#22 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirador del Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mirador del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador Del Lago Hotel
Hotel Mirador Del Lago El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirador del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.