We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazas del Calafate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Terrazas del Calafate Hotel to your Saves list
Terrazas del Calafate Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de los Alamos 2709, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
atlantide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is not near to the centre but this is not a problem. From the lobby as well as from the dining room the view of the landscape is amazing. All the staff is always at your service to help you also to arrange trips or other stuff. We have no hesitation to advice this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    48
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We felt very comfortable staying here. If you have to find the hotel on your own, it could be a challenge as the sign is not well stationed. Its high up a gravel hill that makes it difficult to get into town, a 20 minute walk. The food there is great, and we love Marasita the cute young chef. She's a friendly as it gets and if you build a relationship with her, she'll take great care of you at breakfast the next morning. The rooms lack air conditioning and I didn't sleep under the sheets at all. If that is a minor detail for you, you will enjoy your stay. All the staff is helpful

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 via mobile

Nice rooms - clean and new. Good beds. Nice bathroom. Beautiful lake view. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Choose this place for the great views and good value. We found the breakfasts to be typical, and even above average, for hotels in Argentina.

It is a little difficult to find if driving yourself, but El Calafate is a small place - it won't take too long to find the turnoff to go up the poorly maintained residentail dirt road. A short drive/taxi/20 minute walk to the center of town.

The rooms are fairly chain-style, but clean with nice bedding. The young workers are not especially knowledgeable of the area (did not know basic open/close info on Perito Moreno), but they were willing to learn and research in recognition they needed to get better.

Wi-fi did not reach our room, but we could get it by going to the dining room or central lounge with the wonderful views. They had a computer set up in the lobby in a nice semi-private nook.

You cannot drink the water in the rooms, and they charge you quite a bit for bottled water. I was disappointed that they did not have an option to fill a water bottle from a central dispenser like other Argentinian hotels. We bought a few 4L jugs from a supermercado for our family.

While I've detailed a number of weaknesses, we had a wonderful time in El Calafate, and none of the weaknesses dampened an overall wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor - lower floor has kitchen noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights by accident since we showed up here without a reservation. Actually, we first arrived here on the shuttle from the airport upon a recommendation from another guest on the shuttle. Even though they had no rooms available the first night, the clerk kindly drove us in her own car down the hill to another hotel who had an availability that night. Even though it was more expensive, it was not as comfortable, the view was not as good, and the room was smaller. So we returned the next day for 3 nights since we liked this hotel so much more. The lake views were priceless from the hill top. Breakfast was typical, nothing special. We walked to the town (about 20 minutes) although you can take a short taxi if you don't feel like walking. Everything was very clean, the service was quite excellent and I think an excellent price value compared to similar hotels closer to town. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Comfortable room with good bed, outstanding view of Lake Argentina, nice staff. Doesn't matter that it is out of town, but it is exceedingly difficult to find and is poorly signed. Says it has internet but the wireless doesn't reach my room. The room would normally get four circles but the bathroom smells like a septic tank and the staff's response was to leave the exhaust fan on, no offer to change rooms. Breakfast is mediocre. Room missing many small amenities, like a pad of paper and something to write with. Though it came at an ok price via online booking, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My husband and I just came back from El Calafate after staying at Terrazas del Calafate for two nights and three days. We both wanted to write that the hotel staff is AMAZING!
Even before we arrived, I was emailing about questions regarding certain tours and things to do in El Calafate and they responded within hours. ( very prompt)
When we arrived at the hotel, we decided to book the Perrito Moreno Ice hiking tour last minutely. Federic, the hotel staff was patient enough to call the tour operater three times to get us a spot! He was VERY helpful with all the activities information in El Calafate.

The breakfast was pretty good with home made pasteries ( at least 5 different types), cereal, orange juice, ham, cheeses, fruit salad and coffee/tea.

Our rooms were REALLY clean and simple. We had a gorgeous view of the lake and saw flamingos from our windows. The hotel is very cozy and the staff very kind.
There is on-site dining at the hotel, which was pretty good and not too expensive. ( $40 ARD for pasta/ravioli).

The only con is that it is about a 20-30 min walk ( depending how how fast you walk) to the center of town ( Ave. De Librador?). However, my husband enjoyed the extra exercise and you can always grab a cab if you need to for a small price. Also, we liked the fact that it was away from the center of town because it was so peaceful at night.

Overall, this was a fantastic stay and if we came back, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrazas del Calafate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas del Calafate Hotel

Address: Calle de los Alamos 2709, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#17 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terrazas del Calafate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Terrazas del Calafate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas Del Calafate Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrazas del Calafate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.