We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Rancho

Mi Rancho
Gobernador Moyano 1089 Esq. 9 de Julio, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
54 02902 490540
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 restaurants in El Calafate
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, comfortable, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Calafate doesn't have a lot of great food but this place is wonderful. The service and quality stand out and the lovely owner is attentive but not too much. We went twice in our time in Calafate and enjoyed both visits a lot. Good, affordable wines and great steaks as well as pasta. The huge salads were fantastic as well. The second time we went the atmosphere was slightly marred by some utterly obnoxious tourists from Asia but the staff handled it with grace.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    241
    68
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
766 reviews 766 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
492 helpful votes 492 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So good we went there twice - and both times we were delighted by the food. Good balance of excellent flavours on the plate, achieved by using very fresh ingredients. Our favourites were the osso buco served with saffron rice and the t-bone lamb steak served with one of the best mushroom risottos we've ever eaten. And unlike so many of the local restaurants you did not feel like you were sitting in the kitchen with all that inherent parrilla smell. All washed down by an excellent red - there is a comprehensive wine list available. Delicious food at a reasonable price. Probably best to make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in El Calafate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Mi Rancho lived up to its high reputation. I had the braised beef with risotto at the owners recommendation. What an excellent choice. The wine he also selected turned out to be our favorite wine while in Argentina, Saurus which is a local winery in the region. Overall great atmosphere, excellent service, and wonderfully prepared food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“our best meal in el calafate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

flavorsome and fresh home style cuisine.
wonderful cozy atmosphere
service was a little slow (even for argentina!) but really freindly and helpful

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Gem in El Calafate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our dinner at Mi Rancho was the best meal that we had in El Calafate, and Argentina. This little gem is owned and run by a couple who are passionate about food. The ingredients were fresh, the dishes were beautifully presented, the ambience was great, the host (the owner) spoke excellent English and helped us to select our food and wine which turned out to be excellent.

We had beef empanadas and shrimp salad for starters. Both were delicious. The salad was farm fresh (quite rare in Argentina). For main course, my husband and I shared a sirloin steak with quinoa. Each half portion was a good size plate for an adult. The sirloin was actually tenderloin, so tender that one could cut it with a spoon. Quinoa was cooked with onions and peppers; it was moist and flavorful. Our host helped us to select a bottle of Malbec which paired beautifully with our food.

The restaurant is perfect to enjoy a romantic dinner after a day of glacier viewing. It only opens for dinner. I suggest making a reservation in advance or arrive early since there is limited space.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Rancho also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Mi Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.