We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerro Frias” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Frias

Cerro Frias
El Calafate, Argentina
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 23 attractions in El Calafate
Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cerro Frias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First view at calafate in the first day of the ride. Easy and nice. if you have three free hours and are tired.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    71
    24
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A 4x4 ride amazing ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Do not miss this tour. It is reasonably close to the center and you will have the opportunity to lear about the Patagonian nature. The guides are very kind and speak english, spanish and portuguese. The 4x4 Land Roveris not exactly comfortable, but is able to climb a path quite difficult. View is splendid and you can walk through different ecosystems.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We took this tour for horseback riding as we had a day to kill before our flight. Unfortunately, many things were not as advertised:
1-Their literature breathlessly describes it as a "5 hour ride to Mt. Frias" and that your "horses will be saddled so everything will be ready to start." Not true--the ride was 1 1/2 hours and we waited around to get going, including the gaucho preparing the horses.
2-They state that you will go to the "highest point on our horseback ride for an amazing 360 degree view". Not true--we went up a hill but turned around well short of any 360 degree view. The day was perfect so this was not weather related.
3-The guide spoke not a word of English--very disappointing for us.
4-The barbeque lunch started off well with the soup, was okay with the chicken, and utterly inedible with the beef--well done and tender as boot leather. Dessert was watery rice pudding with rice that was hard and grainy. We then waited around until we were transported back to town.
The scenery was quite beautiful while we were riding and it was peaceful and relaxing. However, be aware that what you get is not what is advertised, and if you chose to do this activity, definitely skip the lunch and get the earlier transport back to town, where you can eat something much, much better for the price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horseback riding with incredible views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were looking for a half-day trip and did the horseback riding. The landscape was amazing and our horses were so calm and gentle. The guide spoke Spanish (which we do speak as well) but this should not detract one bit from the scenery. We are not avid horse riders, but if you are looking for a great half-day excursion, definitely would recommend it. Even though there are 4wd tours, zip-lines, etc this did not feel touristy one bit. Kids joined us on the horseback ride as well and did great. You can arrange through almost anywhere in the city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Cerro Frias is a nice place to visit to "complete" you El Calafate experience. The Cerro is a 1000 meters hill where you can see most of the Argentinean lake and part of the Chilean Andes tops, in a clear day. You buy the tour from many of the Tour Agencies in the city and they take you directly from the hotel. The bus will arrive in a farm-like place where you can choose to go walking, by horse or Land Rover.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Frias also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Cerro Frias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Frias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.