We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirador del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mirador del Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Mirador del Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Libertador 2047, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Dourados, MS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Confortable suites, good breakfast, staff very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    173
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
96
226
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived from Buenos Aires to a very warm, hospitable welcome. We ate in the hotel restaurant, and the choice was excellent and reasonably priced. We found the wine list very good too. Our room was clean, tidy and quiet - but too hot. Despite being told that it was a communal system somehow the receptionist managed to turn our heat off, for which we were grateful. Although a good 20 minutes outside the main area of El Calafate we were not hindered by this. We'd definitely stay there again should be in that region again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi thanks for choosing us and recommend us, we feel comfortable in what we do and we do our best every day to please our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is far out of the central part of the city, on the highway, and without real sidewalks to use to get to the downtown. They advertise it as 5 minute walk. Try 20 minutes! The rooms are very dated, the food in the restaurant is overpriced, and not great. Beware - their third floor is actually below ground. If you have to stay there ask to be placed at least on fourth floor which is street level. The rooms advertised as lake view, are indeed facing the lake but you have to look over the highway to see the lake. It's not really what you think of when you book lake view. Also to keep in mind this is a hotel for tours. Overall I found it overpriced, and inconvenient. Definitely wouldn't stay here again. There are many other choices in town that i would explore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel. The location was good, a little bit out of town, but not too far about a 10 minute walk from most restaurants and shops. Room was a good size, we had a superior room with a view of Lago Argentino and that was nice. The only problem was that it was very warm in the room and had to leave door open because the heat system is not individual in each room. I asked the front desk about it and they turned down the temperature. The elevator door was not working properly but other than that everything else was good, breakfast was excellent and it was very clean, sometimes we needed to request towels since they would only leave 2 small ones. The last day the offered us a room for the day after check out at no charge since our flight was leaving in the eve, so we had a room until 8p, which we though it was very nice from them to offer it. Overall it was a good experience. Front desk could be a little more helpful when asked questions about restaurants etc.I will give this hotel a 3 star in progress, it needs a little more to become a 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hey thanks for leaving your opinion, I hope when you want in your next visit argentian and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

the lady at the reception was very hospitable, gave us a warm welcome and a lot of useful tourist information. the room was big, clean and according to expections based on the web site. however we didn't have a lake view as we had expected although we paid for a more expensive room. at the night of arrival we had dinner in the restaurant and the quality of the service and food was surprisingly good. contrary to other opinions i read, was breakfast not great, very basic. be aware that the hotel is located at some 20 minutes walk from "downtown", which has some pretty good restaurants. our great deception however was the following. we had forgotten to book in advance a trip to the glaciers. a mail sent two days before arrival to request the hotel to organize one for us wasn't replied. at arrival it turned out that we could book a trip very early in the morning but only with a cash payment. in the evening we weren't able due to our own mistake (as turned out later) to withdraw money from an atm. we asked the hotel to advance us usd 100 to be paid directly by credit card. the hotel was only willing to do that at a fee of 10%!!! because we felt that this was the only way to get the money needed for the trip, we agreed, but felt enormously cheated and very disappointed. the full day trip on the boat we finally booked by the way was absolutely great and recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent two nights at the Hotel Mirador del Lago. The room was quite large with a king bed and had a nice sized bathroom. The room seemed warm and we had to leave the window open to keep it cool--of course flys like having windows open! The bathroom was fine except the seal on the bottom of the bath tub window was half missing--and of course this caused a flooded bathroom floor. The provided an excellent breakfast with very nice scrambled eggs. Far too many places in Argentina seem to offer very dry eggs, and these were exceptionally good. The view is out to the lake, but that is in quite a distance from the hotel. The road and many buildings separate the lake from the hotel. The is a safe and small refrigerator in the room along with an easy chair, a desk chair and a stool.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Front desk could use a smile but otherwise good common areas, good buffet breakfast, and very clean. The hotel seems to have very thin walls and you could hear the neighbors, water pipes, etc. although it never woke us up or prevented us from falling asleep at night (perhaps we were exhausted from all of our excursions?). The location is not central but if you are in average shape it's a 10 minute stroll into downtown Calafate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirador del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador del Lago

Address: Av. Libertador 2047, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#20 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#21 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirador del Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mirador del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador Del Lago Hotel
Hotel Mirador Del Lago El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirador del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.