We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina (Formerly Cerro Calafate Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked this Howard Johnson thinking that it was the best in town looking at the pictures and what the hotel claimed. Not the case, the spa wasn't working for 3 days, the internet did not work in our room on the second floor and the TV had only 2 kind of working channels. The room was very basic. There was only one slow computer in the lobby for all the guests to share. The breakfast was ok, but no variety. The staff was kind and friendly enough, but not as knowledgeable as expected. The location was a short walk into town, so that worked well for us. This place was not worth the money, there were others in town that are nicer and a lot less. Definitely do the Glacier Bar just outside of town....it's a hoot! La Lechuza is a great place to dine when you're in El Calafate.....best Empanadas. Of course, taking a tour of Perito Moreno Glacier is fabulous!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor has internet; however, I would not really recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    32
    25
    15
See reviews for
27
53
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ushuaia, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It's a nice hotel, but when we got there I think they a had a certain of unfortunate events...we arrived during a festival of the town, and the cleaning didn't get early, they all decided to stay late sleeping I think, so the people from the hotel had to apologize with us several times because our room was not ready on time. It has a sauna and pool, but the pool was not that clean...the brekfast and rooms were nice and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel was booked by a tour organizer in Canada. I would never have booked that. It stands in the middle of nowhere. There is no view to be appreciated. The breakfast was almost non existent and a good source of Tang orange drink...We had a room on ground level at the back of the hotel. At night, the food was awful. I sent clothes to be washed, not dry cleaned and it cost me a fortune. Staff is awful. Location is bad. Rooms are ugly. Food is disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

There are no views to be had from this hotel hidden behind the garish property in front. But the staff was kind and accommodating, with a good breakfast buffet and basic rooms.

Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My friend and I stayed here and found it to be basic but fine. The location is the main reason to stay at this hotel, as it is very central and very safe, no matter what time day/night. We spent some late nights out and never felt uncomfortable (2 single women) in the area surrounding the hotel. That being said, there is nothing fancy about the accommodation. You get beds, TV, AC and a bathroom. The breakfast that was included was fine, there were a few hot options as well as cereal, cheese and rolls. All in all, we felt like we got what we paid for in terms of lodging and were very pleased with the location.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Old rooms, few amenities.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

not a nice hotel but great location. I strongly recommend to find other options as the JH Florida is worn out, old and not comfy. We got 2 small beds instead of the king we booked, the glass on the window was broken (being dangerous) and some of the buttons on the lift don't even work.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

The room was tiny, the bed wasn't a full double, the staff were incompetent, the food was terrible. My husband and I had been to BA, Bariloche, Puerto Montt, Santiago and stopped back in BA before returning home. I would never stay here again, the staff were rude, the breakfast was abysmal, the room was not nice. It was a shame as everywhere else in Argentina was great.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate

Address: Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina (Formerly Cerro Calafate Hotel & Spa)
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cerro Calafate
Howard Johnson El Calafate
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Cerro Calafate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.