We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow service, average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's

Rick's
Av. Libertador 1091, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
02902492148
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 80 Restaurants in El Calafate
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“slow service, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

when we enter the restaurant it was still empthy, even so it was very difficult to make the waiter come to the table. He didn t want to explain the menu, when we order it take a lot of time to the food to come to the table, he put an old bread in the table that we didn t ask for it and charged it for the 5 people of the table. The food was very simple, a meat without nothing special with fresh fries, but the price was high for ir. There was no fix menu, maybe because it was high season. Go if you don t have others options and in fact the majority of restaurants charge too much for the simple food that they serve.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    113
    68
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slowest service in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We we're shown to a table and it took 20 min before we (after asking for it) were given a menu. Another 15 minutes and we had our drinks, 40 minutes for half of the food to come. We're given the wrong side orders. It seems that they need a couple of more waiters!! Bife de chorizo was alright though.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Decent atmosphere and good service, prices typical of the area and food typical of grilled Argentina cuisine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lively and popular restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

They have a lamb barbecueing in the restaurant. Some customers were eating huge plates of meat - lamb, beef, chicken, sausages and ofal, others just had a dish of barbecued lamb which looked more manageable to us. There is also fish on the menu and a good wine list. Service was good. Nice and central on the main street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Slow service but worth the wait. Unbelievable steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our cab driver. Saved it for the last night and were not disappointed. The place was packed making service slow but we were entertained by the one chef with a machete butchering and grilling everything to perfection. After having great steaks for 7 nights in a row at various places in Argentina and Peru we were not expecting to get blown away in this small casual restaurant. When our food came we each received 2 large cuts cooked to perfection. The steak (I believe a ribeye) was comparable to, if not better than what we had at Las Lilas in Buenos Aires at about 1/4 the price. It was seared perfectly on the edges with deep red throughout and incredible flavour, not masked by pepper corn sauces found at other resto's. After watching the chef butcher several lamb from the spic I wish we had room to try that too. We were too chicken to order the "mixed grill" as it has various meats delivered to your table on a small bbq but they looked quite delicious and portions were huge. I really think you couldn't go wrong with anything meat related on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.