We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Las Dunas

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Las Dunas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Las Dunas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 200 no 751, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room has beautiful lake Argentina view. The hotel was nice and cozy, clean and tidy room with comfortable bed. A bit far from the town but there was shuttle bus provided. The staffs were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    34
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would recommend this hotel for couples or families, as it is quaint, quiet with beautiful lake views....not for a solo traveler, unless that's what you're looking for. Rooms were nice and clean for the value. The breakfast was great with a lot of variety. It is a bit far from town and other hotels if you need to meet up with other friends/travelers you meet during your stay. Hotel staff were professional but I would not say they were "warm", in fact the whole town of calafate just seemed interested in tourist money. For a solo traveler, I would recommend America del Sur Hostel. Great lively staff , comfortable common areas and asado everynight!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, e-commerce department at Hosteria Las Dunas, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear traveler, thank you very much for your kindly comments. We appreciate a lot all your remarks about our hotel, but we really regret the feeling that you had with our employees manners , we will talk with our staff. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Las Dunas was an absolutely breathtakingly beautiful hotel located right on Lake Argentina. It clearly has the best view of any hotel in the area! All the rooms have an amazing view from the window and you can literally watch the sun set over the lake from your room. It's farther from town then some of the local hotels but town is not that interesting- everything in town is super-overpriced and touristy. Even the souvenirs at Las Dunas were better quality and better-priced! I bought a hat and a wool poncho there for a lot less than the stores in town! The restaurant is excellent as well, both for dining in and for packing lunches to go for your full day excursions! The staff is the best- very helpful! We left to go to El Chalten for 2 days and then returned to El Calafate and had 6 hours before our flight out. Las Dunas stored our luggage for us so we could go explore town and even transported us downtown and back on their free hotel shuttle even though we were no longer staying there! Staff also got us last minute reservations at La Tablita. Absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of Lake Argentina where you can watch the sun rise/set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

the location is lovely, situated right on Lago Argentino, with a comfortable, very attractive entryway and lounge with views of the lake. We agree with previous reviews of the staff Ignacio - friendly, patient,helpful in all ways. Jessica was the same, helping us with travel arrangements, phone calls,and taxis. MariaElena could have been friendlier. We unfortunately were placed in a room with a mountain view although we paid for a room with a lake view; nothing to be done. the restaurant offers very good food, although it was unfortunate we were charged US$1.50each for a pot of hot water to use with our own tea bags...too bad. Also, do not be misled about the shuttle - perhaps the shuttle was more available in the past, but now it goes only to the town center and only once an hour at designated times, starting at 10:45 AM for 6 trips (12:45 trip skipped for lunch); last trip at 1745. the shuttle will neither pick up nor take guests to airport, which is a short 15 minutes away. So - although the lake location is lovely, know that being far from town is an inconvenience relieved only in a minor way by the shuttle. Great if you have your own car.

Room Tip: Room 12 has no lake view, noisy fan Don't be misled about the shuttle, limited availability and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here while visiting Patagonia to check out the Perito Moreno Glacier (you have to see the glacier, it is sooo worth it). While this hotel is located a little out of the main town (really it is just a main street) it is not inconvenient. You could walk to town easily and a the cab ride takes only a couple minutes.
What sells this place is the view; located practically on the shores of the Lago Argentino, you just cannot get a view like this if you stay in town. The huge windows (especially in the dining room and lobby) offer incredible view of the water and the mountains. It is such a peaceful place that before leaving you will stare and stare, taking a mental snapshot that you hope won't fade with time.
From the moment you arrive the staff will serve you a snack and allow you to check in at a nice slow pace. Then any request you have, if you need help dealing with pesky Aerolineas Argentinas for example, they will be there for you. The breakfast service person is also really great. The rooms are nothing spectacular but they are comfortable and clean, with nice enough bathroom accomodations and free internet on various computers through out the hotel. We tried using the wifi but like at most Argentinean hotels it was VERY hard and almost impossible to get any reception.
Lastly, if you are visiting El Calafate you MUST eat at Casimiro. There are three, a grill, restaurant and a pasta place I think. We ate at 2 of them (this includes the grill which serves Patagonian lamb that is simply divine) and had excellent meals and service at both.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

From the first minute we arrived, we knew we had found the perfect place in El Calafate. The staff were all great, especially Ignacio, who took time to talk to us about all of the various sights to visit. His suggestions were all extremely helpful. He also helped sort out a minor problem. For some reason, Booking.com had given us a room with two twin beds. He told us, "no problem, we'll fix this" and he had the room converted to a large bed. Ignacio is the man! The food was also delicious; don't skip the steak!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A nice Hotel but a little out of town but the fee shuttle bus was good and regular.
The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the restaurant was really very good and at reale prices.
Great views over the Lake but the rooms are as little basic but comfortable.
We would stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Las Dunas

Address: Calle 200 no 751, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#24 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Las Dunas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a heavenly place, at only a distance of 2, 5 kilometers from Calafate downtown, Hosteria Las Dunas provides you with a chance to live an unforgettable experience of peace and contact with the surrounding nature. Built on the traditional Patagonian architecture, inside you will find a family warm atmosphere in which leather, iron and wood predominate over.Hosteria Las Dunas offers an intimate contact with nature, the surrounding flora and wild bird fauna which will accompany you at all times. You will be able to delight with an excellent Patagonian cuisine and a service of the highest standards of quality and attention.In Hosteria Las Dunas, anytime is the time, during every minute of your stay you will discover the charm of our Patagonian region. In this way and just relaxing in our exclusive deck, you will have the opportunity to enjoy without any limits of the natural beauty of the Patagonian scenery with imposing panoramic views of Laguna Nimez, a birds natural reserve and the Argentinean lake which extends to Perito Moreno glacier. From every corner of the building, you will also be able to glance at the charm of Isla Solitaria while you take in great memories of your visit to Calafate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hosteria Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Las Dunas El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Las Dunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.