We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THRILLING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Cristina Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia Cristina Lodge to your Saves list
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 El Calafate B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“THRILLING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Estancia Cristina marked the dramatic highlight of an exciting trip to El Calafate -- by a long shot. Outrageously beautiful setting. Most incredible horse ride ever: We felt like we had entered a diarama at NYC's Natural History Museum. Great hikes -- including five hours through the majestic Fossil Canyon. Tasteful and comfortable accomodations. Food is good, though the lunch and dinner menus should probably be simpler -- given the remoteness of the place. It would have been a thrill just to lounge and stare out the window at the views, but there was too much to do. After travelling pretty extensively around S. America over the last year, I would rank Estancia Cristina -- alongside my favorite Brazilian and Peruvian spots -- as one of the most captivating place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very glad to know that you loved the place as much as we do. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    18
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Md.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent three nights at Estancia Cristina. Views were spectacular, hikes and guides were outstanding and rooms extremely comfortable. Absolutely loved the place and wished we had finished our trip there instead of starting it there since it was definitely the favorite. We hiked for three days but one of our friends did a horse ride and also had a great time. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

They keep the overnight guests separate from the day guests so except for our departure trip across the lake we were barely aware of the day trippers.

Only regret is we forgot to tip the friendly estancia dog.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your staying at the Estancia. Your greetings to Terry will be given! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were looking for luxury in a beautiful setting, and we certainly found what we were looking for at Estancia Christina. From the first moment we arrived at the dock for the boat ride, the experience was perfect. The setting is incredible, the cabins are lovely, the food is outstanding, and the activities were perfect. You will not be disappointed! If you like to fish, I highly recommend that you bring your dry line gear - the salmon and trout are very fun to catch in the crystal blue water. Thank you to the incredible staff for an amazing stay!

Room Tip: All the cabins are lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment! We are glad to hear you loved staying at the Estancia. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

You couldn't plan a more dramatic arrival if you tried - the catamaran approaches the Estancia, surrounded by snow capped peaks and glacier-scarred mountains - it is impressive. As the only hotel within the National Park, the Estancia has remained true to its origins yet displays a contemporary design and feel. The cabins are cozy with spectacular views up the valley. The food was outstanding, the waiters professional and helpful and the guides were friendly and extremely knowledgeable of the area from its geology, flora and fauna and the Estancia's history.

This is just about my version of heaven.

Room Tip: Note that you can not visit Perito Moreno Glacier while staying at Estancia Cristina. If you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment! We are glad to know about your experience at the Estancia. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Gorgeous place, a highlight of our 2.5 week stay in Patagonia. If you have a chance to stay overnight, would highly recommend. Think there were about 100 people on the boat to Estancia Cristina, and only 4 of us staying overnight as guests-- so we felt we had the beautiful place to ourselves. Did the Fossil Canyon trek (only one other couple with us), and horseback riding (we were the only ones) during our stay, which were fantastic. Amazing guides, great food with wonderful service, and just stunningly beautiful place. After returning home, Estancia Cristina is the place that I dream about...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Miriam, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We loved to hear you ejoyed the Estancia. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The situation of the Estancia cristina is incredible, in the middle of the nature. The service is perfect, the food very good and the rooms so beautiful. We did a trek from the glaciar Upsala (the best view of all my Patagonia trip!) to the estancia, and all te walk offer you different amazing landscapes with a perfect meal near a lake. We just think that it's a little bit expensive. We spent two days of fairytales at the end of the world !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Estancia. Regards, Estancia Cristina satff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Maybe we were unlucky, but after being picked up at our hotel at 7am, we then spent the next 6 hours travelling to the Estancia. First your mini bus picks up other groups, and then you get onto a boat to sail up the glacial lake. But on the way you have to drop of people who are canoeing that day and then the others who are walking. That all takes quite a long time, and involves quite a bit of doubling back. The icebergs you pass and the views of the glacier are fantastic but after all that time, the appeal certainly waned.
The Estancia itself is lovely, and the rooms all have great views. The hikes are top quality and the picnic we took on the gorge walk was great.
Unfortunately when we were there, the hotel was full, so we were unable to eat in the Estancia itself. Dinner was moved to a sort of hostel room which had no atmosphere and was quite cold. The food was not very good and I noticed about half the guests sending back at least some of their meal, or asking for something else to be cooked instead. The wine, which is not included in the price of your stay, is expensive, and when you get it you find it is a 500ml bottle, not the usual 750ml. (It may have said that on the menu, but I didn't notice it).
And then you have the slow boat back to El Calafate again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Address: Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Argentine Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge in the world, in the middle of Los Glaciares National Park and with exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier.An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the estancia is by boat, with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins, exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of programs to enjoy of this wonderful region.There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing.We guarantee that the experience in Estancia Cristina will be unforgettable and we invite you to immerse yourself in this wonderful valley… and let yourself go by its charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Cristina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.