We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Karut Josh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Karut Josh to your Saves list
Posada Karut Josh
Calle 12 No 1882 | Barrio Bahia Redonda, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 34 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a relatively small hostel with simple, yet clean and spacious rooms with a spacious bath room (with a bath tub). The staff/owners are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good, the lunch boxes they offer for the excursions are great and there's a good vibe in general. The wifi had its good moments and not so good moments. Anyway, highly recommended and the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Federico and his wife Claudia helped us in every aspect of our stay in El Calafate. They got us great prices for our excursions and gave excellent advice, they helped us find a way out of town when all of the buses were on strike and they always had an excellent breakfast. They even postponed a construction project to let us stay another night. We will always be grateful for our stay with Posada Karut Josh!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights to undertake the usual trips to the glacier and surrounding landscapes. Posada Karut Josh is great. We had booked it because of its rating on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. Frederico is very helpful and will assist booking and enquiring about all manner of things. The rooms are clean and functional, the beds are comfortable with clean good linen. Breakfast is great, fresh cake, fruit, homemade yogurt. Posada Karut Josh represents excellent value for money and offers a homely hospitable place to stay. We would most certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights, went off and hiked the W and then came back for another 2 nights - Frederico was a fantastic host, friendly, always available, an excellent cook and overall very helpful. We ate at the Posada a few nights and the food was better quality and value than some of the places in town. He packed us up with a couple of great packed lunches too. The bedrooms were totally adequate with very comfy beds.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Highly recommended little Posada in El Calafate. Frederico the owner was so kind and helpful. Rooms are simple and cozy warm. They provide lunchboxes for tours - invaluable for trips out and we have a very good home cooked Italian dinner one night. The location is slightly out of the centre, but only a 15 minute walk which felt safe and well lit.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with a lake view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at Posada Karut Josh (with hiking in Torres del Paine in between). Claudia & Federico are fantastic and were instrumental in helping us to arrange transfers and make our plans work within a tight timeframe.

The hotel is situated on a quiet street but still an easy walk to town. Breakfast is great and the rooms are cozy and comfortable.

The help with logistics and restaurant recommendations are worth their weight in gold.

For the price, it's an incredible value! You should stay here :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Posada Karut Josh, a very homely B&B, set back one street and a short walk from the town centre. The owners, Frederico and Claudia, and their daughter Irene, work extremely hard to make the business a success and the results of their dedication are clearly evident. Frederico and Claudia are Italian and great hosts. Evening meals here have an Italian theme. Frederico will speak to you with great enthusiasm about the choices, and will then concoct something delicious at a very reasonable price. We felt no need to eat anywhere other than here. Breakfasts are simple but adequate. There is nothing elaborate about the furnishings but everywhere is comfortable. Our bed in Room1 nearly filled the room, leaving not a lot of space to move around, but it was a very big bed and so comfortable, and a clean bathroom, we did not want for anything else. We would certainly recommend Posada Karut Josh to anyone looking for a reasonably priced staying inEl Calafate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdeliebana, Propietario at Posada Karut Josh, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario! para nosotros es muy satisfactorio que pueda disfrutar su estadia en El Calafate, ayuda a que se lleve un hermoso recuerdo de este fantastico lugar en la Patagonia Argentina!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#16 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Karut Josh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Karut Josh

Address: Calle 12 No 1882 | Barrio Bahia Redonda, El Calafate, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home…having breakfast with our homemade products, such as cakes, marmelades, bread with and excellent view of the Lago Argentino and Bahía Redonda.Kindness and warm attention, and the best information for great beginning of the day. We are waiting for you!!•6 rooms with private bathroom• Cable Tv and codified service in de living room• Safety Box• Room Service, restaurant service• Central Heating• Hot Water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Karut Josh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Karut Josh El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing