We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Solares del Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Calafate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Solares del Sur
Save Saved
You added Cabanas Solares del Sur to your Saves list
De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

My husband, another couple, and I stayed here for our visits to Perito Moreno National Park. The "cabanas" are either freestanding cabins or a two-story apartment in a ski lodge type building. Both are equally great. The freestanding cabins are one story, nice for those who might not want to descend stairs in the middle of the night. Each has two bedrooms but only one bathroom, a bit of information we had troubling finding on the website. The bathrooms are very small and the lighting in all the structures is very dim. The two-story units have wonderful little balconies that look right out over the lake, but there are views from the cabins too. The restaurant serves fabulous food, but on our visit it was extremely slow. One of the best things is the breakfast on a tray brought to your cabin each night with home-baked breads, coffee in a French presse, and other goodies. What a treat! One warning: don't buy your Hielo Adventure Tour lunch from the hotel's restaurant...the food is too gooey and soggy, and it all leaked into the bag by the time we had lunch. After walking on the Glacier, we were ready for something really good, which the lunch was not. Get some groceries from town and make your own. Town is a bit far, but taxis are cheap. If you're looking for great nightlife, this isn't your place. But if you want nature's nightlife, this is it.

Room Tip: The only bathroom in the two-story cabin is downstairs. If you don't want to ascend and descend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

There were 3 of us and we had a cabin for 4 nights. The location is out of town and takes about 20 minutes to walk it. It is an easy walk. The cabin was nice with a kitchen, TV, bathroom, etc. It didn't have a lounge which would have been nice to watch TV or just to relax on. The drain in our shower didn't work too well as it was uphill of most of the water.

Breakfasts were fine although the slices of bread supplied were small and thin which made for very crunchy toast. We had a meal in the resturant which we enjoyed. We had pizza and beer another night which was very good.

Staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. They arranged tours for us and assisted in what we should see while in El Calafate.

Overall a nice place to base ourselves for touring El Calafate on our way to Torres Del Paine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Our stay was excellent! And the restaurant is excellent too: you can see the sunset on the lake from the dining room, (not mentionning a very good food).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

A little way out of town but a pleasant 20-minute walk along the new lakeside promenade. The dirt road leading to the front entarnce looks like the middle of nowhere, but all the horizontal roads here are like it.
Worth booking: our "cabana" was a two-storey cottage. Kitchen, dining room, bathroom and spare bed downstairs; upstairs, a large double bedroom with satellite TV, bedside lights (always a must with us) and plenty of storage space.
The owners were charming and nothing is too much trouble.
There is a small restaurant and the food is very good, the service friendly and warm.
A hearty breakfast is delivered to your room by 6 p.m. the day before! (There is a fridge.) This is because people are up and off at all hours in this tourist area, so you never have to wait for breakfast or request an early one.
We could have stayed more than three nights here. The town is very pleasant, with a good range of shops and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I traveled with my family for the Patagonia Argentine on February 2009 and we knew incredibly places.
One of them was ‘’El Calafate’’, where we knew the Perito Moreno Glacier that really it's wonderful. We were lodged in ‘’Solares Del Sur’’, a complex of cabins really fabulous.
The cabins were clean, wide as to be comfortable with the family and the same ones have an excellent view to Argentine Lake.
We had a great stay there and we want to send best regards especially to Martin who was helpful in every way, very friendly and welcoming, like all the staff of the Complex.
They bring a very great service, very attentive. We will be back there if ever we return to ‘’El Calafate’’.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Solares del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Solares del Sur

Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments and cabins are entirely built in cypress - traditional fine wood from the Patagonian region, which creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. All units overlook the beautiful Argentino Lake, offering a unique feeling of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Solares del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.