We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glaciarium

Glaciarium
Camino al Glaciar Perito Moreno a 6 km de El Calafate, El Calafate, Argentina
02902 497912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 attractions in El Calafate
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: GLACIARIUM is a modern interpretive galciological centre, and one of the few Glacier Museums in the world. The understanding of glaciers and environmental awareness are our main subjects.The exhibits include models, dioramas, photographs, screens, interactive representations, a 3D documentary, and other modern resources that provide an enriching experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was recommended by our local guide. It wasn't part of our plan but we were there, so, why not? We only visited the bar, all you can drink for the entrance fee. We anticipated just a few minutes inside due to the low temperature. Surprise, surprise! Small but very nice. Almost everything made of ice, down to the glasses the drinks are served in. Stayed for 20 minutes and enjoyed every minute of them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi, we are glad your had a pleasant surprise during your visit to the GlacioBar.
Perhaps the next time you can visit the Glaciarium, it is the largest Glacier educational Centre in the world. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    436
    174
    39
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nerd alert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Awesome, awesome, awesome! At the risk of sounding super nerdy, I totally admit how much I enjoyed the Glaciarium. Just when you thought glaciers were boring.... The place is located on the outskirts of town, so it's a ways to get there but then the view of town and surrounding Lago Argentino from on top of the hill is breathtaking. Once inside, you'll quickly learn how complex and integral glaciers are to this world. Who knew? As a Canadian constantly hearing about glaciers receding, it's nice to learn that the topic is a much more complex, global issue though still very troublesome indeed. Visiting the Glaciarium is an active, interesting way to pull out the inner child in you as well as learn something on holiday. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Happy to hear glaciers are no longer boring!!! And now when you see the magnificent glacier in your home country, perhaps you remember what you learned at Glaciarium. Thanks for your visit and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It takes a long time to get here, and the shuttle ride costs extra, but it's well worth the price if you haven't gone to see the glaciers yet. The museum is informative and amazingly well-organized. The short 3-d video tour of the area's main glaciers is a pretty incredible view, especially if you don't have time to see them all. I'm guessing it'd be pretty anticlimactic after a glacier trek, but it's still a pretty good education.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi, thank you for your visit and comments. We agree that coming to Glaciarium will greatly improve the experience of visiting our nearby national Park, with the amazing glaciers of Patagonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Glaciology understood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

To get there, take the bus 15 pesos one-way (30 return) from the parking lot at the Santa Cruz Tourist Bureau along Libertador Ave. It costs 95pesos for entry, which is a bit pricey but OK for me since I just visited the Perito Moreno and was keen to find out more abt glaciers in the Patagonia region. So, perhaps if u wish to know more then visit, if not, then just read about glaciers online. I learnt a lot from this museum and enjoyed the documentary clips shown within.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello, thank you for your opinion. we are glad and happy you found your visit to the Glaciarium educational.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Well done educational centre but if you are going to the glacier then you learn and see it all then.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we believe that any traveler to Southern Patagonia and visitors to our beautiful National Park, will benefit from having a look at the GLACIARIUM, and learning a lot about glaciers..

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glaciarium also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Glaciarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaciarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glaciarium to your Saves list