We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy bar with books” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borges y Alvarez Libro-Bar

Borges y Alvarez Libro-Bar
Avenida del Libertador 1015, local 27, El Calafate, Argentina
491464
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 80 Restaurants in El Calafate
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a really great bar in the center of town that serves microbrewery beers, whiskeys, hot chocolate and coffee drinks. It is also a book store fillefilland there
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice cozy bar with books”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I loved this bar. Get their mint fernet with sprite cocktail. Great place to relax or get a buzz before your meal. Great for people watching. Friendly bar tender who speaks english.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    258
    52
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

2 adults and a 10yr old. Stopped by for a drink and some snacks and to take a break. Perfect spot. Lot;s of activity, decore and atmosphere is interesting. Broad list of drinks. Books on the shelf a good sample of local and Argentine fare. NIce views down onto the street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stout and Cornish Pasties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

OK, the stout was an excellent artisanal beer brewed in Patagonia, and the cornish pasties were beef empanadas, but if I say it felt like an evening in a good local pub, that's paying Borges y Alvarez high praise indeed. We visited El Calafate in late August, their end of winter/beginning of spring, so things were probably pretty quiet, and a lot of the restaurants looked as if we'd be the only customers, with all that implies for the quality and choice of food. We also didn't want a full meal that night, so we decided to give the Libro-Bar a try. It's quirky and cosy, a strange but effective mix of bookshop and boozer, with winding wooden stairs leading up to it, creaky floorboards and small wooden tables. Between my rudimentary Spanish and the far better English of the staff we managed to work things out, and the service was relaxed and friendly. The beer wasn't cheap, but then bar prices aren't in Argentina, but there was a good selection of craft beer from Berliner, brewed in Patagonia, as well as other alternatives, and of course the sort of wine selection you come to expect in Argentina. The empanadas were 8 pesos apiece when we went, which again isn't bad for bar prices, and they were delicious. If you could read Spanish, they had an interesting selection of books on Argentine history and politics as well as travel and tourism related titles, and an up-market literary selection. Poeple sitting opposite us had burgers, which looked excellent, and if we'd been staying longer we would undoubtedly have gone back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“To drink a coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you like to drink a Coffee you can go here, is a little bit expensive and little bit cold; but the coffee is nice, you can have dinner to.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely Stop In for a Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stopped in for a few drinks to meet some people we had met at our hotel and ended up going on the same Hielo & Aventura Glacier Tour. They had mentioned to us that they were heading there the following night and if we would like, we could them there as well. The bar is cozy and had a large selection of wine, beers and alcoholic beverages. We didnt have any food since we had just come from dinner. I tried several different beers that had in stock, while the others drank the different types of alcoholic beverages on the menu. They have comfortable seating and many books to choose from. They also have free wi-fi and the servers were good. They were playing a video of different songs played by artists around the world, which I found neat. It is a bit on the expensive side, but it was well worth it to me. If you have time to hang out I would definitely recommend stopping in for a few drinks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borges y Alvarez Libro-Bar also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Borges y Alvarez Libro-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borges y Alvarez Libro-Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.